We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family freindly”
Review of Bistro Mar

Bistro Mar
Ranked #26 of 213 Restaurants in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family freindly”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

best resturant in alcudia , food to die for , great staff, lovely resturant , you feel so welcome here cant wait to go back

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrariDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    153
    56
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath london
Level Contributor
167 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Indisputably the best all round restaurant in Puerto Alcudia”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As long time visitors with a home nearby we have a store of knowledge on eating out here.Bistro Mar is our favourite, wonderful location on the Marina close to our favourite hotel there are a row of restaurants along the marina but this is where you want to be.A romantic evening or a bustle birthday dinner for weight adults and eight children they make you feel special and oh I forgot the food is terrific,fresh,especially the fish, local, the wild rabbit succulent.Prices were fair and reasonable, the bass or other fresh fish baked in salt beyond imagination.This is the one local restaurant I agonise about mentioning for fear of increasing competition for tables.however the wonderful woman who runs it ruthlessly efficiently, her family who work with her and the other staff deserve recognition .Nowhere in London can match this place for it's fish dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A lovely restaurant situated in the port overlooking the boats and yachts. Tastefully decorated and with a wonderful menu this has been a regular restaurant for my family and I for many years. The staff are friendly and service has always been excellent here. Their barbecued meats are delicious as are their fresh fish dishes. My own favourite being the turbot and the salted sea bass, wonderful. In fact I like it so much I hope to hold my wedding dinner here next year. I highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dublinmallorcaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

lovely food at a reasonable price, good selection of english dishes..the environment was nice and staff friendly

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, Great food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant on and off for the past 6 years and I've never had a bad experience.

Located on Alcudia harbour you approach the restaurant where the beach ends and the Marina begins, following the road which runs along the harbour pier with boats to the left and the bay to the right. In the evening you walk past children’s activities (roundabout, bouncy castle, trampolines) and market stalls (handbags, trinkets, caricatures etc) you before you reach the restaurant.

Bistro Mar is the first of 3 or 4 restaurants/bars and easily the biggest. It's noticeable by its blue canopies and seats (very comfortable.) Menu’s are available in a variety of languages - including one at the entrance to let you have a browse before you decide whether to go in or not.

The staff are all very attentive even when busy and we've never had an issue being seated (though we do tend to eat quite early as we have 2 young children.) While we were there we did see one large group of 12 or more group who couldn't be immediately seated as it does get busy. Once seated you wont wait long for a waiter and there are always staff around if you require another drink or the bill.

The food is always excellent with seafood a speciality but also lots of meat choices for those less inclined to fish. My personal favourite is the shoulder of spring lamb with rosemary - easily large enough to feed 2 people and so tender you could eat it without a knife.
Children’s food while being more limited is also very good – Their version of Fish and chips is freshly battered Sole fillet - you just don't get that in England!

Prices are quite high but not outside the norm in the local area - Main courses are normally 15-20 Euros.

After dinner have a wander further into the harbour and follow the road around to the left to see a pretty impressive collection of large and expensive yachts

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Singo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Mar also viewed

Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 

Been to Bistro Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing