We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first break of 2013 at The Maritimo.”
Review of Grupotel Maritimo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Maritimo
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As we go to this hotel at least three times a year we had another relaxing holiday as usual. The staff were as always very friendly and helpful. As we went mid April the area around the hotel was not fully open but there was plenty of bars and shops still trading.The hotel has a good atmosphere and as this time of year there are many people cycling on all parts of the island, so you need to have your wits about when driving. . .
The food was very good and the standard remains high, as does the service from all the restaurant staff,the hotel Director as usual makes you feel welcome,and nothing is too much trouble for him. Many Thanks . . .

Room Tip: We ask for a room at the front as its always quiet and you overlook the front pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewmaster5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Grupotel Maritimo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 690 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our 2nd time to the Maritimo the 1st being 13yrs ago,we we were impressed the 1st time and was hoping the standard was the same, we weren't disappointed. As other reviews state the hotel is not in the hustle +bustle of Alcudia but in a quieter area,there are plenty of bars around the hotel,we were there in April and lots of bars were still closed,this didn't bother us because the bar prices in the hotel were reasonable the bar staff excellent.The standard and choice of food was very good, we liked having the same table at each meal,even on our last morning a buffet breakfast was served until 6-45am catering for those like us who had a morning.The rooms were a good size with a fridge and kept very clean by the pleasant chamber maids.The hotel is over the road from a safe shallow beach ideal for children.Had a great time don't know why it took 13yrs to return hopefully will return in the near future.A gem of a hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank minnieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We found this hotel as a special offer with Thomas Cook. What a find! It's situated at the border of Alcudia with Playa Muro , at the opposite end of the lagoon from Bellvue Apartments. Some who would prefer a more lively atmosphere may prefer the Bellvue / Saturno, Jupiter, Marti area, but for us as a couple in their 50's the Mariimo was fantastic. There are plenty of local shops and bars around the hotel ( Smiths Bar down the street opposite was our favorite ) and bus stops outside the hotel give access to Alcudia Port, Alcudia Town and in the opposite direction Can Picafort ( 1.50 euro fare). The hotel provide nightly entertainment and as others have reviewed, the restaurant food is excellent and the staff first rate. Should you arrive for dinner as the restaurant opens they treat you to a "guard of honour" greeting.
The only negatives would be with our room. Ours was on the gound floor, close to the lounge bar, so noisy and I have a bad back and the bed was a liitle too hard for me. However, the shower was first class, powerful and always had hot water, not something found in many hotels.

Room Tip: We stopped in room 3 on the ground floor. It was facing the rear of the hotel but was next to the lo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had our 4th visit to this hotel and the standard is still up there with the best.This is easily the best hotel for good quality ingredients turned into the best food your likely to get in this neck of the woods. Try out the chocolate fountain. We really can't recommend this hotel enough. In fact the number of repeat guests at this hotel, at any time of year, speaks volumes as to it's popularity. The whole staff from the top down are just there to ensure you stay is just perfect and nothing is too much trouble to any of them. Once again we can only say once again a big thank you for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing east if you like the morning sun and south west if you like some late af...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2012RKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here Summer 2012. Asked for a high room which we got, but it was a lot smaller than the the other rooms we'd seen, but it was at the end of the corridor so it was more private.
Room was clean and pleasant. Good range of channels on the television and bathroom was very nice. The swimming pool and pool bar were good, we ate lunch there most days. Even though we went at the end of July there were plenty of sunbeds available. Food was generally good but didn't think much of the dessert choices.
We used the buses a lot over the road to go to the port and the old town, very packed on the evenings but only a 10 minute journey to the port. We also used the bus to get back from the water park (wouldn't recommended the waterpark itself though, felt very unsafe on some of the slides and the waves in the wave pool were non-existent).
Lots of restaurants and bars to walk to nearby and the beach is only a short walk away. Very German dominated in terms of guests. Entertainment wasn't great, you might want to go further afield for this. Generally, I would stay in this hotel again, nice clean rooms, good food but entertainment could have been better.

Room Tip: Choose a high room at the back of the hotel, that way people at the pool aren't looking onto you...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoogiebabeY2K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay with our teenage son. Room was excellent, clean with comfortable beds. Bathroom was a good size and also cleaned well. The hotel is well managed and has some of the most efficient and conciencious staff I have met. The restaurant is fantastic. The food is prepared and presented beautifully and the choice is fabulous. You have the same table and waiter/waitress for the duration of your stay and it works very well. Our waiter was Isidoro, aka Easy, he was fab. The bar and pool snack bar is run by three chaps, one named Manolo and a very pretty lady named Alexandra. The are efficient, attentive and very polite. There are three outside pool's that are not heated and they can be quite cold in the morning. There are plenty of loungers to go round. The heated indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish steam room are great, especially at the end of the day. The entertainment each evening is family orientated and great fun. The dutch entertainment host is a hit with everyone! He can speak four languages which is an asset to the hotel and himself. The beach is five minutes walk from the foyer. It has golden sand, clear sea and very clean.
The hotel is very well run by the management and is shows by the amount of returning guest's. We will be returning for sure!
Mallorca is very popular for cycling, the roads are flat, safe and pot hole free!, if you wish to hire a bike as we did, go to Max Hurzeler, Radvermietung Boutique, 100 yards from the hotel on the opposite side of the road. They are not expensive, but very efficient. Great new Cube bikes aswell.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October for one week and travelled as a couple in our thirties. We chose this hotel based on trip advisor. We were informed upon arrival that our dining room table would be reserved for the duration which we thought was a good idea as it saved us having to rush down each night and looking for a free table at the busy meal times. One night we found someone else sat at our table and informed the head waiter who apologised and gave us a free drink. This wasn't any fault of the staff but more ignorance of other guests. There are a lot of older people who stay at this hotel and 80% Germans. We found the food choice was vast but it wasn't always as hot as we like it. The quality was very good. Due to an early departure at the end of the week, we asked about an early breakfast at 6.30 am, when we went down we found no hot water left to even have tea or coffee, no juice and just a few cornflakes and some hard cobs. Very poor- we didn't want or expect much but even the basics were missing and not worth us getting up even earlier for.
We spent a few days around the pool area and found the grounds appealing and well maintained. The hotel did a 3 euros coffee and cake deal, very nice and a huge slab of cake. The hotel was very clean in all areas and was ideally located to the beach! a few minutes walk across the main road. The port area is approx 50 mins walk away but worth a visit as some lovely and rather expensive boats to see. Nice restaurants, bars and shops also around the port area.
The rooms are nicely decorated and spotless. No noise from surrounding areas in the room. Overall a very nice hotel that we would certainly stay at again, the only downside was the early departure breakfast but we would know about this in future so make other arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lyndsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#15 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
775 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Maritimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Maritimo

Address: Carretera Arta - Puerto Alcudia S/N, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: $107 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Maritimo 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the beach, surrounded by big gardens. Rooms: Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools with children's splash pool. Swimming lessons. SAP with heated indoor pool. Jacuzzi. Sauna. Turkish bath. Massages. Gym. Tennis courts. Beach volley Table tennis. Miniclub. Nursery. Children's playground. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast buffet. Hot and cold dinner-buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Snack restaurant. Services: Shop. Car, bicycle and motorbike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Maritimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Maritimo Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Puerto Alcudia
Maritimo Hotel Alcudia
Hotel Maritimo Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing