We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay with Viva Hotels..... i wouldn't stay with any other hotel.”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Another great stay with Viva Hotels..... i wouldn't stay with any other hotel.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed the last two years at the Viva Sunrise based about twenty minutes walk from the port, this year all the Royal Terrace apartments were booked at the sunrise, so we decided to try the Viva Tropic, which is based in the port.

Viva Hotels have a range of different rooms, but we always opt for the Royal Apartments, these come with a larger balcony, complete with a dining table and chairs, relaxing sofa area, loungers a hammock and a Jacuzzi. The Royal Apartments are what makes this hotel 4 star.

Although we never stay all inclusive in hotels we did go and look at the buffet breakfast, and oh my word, I honestly can say even in Five star London Hotels I have never seen such a massive collection of breakfast, every fruit you could imagine, cold meats, cooked breakfast including for those British holiday makers baked beans and hash browns, and all the rest to make you a "full English" fruit juices, cereals etc.... a treat on the eye... not entirely sure why the last reviewer said it wasn't 4 star, I am yet to stay in a hotel that offers more.

The hotel has a main outdoor pool, as well as an adults only "quiet" pool with double bed loungers, and a child's play area and splash pool with a pirate ship, there is also an indoor spa facility with an indoor pool and Jacuzzis which children can use with adult supervision, so even if it rains, you are well in (rain??? we had a couple of days of it unfortunately, but it didn't ruin the break as we had the indoor facilities)

We wanted to hire a DVD player for our daughter to be entertained before bed, and the hotel were happy to arrange this for us, the hotel also has an outside bar and restaurant/snack bar that serves till about 3pm, as well as its indoor restaurant. We ate outside twice, the food is very nice and the service professional.

You can hire bikes and should you have rain, there are umbrellas available in the foyer, the hotel was immaculately clean, the cleaners completely clean your room 5 days a week, with fresh bed linen and towels (if you leave used ones in the bath/shower they will leave you fresh) I understand all the rooms have fridges/kitchen facilities (but do check) you will find a well stocked supermarket on site in the foyer, and the prices are reasonable.

The receptionists are very helpful and speak good English, but you always get an extra smile if you can use a few Spanish words, they happily arranged an alarm call for our departure day, and informed us of our transfer times for departure.

Staying closer to the port meant we hardly visited the "lower" town near the Viva sunrise, which seemed to be a "strip" of restaurants for tourists, we did however notice that eating in the port was more costly but then, its beautiful and we didn't have one bad meal.

I have to recommend that if you are not booked in to eat at the hotel, you must if you are British have breakfast at "the foxes" to find it from the hotel walk down to the main road turning right from the hotel doors, taking a right at the end of the road, then the first left, and then right again, walk up towards the Burger king, follow the main road down towards the Pharmacy "has big green crosses above with neon lights" the Foxes is a couple of minutes past the Pharmacy (which is very helpful if you do need any medical assistance) here you will find Jamie and Karen who serve up Breakfast, lunch and dinner, including a Sunday Roast. we had breakfast there every day, and my parents who came for a short break whilst we were on holiday were absolutely impressed and said they too would have eaten there every day of their holiday.

Not to be missed is a walk up to the old walled town, about twenty minutes away from the hotel by foot, and full of quaint eateries and unique shops, they also have a market sundays and Tuesdays which is very crowded....

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I think we will be returning here next year, we had thought we would miss "the strip" by the Viva Sunrise as all the restaurants cater for children, however we found the port restaurants also catered well for children, and so with the beauty of the port on our doorstep it seems the viva hotels have captured us, and at least if one hotel has their royal apartments all booked we know what to expect at the other hotel.

Adults, this is a family hotel, if you want all this without kids, Viva also have another Hotel called The Viva Vanity Golf, which is adult only....

Book with viva and you will not be disappointed, I promise!

Room Tip: royal garden apartments, not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    385
    114
    39
    12
See reviews for
575
225
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southeast ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from another great stay in the Viva Tropic with extended family.On arrival even though the hotel was very busy we were allocated adjoining rooms which was a great help.Rooms have been upgraded since last season new beds and brighter decor .As always staff are very helpful at all times and cleaning staff do a great job maintaining high standards throughout

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fliggits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Came to Majorca, Porto d'Alcudia to visit a friend, spent 5 nights at this hotel. The staff at reception and the cleaning lady that took care of my room, where all very nice and helpful.

The waiters at the breakfast and the bar was just noway near the quality and service-minded that I expect of a 4 star hotel.. not even a Spanish 4 star hotel.

The walls between the rooms was just thicker than paper, and I could hear the couple next door having a conversation, using the bathroom and toilet being flushed.

The pools outdoors looked ok, but I did not use them due to poor weather. The one indoor was heated and had a lifeguard in the room.

Use the SPA centre, and was very pleased with the level of quality and professionalism shown there.

Quality of break-feast was good, but the fruit juices tasted as if they where mixed up 50% with water.

The room I stayed in had AC, and I think that goes for all rooms.

Room Tip: They have several types of rooms, some even with a private deck with your own jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarlRol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

my partner decided to suprise me with a 5 day break to spain and booked this hotel we arrived at 3am on the sunday morning hotel was spotless and the reception staff were very helpful and pleasent considering the time in the morning we had room 2203 walked in and wow what can i say had a large living area beautiful bedroom and bathroom was lovely with all added little extras. we did not have the best weather so we made use of the indoor pool with the jaccuzzis and steam room and sauna room .We travelled without my 8 year old son but we would not hesitate on booking a trip here again with him plenty of things to do for children.id give this hotel 5* thank you viva tropic for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank villaedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 21st April for one week. We had a room main building forth floor overlooking pool. The hotel was spotless. We were self catering,not a lot of crockery in the very small kitchen,but enough to make breakfast,or snack at lunchtime. Plenty of places to have an evening meal at the port which was only five minutes walk away. The hotel has an indoor pool,and a gym which my husband used most days. There is also an adult pool which is very nice. We had a problem with one of the lights in our room and the maintaince guy was up right away to sort it out. Staff always very pleasant. The only thing was the maids are very noisy early in the morning when they are getting ready to service the rooms although they done an excellent job at keeping the room clean. We had two large single beds pushed together which were very comfortable. Would definitely return to the. Viva tropic again. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: In block one odd numbered rooms get good garden or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here 17th April to 21st April for a short break. Travelling was myself and my partner, 13 year son and 5 year old daughter. On arrival which was in the early hours of the morning we were very impressed with the welcome, efficiency and the general service we received. Check in complete we went up to our room which was very easy to find and we had been upgraded for free to a room with a pool view.

The room was clean and tidy with usual basic kitchen, sofa with pull out bed underneath and a separate bedroom and shower room. The bathroom was particularly clean and inviting with a lovely large walking shower and the water pressure was good. My daughter slept on the pull out bed and I would say anyone any older than her would have been uncomfortable, especially if it was for a full fortnight holiday.

We stayed self catering but there was the option to add all inclusive if you wanted at 50 euros per person (under 2's free and children 2-12 50% discount) we decided not to take this up because only part of the eating places were open so you would have been limited. I must say though the choice on the food and drinks menus for the all inclusive was very good in comparison to some places I have stayed in the past.

The childrens pool was lovely, really clean and plenty of things to keep my daughter occupied. There was also a little park area to the side and trampoline so when it was time for shade there was someone safe for her to play.

There was no daytime entertainment but I think this was simply because it was quiet in the hotel and they entertainment on the evening was over and done with in an hour. There was a large team though of about 8 people so I think in the height of season they will be enough people to run a few activities.

The main pool was freezing so we didn't dip anymore than a toe in there but the indoor pool was lovely. 3 separate jacuzzi sections but the pools shallowest point was 1.4m so fairly deep.

All in all a very nice stay, any longer though I think we would have started to get bored of the hotel because the entertainment was weak and the outdoor pool was too cold. I really think if you go all inclusive, be prepared to go out and about to find entertainment so that will increase you spending and if you have older children consider the type of room you get, the pull out bed isn't ideal.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family I would suggest spending a little more to get proper beds, the pul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joleeds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel. The staff in the hotel and shop are very helpful. The rooms are clean and the shower is lovely and big. The swimming pools are well kept. It is located approx 100m from the beautiful beach of Port D'Alcudia. One downside is that they have located the over 18's relaxation pool right next door to the childrens swimming pool area. If you thought you would use it to relax then forget it because every 20 minutes the bucket on the pirate ship fills with water and splashes into the pool. There is certainly no peace and quiet from kids screaming and enjoying themselves. The sun loungers are uncomfortable for any length of time as they have no additional mattress. The other downside for us was that we were located in the main hotel next to the cleaners cupboard so was woken up ervery morning at 7.30 with the sound of the trolley being wheeled along the laminate floor. The main downside to this hotel is that the main building is covered in laminate flooring so at night and the early hours all you hear are footsteps and suitcases being wheeled along. The other nuisance with this is that the hotel is busy with cyclists who seem to insist on wearing their cycling shoes in the hotel and there is a constant sound of clip clop clip clop as they walk along the laminate floor outside the rooms. Taking everything into consideration this would not put me off recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1321 is right next door to the cleaners cupboard so every morning you are woken at 7.30 with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank URLUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
5.7 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Property: Zafiro Tropic
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tan solo 200m de la preciosa playa del Puerto de Alcudia, y en pleno centro de su area comercial y de ocio, el Hotel-Apartamentos Viva Tropic dispone de una situacion que ofrece todas las garantias para la mejor estancia vacacional. Renovado en 2010, sus comodas y completas instalaciones son perfectas para unas vacaciones en familia: habitaciones amplias y elegantes, tres piscinas, una general, otra con juegos de agua y un Barco Pirata y, la mas exclusiva, una piscina chill out con camas balinesas, asi como un area de Spa con piscina cubierta, sauna, bano turco y jacuzzi, y una pista polideportiva. Ademas, el Hotel - Apartamentos Viva Tropic cuenta con el mas completo programa de animacion para todas las edades y las mas deliciosas propuestas gastronomicas en sus restaurantes: buffet, snacks y a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing