We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER, EVER AGAIN....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcudia Garden Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
wishaw
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NEVER, EVER AGAIN....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. It is safe to stay I shall never, ever return.
I've been to Alcudia previously therefore was quite lookiing forward to returning.
On arrival the hotel staff were pleasant, but it didn't last. We got to our room, one of the other guests in our party is in a wheelchair. We got to the room and dont the usual check's, at first we were quite happy. But when we went to go out on to the terrace we found there was a white shutter style panel on the outside of the patio door. This meant that our friend whom is disabled was unable to join us out on the terrrace.
Also when checking the room we noticed there was no kettle or toaster (things that I had just assumed would be essential in a sc accomodation)
We went to the reception and enquired about them perhaps removing the shutter or even giving us another room, but they were rude and unhelpful. They claimed not to understand me, I used the translator on my phone but agin they could not understand.
Enquired about the kettle and toaster, they then understood me !!!! Was told that these items were available to hire, I personally found this laughable but had to hire them.

The hotel itself didnt seem like a hotel at all, It felt like a hopital/nursing home. The furniture is dated and in need of a re vamp.. The tv has loads of channels, but in german or spanish :( no good to us !

I myself will never ever return to alcudia, found the staff of the hotel and neighbouring shops rude and unhelpful..

This hotel caters for the german tourists, not once out of the whole week were we asked to take part in any of the activites around the pool. In the evening the shows were in german and finished about 9:30. The sun loungers were all take by 9am, when the signs clearly state no reserving of loungers. On one occasions I did my self get up to reserve the beds, I went out at 7am and on a few loungers were available then.

There was three of us on holiday and since returning home, two of us have both attended our gp. we have been badly bitten and these bites became infected. My gp thinks these bites were from bed bugs, so beware !!!

I have never been as glad to get home. Safe to say, I SHALL NEVER RETURN.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank missmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    344
    150
    45
    14
See reviews for
341
217
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel must have earned its three (and a half) stars for the wonderful pool which is absolutely fantastic for kids and its convenient location close to the beach and city center with plenty of shops and restaurants. However, while the pool itself is fantastic, the area around it is certainly not. As many other people on this site have mentioned, the struggle for sun beds starts in the early morning and continues all day. Only those who are willing to get up before breakfast and place their towels across the beds will have one. When all the sun beds are taken the fight for the sun chairs begins.

One day when we (two adults and two kids) arrived at the pool at 2 pm. all beds and chairs were taken. We asked a woman if she would be kind enough to give us two of her chairs (she had three – one to sit on, one for her legs and one for her handbag). She insisted on having all three. We got quite upset and started discussing with her. After a while she gave up, and gave us ONE chair - the chair she used for her handbag.

Now, who wants to spend every day of a holiday fighting for sun beds and discussing with the other guest by the pool? We don’t. The hotel management should really prevent this from happening and introduce some rules about the sun beds. And more important, the hotel management should make sure that the rules are followed.

The apartments are ok, but quite small and the furniture a little outdated. We had a premium apartment with a small garden. The “lawn”, though, was made of plastic and got so warm in the sun that we could hardly walk on it.

We only tried the restaurant once, but decided not to continue with all inclusive. The food was not good, the queue for drinks was too long and the place was too noisy. But the staff seemed friendly.

The cleaning staff was also quite friendly and helpful. And our apartment was spotless.

If you plan to visit a quality dinner show we can recommend Son Amar and the show “We are the World” which was quite an experience for all ages and the artists were top professional. Spectacular! We had bought the tickets through No Frills Excursions who did the excursion so well. I believe they charge less than the hotel, but check it out.

If you like Spanish food we would recommend Ca’n Punyetes who make authentic Spanish tapas at a reasonable price.

Our conclusion is that the hotel is a three star hotel and nothing else. It has earned three and a half stars with some travel agencies, but they are not rightfully deserved. The children’s pool is great, yes – there is plenty of room for all the kids and they can easily reach the bottom in the whole area. Big palm trees provide shade so that they don’t get sunburned. And the hotel location is very good if you, like we did, prefer to eat at the nearby restaurants However, the apartments are old, the food is bad and the atmosphere around the pool is terrible due to the lack of sun beds. We will never go back again.

If you decide to go, you must remember to bring mosquito repellent. There are quite many mosquitoes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZKL_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is what you would expect for a 3* family hotel. We stayed here in Aug12, and as a couple who know the area quite well we knew that the location was approx 100m away from the beach, although you do have to cross a busy main road. It is close the centre of the port which has a very pleasant atmosphere on a night time and is also close to the marina.
On arrival we were allocated a room and left to find it by ourselves but it was at 4 in the morning. I have to say that the reception staff were mostly ok at best and one lady always gave me the impression that everything was just a hassle and did not want to help. I also got the feeling that they catered more for the German tourist. If you are not up early you will not get a sun bed by the pool. Every bed is taken well before 9 but there is never anyone there other than their towels! Fortunately we went to the beach everyday where the beds are charged at 4.50 euros per day, this was fine by us as it was better than being surrounded by kids and crammed in on both sides.
The Hotel itself is clean and the rooms are adequate with the facilities available being, various swimming pools including an indoor pool and jacuzzi, a sauna, gym and wifi in the public areas(we did get it in our room as it was close to the reception). You will have to pay to hire the safe a hair dryer and a kettle, I seem to remember this costing aprox £20 for the three for a week. The room was cleaned daily and the towels changed regularly, but these were well worn. The beds are very hard but we got used to them. The air conditioning only works when you have the key fob in the card slot so when we left the room we put a folded up "do not disturb" card into it so that the room stayed cool, and also set it at 1 which is the coolest setting.
We did not use the hotel restaurant as we were self catering but as mentioned before we have been to the port on numerous occasions and knew that there are plenty of good places to eat in the area and probably cheaper and better. There is a good little English pub just around the corner called Sgt peppers which is cheap and the food is good, and the beer is good too! Along in the port there are plenty of other good place to chose from. The Carabella steak house is very good but more expensive. Also dreamers Irish bar is a nice place for a drink and to people watch on a night.
By the way if you have a late flight coming home you will be told to get showered and changed in the showers for the sauna which is right off the reception and indoor and this is not lockable so you will have kids running in and out. The least they could do is have a courtousy room to use.
All in all, it's a family hotel and would be great for families with young kids and you get what you pay for. I knew what I was going to get and didn't have high expectations. We only used it as somewhere to get changed and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdcarrpeterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This could have been a great place, but it is not. The pool, the apartments and the location is great, but the people working there are not professionals. We where happy that we did not have "all included". The bread was old, the juice was not juice and the eggs where green inside. 2 times a week they don't clean the apartments. You should ask for apartment in Bloque 4 (far from stage and music). We had view to the pool, and that was nice. I also think it is very strange that they allow smoking at a family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast NI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently stayed in the Alcudia Gardens for 1 week All Inclusive with my teenage daughter. I use a wheelchair and my daughter is visually impaired but this hotel presented us with no real problems the whole week.
Our aparrtment bathroom had a wheel in shower, plenty of grab rails and the sink unit was low enough for me to use easily. All the sockets were halfway up the walls and even the built in wardrobes had lowered hanging rails. The ridge in the doorway was a little awkward but I just reversed in and out and it was ok.
The terrace area around the pool and pool bar was all flat and easy to get around. To get a sunbed you'd have had to be up with your towel around 3 in the morning I expect, but that is what you have to expect in such places. There was plenty of seating around the pool bar under a big canopy for those who didn't want to be in the sun all day and lots of deckchairs stacked up too for those who were too late for the beds.
There were always activities going on in or around the pool at different times of the day.. Kid's club, pool games etc. There also seemed to be a lot of trips arranged for both the older kids and adults to the waterpark, local market, cycling, horse riding etc. The evening entertainment all kicked off around 8.30 at night with the very entertaing mini disco followed by a whole variety of animal shows, musical, comedy, cabaret.. Someting to suit everyone. The entertainment staff were good fun trying to make everyone feel included. The restaurant was big and airy, not too tightly packed with space to move around easily. Restaurant staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (in particular Jose and Chiari) in helping us navigate our way around the buffet, fetching us drinks etc. There was always lots to choose from but I particularly enjoyed all the fresh salad bar and breads. Even my daughter, who is a very fussy eater, always had plenty of choice.
Outside the hotel, there are a whole heap of shops and restaurants in the surrounding streets. The immediate area is very flat with a beautiful beach just across the street. I would definitely return here!

Room Tip: We had a poolside apartment and were largely undisturbed by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemeBelfastNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff on both bars were very friendly and were definatley the most helpfull. the pool was nice and clean, however, there was no lifeguard, which I have never seen before. The towel situation on the sunbeds was quite annoying. To get a sunbed you had to have a towel out by 7am ! otherwise you had no chance and most were out the night before. The biggest let down was the air con, it was terrible and did not cool your room at all. Many sleepless nights ! The entertainment was ok but not brilliant, got a bit boring. We went self catering and were a bit disapointed with the kitchen. We didn't even get a kettle. All in all, we wont be going back

Room Tip: ours overlooked the hotel's dumping ground, broken tables, chairs and gym equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The staff in this hotel are very friendly, helpful & speak good English.
The food is nice & there's plenty off choice. Loads of entertainment for children & the pool is excellent.
The hotel is very clean & in an ideal location. Only 2 mins walk to the beach & 15 mins walk to the water park. Would definitely recommend & return!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toff33man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Tropic & Spa
Viva Tropic & Spa
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcudia Garden Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcudia Garden Aparthotel

Property: Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Address: Avda de la Playa 1, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcudia Garden Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcudia Garden Aparthotel welcomes you to one of the most complete resorts in Playa de Alcudia: recently refurbished apartments with free Wi-Fi, gastronomy, wellness area, entertainment for all ages... An accommodation specially designed for families and sportspeople who want to make the most of their days in Majorca, with the best facilities and an excellent quality price ratio. This resort located near S'Albufera Natural Park is formed by 276 apartments, double rooms and suites equipped with state-of-the-art services, a design adapted to all type of guests and versatile spaces ideal to be shared with children, your couple or friends. All these modern, spacious and well-cared apartments are located 80 metres away from Playa de Alcudia. They are surrounded by 8.000 square metres of exclusive terraces, gardens, solarium areas, swimming pool, games area for children, sports facilities... They offer you the perfect combination for resting, having fun and enjoying the north of Majorca without worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Alcudia Garden Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Garden Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Alcudia Garden Puerto
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing