We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARINER CLUB basic but great! (Honest review)”
Review of Mariner Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port d'Alcudia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariner Club
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“MARINER CLUB basic but great! (Honest review)”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (in our early 20s) stayed here for a week in july 2012 and we loved it!. I was our first holiday together and we wanted a holiday where there were options to relax or be lively. On arrival (which was midnight) we walked into reception and my first impression was basic but as it was night time I thought id explore more in the morning. After our flight we were so thirsty, the man on reception offered us a bottle of water which cost 2euros, which wasnt very cold as if was just kept on the side of the reception. In our room we had two single sofa beds which we ended up pushing together to make a double bed. This became annoying further into the holiday we found ourselves falling between the gap as the bed separted due to them sliding against the floor. Our room had a very good view, looked right onto the pool could see everything. The food in the hotel was nice, the staff were LOVELY so so friendly. The entertainment was great for families,like pool games in the day, karoke, bingo all organinsed by AMANDA who was great, but me and my boyfriend like to go to bars and so on, so it wasnt for us. Our hotel was about 15min walk for the main town area which we didnt mind as the walk was lovely and was worth it once you got there. About 5min from our hotel was a club called GLOP 5 with 5 clubs in one which was open till 5/6am! which was AMAZING we didnt arrive there no earlier than 12midnight as it didnt seem to pick up till then. We became known by the staff there (being there everynight) so we used to get free drinks and shots from the bar staff!!
The main town was just GREAT the bars/resturants, I think we sampled all of them :D. The prices of food and drink were average, what we expected. If you want a posh meal I recommend resturant BO which is located at the end of the town. The cocktails in ALL bars are delicious too.
When you get into the middle of town you can walk along the markets. We made really good friends with a market owner who sells watches called MILLI he was so funny!. As we carried on through the markets we came to a bar which overlooked the sea, the view was amazing. Me and my boyfriend had a few cocktails and sat on the extremely comfy sofa that were available LUSH!
The beach was about 20/30mins walk from our hotel a little hard to find but worth it when you get there.

Overall the holiday was amazing for us, location was spot on, people are lovely, hotel is basic (what you expect from a 3*) would we go back??? 100%

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    194
    91
    26
    35
See reviews for
420
136
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a family of 5 2 adults and children aged 10,13 and 16. Rooms were very basic but clean and had everything we needed. The grounds were always kept clean and linen wad changed regularly. Food in the restaurant was ok but seemed overpriced for what you got.
The main shops are about a 10 minute walk away and you can find some lovely places to eat if you look down the little side roads. The Main Street is fine if you are happy with chips with everything.
The beach is beautiful and it's well worth a walk to the port at night. Fantastic restaurants on the beach. Then it's fun to get a horse and cart back. The watermark near the apartments was majorly overpriced and not worth the money.
Overall we had a fab time and a holiday is what you make it. We've stayed in better places but its always good to try something new.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi_3539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Been going to mariners nearly every summer since 2005. The first entertainer was lee. He was great with the kids a very good entertainer. We came back in 2007 and were quite disappointed when he went. The entertainer after this was a young kid called johnny. Terrible entertainer. Spent more time flirting than entertaining. Didn't even make an effort. Very pleased when we came back in 2008 and he was gone. That's when Amanda came. Excellent entertainer. Makes a huge effort with the kids. Not sure wether she's going to be there this summer as her and her boyfriend Alain said they were moving to gran canaria :( but o well.

Going back this summer 2013. With my family 2 adults 2 young kids. Would definitely recommend this holiday for families not elders or buisness. Plenty of daytime activities. Pool area nice and clean. Rooms are adverage. Could do with a bit of updating but what you would expect for 3 star.

Hotel restaurant exceptional food. Ate there most nights as we were always disappointed with the restaurants on Bellevue strip. Location is ok. A good 15 minute walk from the beach but well worth it. Stunning beach. Shallow sea. Only downside is that if you dig far down in the sand it can start smelling of egg. There are lots of smelly canals outside of the complex as well on the Bellevue strip but lots of shops. Pubs restaurants cocktail bars. Something for everyone.

Overall very pleased with this hotel every time we go. Clean rooms. Good maid service. But as we go every year the price goes up every time 1200 pounds for a 1 bedroom apt for 2 weeks at the cheapest for 3 star!! Not including flights!! But it's worth it. We see the same people come back every year and kids have made friends. All rooms have pool view. Very good!

Room Tip: Do not get a room above reception. They have been broken into a few times. Get a second floor apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Oct near the end of season. We occupied 2 apartments (grandparents next door) and us next door 2kids and Mum&dad.

Personally we loved the location of the Mariners club, our apartment over looked the pool which is great to keep an eye on kids. Perfect and much better than a high rise hotel.

It had a very relaxed vibe to it, other families were cheerful and chatty. Definitely not a pretentious apartment. Lots of wee cats roaming around which we loved.

Amanda (entertainer) was great, poor girl must have been shattered we were there on her last week before the hotel packed up for the season. Although you wouldn't have known that she organised quizzes, discos and offered advice on places in Alcudia. Always with great professionalism. Mike was a wee star, very welcoming and easy to chat with offering great advice too.

The maids worked tirelessly to, towels changed at least 3times in one week.

My sister was staying in a big hotel in the main town. Although it was a gorgeous hotel it really had no atmosphere. My sister and her family came along to the Mariners during the day and some nights when we weren't out shopping.

:( rooms reeeaaaly need upgrading, grubby tiling and hard beds,

:) lots of plus points, if you have booked this hotel enjoy it, you may be disappointed at the decor but you don't go on holiday to look at the walls? X

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlfordDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My partner, baby and I got a cheap last minute deal here over the summer. We booked and flew the next day on sensible baby friendly flights with THOMSON from Gatwick.


The flights going and coming back were both very good and have to say for a


One arrival at the resort, it was as I expected "BRITS ABROAD." On exploring the resort and over the week my opinion didn't change. The restaurant serves fatty, cheap, deep fried food. The bar offers cheap alcohol. The pool was that clean and there was a lot of shouting a swearing swearing around the pool both during the day and night. (see images of pool)


The resort claims to offer a soft play area - this is nothing more than a small chair and table with some wooden blocks (see picture)


We opted for a ground floor one bed apartment which had everything required by us but was in desperate need of renovation. The shower/ bath was filthy and rusty and clearly there had been leaks from the flat above in the past hence the water stained ceiling tiles. Our room had two singles which were rock solid. The view form our room was onto the neighbouring street and the bars at the window meant not ideal to leave them open at night.


The A/C and safe both cost extra, figures close to E5 per day which adds up for a family on a budget.


On a positive note however the fact that this resort is so small makes it ideal to be able to go to and from your room, to the pool, to grab some lunch or to put a baby to sleep whilst still being able to sit in the sun. It is also ideal in the sense that you can grab a take away from nearby and eat it outside on the balcony whilst your baby is asleep in the room.


The transfer to the resort wasn't too long.


The overall of Aldudia is also very much Brits abroad with a Linkers bar, karaoke etc.


We had an enjoyable week, but not sure I would return to the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor - makes life easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbob317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the mariner club however the rooms are in desperate need of an update - they do not have double beds or even beds as such, you sleep on the sofas. We did not spend much time in the studio as pool was lovely (very cold) - its a lovely 25minute walk to harbour and about 15 minutes to Bellevue. We took our 18month old and he absolutely adored it in alcudia and made plenty of playmates! The entertainment is very basic and sometimes boring! The Mosquitos are everywhere and me and my partner got bitten at least 30 times between us! Would not go back to hotel only because we like to explore new places! (Our holiday date was 4th October - 11th October)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

we went 16/9 - 23/9 2012. my partner and our little 2yr old girl. This is a good place to stay if you have young children. the room are bacis but have everything to need to a meal. the bed are something else... if you like sleeping on a wooden board this is the place for you (really comfortable!). They have food available all day and the pool and play area are really good.
Its not far beach and the main strip of shops.
Oh and you will get bit by mosquito.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#10 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#29 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
BQ Delfin Azul Hotel
BQ Delfin Azul Hotel
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Club

Property: Mariner Club
Address: Calle Atenas 1, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Mariner Club Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Mariner Hotel Puerto Alcudia
Mariner Club Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing