We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, great concept which combines heritage with modern luxury, excellent dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Hotel Son Net

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Son Net
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Certificate of Excellence
Male
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, great concept which combines heritage with modern luxury, excellent dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently came back from our honeymoon at the Gran Hotel Son Net and we had a truly wonderful experience. We would definitely recommend this fantastic getaway to everybody.
The hotel is WONDERFUL and charming with a very tasteful design, you feel the Spanish heritage and have all the comfort of the luxury contemporary items. Our suite had a very big living room with fire place, great view on the valley and decorated in a very stylish way. The bedroom was very spacious, windows with a view on the courtyard and the valley, had a very romantic four-poster bed and the decorations were following the same color scheme of the living room.
The ultimate, wonderful, to die-for (...and i don't know what more to say to explain how much i loved it) .....WAS THE BATHROOM!!! It was as big as the size of an hotel room in Milan or London!!! Tastefully decorated with black marble, old style luxurious bathtub, spacious shower... all what you can dream out of a bathroom!!! AND it had L'Occitane amenities!!!
We had great dinners at the hotel restaurant, the food was very tasty, rich of flavors but yet not too heavy, the service keeps filling your plate with home made bread (all the selections you can imagine of) and dips. I loved the gazpacho!!!
Most of the times when you spend your holiday in a luxury hotel you loose the touch with the local reality and the heritage of the place you are in. This doesn't happen at the Son Net!!!! You do feel you are in Spain, you do taste Spain from the food, the views, the team, the decoration of the hotels... It's like if you took a time-machine and went back in the past and stayed in one of the rich villas. Simply wonderful!!!!
The team at the hotel is great! We fell in love with Luis at the pool! He is so funny and would spoil you with the best cocktails while you are at the pool! He is very entertaining.
Bjorn, the general manager is really good and is seen often chatting with the guests to make sure they are having a great holiday. He makes you feel like if you are his own guest and not only an hotel guest.
We also had a great experience with the front office team and the director of F&B. Everybody seems to love what their are doing and it all works perfectly.
We can't wait to go back again to Mallorca and stay again at the Gran Hotel Son Net!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    66
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
345
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last year and we again we wanted an impromptu few days away so booked again. The second time did not disappoint, granted we waited a while for our welcome drink but to be fair coming from London everything is instant so waiting a while makes you realise that you are in a place that is very chilled. I love the attention to detail, they ensured we had the same room as our previous stay which we loved, the pool bartender greeted me on the first day and remembered we had stayed before...and it was a natural observation not one that had been planned. The charm of this hotel is that its like home, the food was lovely, the service was fab, the setting is amazing and above all the staff are so helpful. Its a great couples place, although kids are welcome I will be saving this one for me and my hubbie for many years to come.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room with outside loungers....its nice to have a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

After two nights we left the hotel a bit confused and disappointed. It is five star but sometimes felt like a bed and breakfast. Let me start with the positive. The setting and views is breathtaking. The pool area is very nice and relaxing, however their cabanas which cost extra take up too much space around the pool. Our deluxe room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The bar is very classy and the bartender at the time was very attentive and professional.

Now to the BnB part. They are heavily understaffed. No bellboy to meet you when you arrive. That job is handled by the small woman in the reception which made us uncomfortable since the bags where heavy. After a short tour of the grounds and a nice welcome drink (30 minutes) we went up to our room but the bags where not there. Later that evening I requested an ironing board but where told that all boards where busy in other rooms and they could do nothing about it. No shirt that night. Breakfast was the worst experience in a long time. The hotel has three 16 year olds (management told me their age when I complained) who are trainees. I repeat, trainees. They have absolutely no experience and they know absolutely nothing about service and they know absolutely nothing about the breakfast menu which made them run around confused and nervous. We felt sorry for the youngsters and anger towards management who put them in such a stressful situation and consequently provided the guests with the worst service possible. When it comes to food it is OK at its best, we had expected a much higher level.

If you care less about service and food and just want a beautiful setting and relaxing atmosphere it's a very nice hotel. I'm not saying that you otherwise should look for other hotels but just heads-up on that service does not reflect the rates of the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Julio_0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSonNet, General Manager at Gran Hotel Son Net, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and your compliments regarding the setting and beauty of Gran Hotel Son Net.
I totally agree with you that our breakfast service on the weekend you had stayed with us was not up to our high standards. As I had explained you on property, we had just changed to an a la carte breakfast service and unfortunately had two people on sick leave that normally run the breakfast. It was indeed unfortunate and I cannot apology enough that we were not able to find skilled people to help out on this weekend. I know that it might not be of any help at this stage but I am delighted to inform you that we have hired three new staff members, not only to being able to replace in case of a sick leave but also to ensure that the operation runs smooth at all times and in all areas.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely yours,
Bjorn Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Loved it, for all the right reasons, classy, different, small, great staff (Luis the nicely mad pool man is a star of the first order.

We stayed here for a week in June (phew it was hot) and loved every minute of it.

I would suggest that seven days is a tad too long if you don't hire a car, but other than that, this is a wonderful retreat.

Bad points? Only two from us, no tea and coffee making facilities, I know 'top end' don't do this anymore but we still think it would be a good idea, and the aircon in room 40 (The loft) wasn't for for purpose (to small a unit for the size of room) but the heat was exceptional for this time of year.

Loved it.

Room Tip: They all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing stay at Gran Hotel Son Net. We have stayed at many wonderful hotels before including The Chanler (Newport, RI), The Wauwinet (Nantucket, MA), Grand Hotel Miramare (Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy), and Hotel La Fontanelle (Pianella, Itlay). What made Gran Hotel Son Net stand out was there unbelievable service and the quality of the food. I am a vegan (I don’t eat meat, dairy, or eggs), the hotel arranged for me on two occasions to have a six course tasting menu with wine pairings. I have eaten at many Michelin Star restaurants, and the food at Gran Hotel Son Net was far superior (the sommelier was also fantastic). If you have any dietary restrictions, I highly recommend that you contact Stephan the hotel’s director of food and beverage. Stephan and his staff will do whatever is necessary to accommodate you. The staff at this hotel is really friendly and committed to customer service. I highly recommend staying at Gran Hotel Gran Net when you visit Mallorca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aesinger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location; very spacious and peaceful; lovely breakfast terrace; great swimming pool. Only disappointment was the dinner. Good basic ingredients but small portions; insufficient garnish; and a tendency to use unduly strong sauces. We preferred The Rose in the village (less than 10 minute walk down the hill); excellent beef carpaccio and good wholesome cooking - would happily have eaten there every night had we discovered it earlier in our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Overall, nice hotel but doesn't have the usual wow factor of other SLH of the world -properties.
Location is great, near a non-touristic (rare in Mallorca!) little village that is very picturesque. No roadnoise etc. Nice swimming pool and well maintained grounds.

Interior of this hotel is quite eclectic / an acquired taste. There is so much going on that not everything really fits in terms of different styles. Our superior room was spacious and well appointed althought not the best thought out in terms of design. Main negative was that it was *very dark* - even midday needed all the lights on to be able to see properly. Annoying when raiiny weather and had to stay in the room. Bed comfortable, although double bed was just two singles pushed together with a double sheet on top. L'Occitane bath products nice, but didn't get replenished during our stay. A minibar with water was a nice touch, and also handily had space if you wanted to put your own drinks / snacks in as well.

Service variable - not the greatest check-in process, but bartender very friendly and made a mean sangria. We enjoyed our meals at the hotel. Breakfast buffet presentation not the greates but offered a good selection, including fresh oj etc. Overall a good 4^ hotel, just missing on some of the details that add the 'wow' factor in our view.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigpunyent
7.8 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
10.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
15.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
45.7 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Son Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Son Net

Property: Gran Hotel Son Net
Address: Camino Son Net s/n, 07194 Puigpunyent, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Puigpunyent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Son Net 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Son Net reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puigpunyent
Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net Puigpunyent, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing