We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views on this hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed views on this hotel...”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at this hotel with our two children, aged three and 13 months. Previously, we have stayed at some lovely five star hotels, however we found them far too expensive with two children this year, so we searched hard for a nice four star hotel that would be child friendly. We had been to Alcudia previously without the children and stayed at a different Iberostar property (Playa De Muro Village) so we were already familiar with both the resort and the hotel chain.

Overall we had mixed views on this hotel. The location was perfect - right on the beautiful sandy beach and only a 20 minute stroll to the Port of Alcudia. The food was fantastic, as we expected. There was enough variety that we didn't get bored at all during our two-week stay, eating breakfast, lunch and dinner there. There were similar things every day, but also enough variation to have something different each day if you wished. They also had a different theme each night at dinner, e.g. fajitas, kebabs, fish, roast turkey, tapas. There was also a good selection of 'familiar' foods for children. The grounds to the hotel were lovely and the pools were great - all communal areas were kept neat and tidy. The entertainment staff at the hotel were brilliant - they worked non-stop from early morning to late at night, also running the kid's club, mini disco and presenting some of the evening entertainment too! There is a small spa within the complex which is definitely worth a visit - I had a very relaxing (and much needed) hindu massage!

The biggest disappointment with this hotel was the accommodation. It was clean, but very basic and in need of an upgrade. The room layout was not great - there was a good sized lounge/kitchenette at the front opening onto the balcony, then a bathroom, then a double bedroom at the back. However, the bedroom had no ventilation, other than a small window which looked onto the corridor (which you weren't allowed to open anyway!) - this meant the bedroom was dark and dingy. It also meant you heard lots of noise from people walking/running in the corridor early in the morning and late at night. We also experienced a leak in our bathroom from the floor above during our stay - the hotel staff fixed it, but didn't offer any explanation as to what had caused it. We were in Block 2, which was the second biggest block. For a charge of 25 euros per night you can upgrade to a high floor room with a sea view, however I do not know if these rooms are more modern or a better layout than the one we stayed in.

If you don't like Germans then I would suggest you do not stay at this hotel as it is overrun with them and some of them can be incredibly rude! They also get up early to claim sunbeds, despite many signs around the complex stating that sunbeds cannot be reserved! The hotel staff seem to turn a blind eye to this, so I would recommend if you want a sunbed then do what everyone else does and get up early to reserve one!

One final gripe is that the complex was not very secure - anyone is free to walk through both the front door and the gate at the back that leads onto the beach, this wasn't even locked during the night - quite worrying, especially when you have young children.

On the whole I would say that, if you're not too bothered about the standard of your accommodation, then this a nicely located hotel with excellent food and good entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesUK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    435
    96
    33
    17
See reviews for
1,052
159
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 with our two children aged 6 and 8 and we all had a fantastic time. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean attended by very friendly and polite maids every day. I am very fussy about cleanliness and this is the first hotel I have been to that I felt was thoroughly clean to my standard. There are lots of entertainers working their socks off throughout the day and night to keep mums, dads and most importantly the kids happy. My children dont normally attend kids clubs as they prefer to be with us but the staff were doing such exciting activities we couldnt keep them away. They also absolutely loved the kids disco in the evening which is followed by a more grown up show which is sometimes a little cheesy but arent they always and who cares when you have free sangria in your hand! The shows were always best when done by the hotel entertaining staff rather than people brought in by outside. The food was very good with steaks, paellas, stews, fish, salads, the list is endless. There are lots of nationalities at this hotel which was nice and my children liked playing with children they couldnt necessarily have a conversation with but there were plenty of British too. If you want an umbrella around the pool you need to get up quite early to bag one as people start laying their towels at 7.30 but if you are not bothered about an umbrella you will get sunbeds alot later than this. The hotel is right on a gorgeous beach and opposite quite alot of shops and restaurants but the main centre of Alcudia is about 10mins walk along the beach. The rooms can be quite noisy if you are near the lifts which we were but we were having such a fab time it didnt bother us although Im sure the fantastic staff would have moved us if we had complained. All in all we all had an absolutely fantastic time and would go back like a shot, the kids are asking all the time when can they go back! Also a big thank you to Anti who runs the mini club she is so fantastic and such an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank owen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed at the Iberostar Ciudad Blanca in late May, 2011. We had the one bedroom room, which was great for some privacy with a 10 year old sleeping on the fold out in the living room. FANASTIC STAFF!! Cannot say enough good things about them. Friendly and willing to go the extra effort, even helping sneak in a birthday cake and light the candles to make a special celebration for a young girl. The beaches around the Bahia de Alcudia (northeast part of the island) are very fine and very clean (We found the beaches at Playa de Palma to be a bit coarser, but anything beats the beaches we have in Colorado). A heads up about the all inclusive package. The food was generally very good, but definitely oriented to the main tourists that visit Mallorca: The germans, english, and scots. Nothing wrong with this, but lots of sausage and prepared meats as compared to fresh fish, which one would have expected with being on an island. We ended up going out for lunch to the beach restaurants in Alcudia. Probably worth the extra cost for the all inclusive when you consider the breakfast and the drinks, but worth mentioning for the non-europeon trourist.

Room Tip: We used the Iberostar website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Centennialtraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Travelled here with husband , son and his girlfriend. Stayed in one bed appt. Son had own appt. Was in block three only 3 storey high. No lifts. Stayed in ground floor room 3005. Appt was very clean but basic. Did have fridge( no cost to use) Looked out onto the adult swimming pool. Hotel right on beach which is lovely sandy and shallow water. Sun bed cost on beach 9 euros for 2 beds and brolly all day. Beds at pool area free but people get up early and reserve with towels. Can hire towels from hotel for returnable deposit 10 euro per towel. All the staff work hard and make you feel special. Food is plentiful and array of choice with show cooking too. You have to go all-inclusive to appreciate the value. Food available from breakfast 730 till end of dinner 930.Drinks up to midnight and they have real brands fanta coke cola etc. At the beach bar there is free ice cream lemom ice lollies and rolls and cake. We was able to take drinks from beach bar onto beach as long as you return cups.
The entertainment is also throughout the day and evening and they seem to have childrens clubs and kids disco in evening.

Outside the front of hotel is a taxi rank, bus stop and many shops and resturaunts. Also KFC Burger King, Pizza Hut .

One show you must go to is The Pirate Show. Jamie the Thomas Cook rep can get tickets for this. You get transport, meal and unlimted drinks and show for 64 euros but an amazing show. you can check it out on the web to get and idea of what it is.
Went to water park in alcudia 4 euros in taxi 19 euros admission and then 4 euros for sunbed. Small water park but seems to have a lot of areas for small kids too.

Would recommended this hotel for famillies and couples something for everyone.

Room Tip: Block 1, 4, 6 are high blocks 2,3,5 lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed there for a week at the start of June11 & couldn't say enough positive things about this apartotel for a family holiday.

My Room:2ad+1ch(6yrs)+1inf(1yr) Stayed in a nice big 1bedroom apartment, would very comfortably fit 4-5 adults. Spotlessly upon arrival & daily cleaning service.

Food & Drink: Went for the All Inclusive option, only problem with the food was that it was there was too much of a good thing...everything was irresistible.

Staff: I have never stayed at property where the staff have been so friendly but there was no insincere "Have a nice day" crap. Not one member of staff ever passed you without an "Ola" and a smile. The mini-club staff were everything you could wish for for your kids, welcoming, attentive and most importantly entertainingly energetic aswell as speaking German, Spanish and English.

Entertainment: During the day kids activities were wonderful from pony rides, games and art activities one clubs or simply enjoying the excellent pool or beach at your doorstep. In the evening the shows were well organized and varied, catering a lot for kids.

Negatives: Wouldn't recommend if you don't kids. Wouldn't bother with paying the extra for a sea-view especially if you want a low floor as they're all high and even though the hotel is on the beach the the views aren't great with all the trees. Would suggest requesting a poolview in block 1 but definately request a room away from the lifts as it can be very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Im2lazy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just returned from a nine day stay and just wanted to write a honest review. We (me hubby and 2 children aged 3 and 9), were due to fly out to the Iberostar Alcudia Park on the monday and received a telephone call on friday telling us the Hotel was over booked and we were being transfered to the Ciudad. We checked out the reviews and thought it would be OK.

Although most of the reviews are correct, yes the hotel is in a decent location and the staff do try very hard, I don't think the hotel is a four star. The first room we were given (block 6, ground floor) was terrible, the enterance was through a back door with no windows and the patio window looked out onto wheelie bins! We were moved to a better room (large and clean but a bit worn out). Yes the food does look great but to be honest was luke warm and always cooked is masses of oil and salt and I can't recall one very good meal....they were all just ok.

Having stayed at Iberostar hotels before (in the Dominican) I expected more from this hotel, I am not wanting to slag the hotel off and im sure you would have a lovely time there as long as you paid no where near the brochure price and got a cheap deal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have recently returned from a week long visit to this hotel and would highly recommend it. We traveled with 2 children aged 2 and 5 and my parents, and had two apartments in block 2 level 1. The outdoor evening bar and stage are directly behind this block, it was a little noisy but didn't disturb us or the children at all and the music is turned off by 2230 each night. The hotel is well located right on the beach and the grounds and pool area are well maintained and spacious enough. The hotel is spotless, they are always cleaning and maintaining all areas and nothing is broken or worn. Our room was fine as other reviewers have said its a little dated but clean and with all the amenities needed. We were all inclusive and it was a great choice, lots of fresh food and enough variety to keep it interesting at least for the week,there were plenty of choices for the children, the pancakes for breakfast were a real treat. All day long they bring out food and the beach bar serves drinks and coffees all day. The pool area was good with a small pool for the younger ones and a good sized main pool, lots of bed blocking with towels but with a 2 year old we were up early enough to get a good spot everyday. Our only issue was the pool temperature, the weather when we were there was a bit cool and it had been cold the week before, as a result the pool was very cold, so much so that one of our children would hardly used it (she happily swam in the warmer sea!). When the sun shone it warmed up slightly and but for this one problem I would have given the hotel a five star review. The main memory we will have is of the excellent staff, all spoke good English and couldn't do enough for you. The Miniclub is fantastic for the children, Anti who runs it is a bundle of fun and energy. They all work so hard to make your holiday special. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Block Four quiet but no lift, Block five seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rayfamilykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
#11 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca

Property: IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
Address: Juan Carlos I 43, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#4 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca hotel is a complete hotel, and the all inclusive option is highly recommended for those who fancy experiencing an entertaining family holiday. Everyone will have their own space in its studios and apartments, as well as privacy and services that will make your stay a very comfortable one. Located on the sea front, the Ciudad Blanca hotel combines the beauty of the Bahia de Alcudia with gorgeous beaches and surroundings. These include the services and facilities of a family hotel: outdoor pools for adults and children, children’s playground, accommodation for pets, free Wi-Fi, SPA Sensations, all inclusive, Miniclub, Maxiclub, Teenieclub, Jacuzzi, professional shows, water sports, 15,000 m² of gardens, three restaurants, two bars and a spectacular Sea Soul & Beach Club to spend days and nights in the most incredible and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ciudad Blanca Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Iberostar Puerto Alcudia
Iberostar Hotel Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing