We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Really Liked It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Tropic & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Tropic & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Castlebar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I Really Liked It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place for families with kids . great food .The staff were just ok though but will return
next year hopefully. the kids club was good and the pirate pool a fab touch The area is very close to a long and sandt beach which is very safe with good amenaties

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank maryodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    358
    110
    37
    11
See reviews for
548
211
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked in for a 7 day stay self catering we were on the first floor above supermarket. When we went to bed we could hear a pumping noise every 30 seconds may have been something to do with the fridges. The next morning we asked to be moved they offered to move us to the room next door not really going to erase the problem so we had to put up with it for the week.
The location was good for access to the beach, shops and restaurants, but there wasn't much entertainment about, probably the time of year, we did find a bar around the corner Brunels Bar it served nice food and drinks reasonably priced with Sky Sports on every night. Entertainment in hotel was on each night for an hour but not the best acts. Everthing was shutting down during the week don't think we'll be going back the sametime again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddyBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just came back from Viva Tropic hotel and i must say what a fantastic hotel it is, we stayed in the Royal Terrace which was lovely. Our kids loved it, plenty of room for them to run around and it also had a jacuzzi which they loved. Food there was really nice and was decently priced. The staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Hotel had all amenities needed, shop was a bit over priced but we just went down to the local spar if we needed anything which was only 2mins down the road and much better priced. Entertainment was really good, the kids loved the disco. The splash pool was fantastic our 5 yr old son and 2 yr old daughter loved it, the pirate ship they thought was great. The only thing that I would say would improve this hotel would to have the pool heated as it is extremely cold other than that a really great hotel and a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you can get it, the Royal Terrace suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just back fromViva Tropic. Very family friendly hotel but also OK for couples. My husband and I went S/C and found lots of lovely places to eat nearby, especially loved the restaurants on the beach.
Hotel is very well looked after, rooms have everything you need, we upgraded to a garden room for 6 euros a night extra. We overlooked a park but best bit was our balcony had the sun from just after midday until sunset whereas street views only had early morning sun.
The matresses were very hard but we asked at reception and we then had matress toppers which made them much more comfortable.
Air con was a bit ineffective but in October it didnt really matter.
Lots of things for children to do there.
Adult pool was lovely, yes it is next to childrens pool but that didnt really matter as pool was lovely and quiet....that could be due to the fact it was so cold it was like stepping into an ice bath!!!
Overall a very good holiday and would definately go again, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Viva Tropic Hotel is in a very good location within a short walk of ample bars and restaurants (5-10 minutes walk from the main hub). It takes around 5 minutes to walk to the clean and well maintained beach.

Our room, on the fourth floor, consisted a view across the road and the surrounding hotels. You are offered an upgrade to a garden view for six euros, however we were personally happy with our balcony and we felt it provided more privacy than overlooking the garden. The rooms (except the top priced rooms) all have twin beds pushed together. There is a telephone, satellite television, air conditioning (which we felt did not work very well), a safety deposit box (at an additional charge) and good self-catering facilities (tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, two hob rings). The bathroom is bright, clean and modern with linen and towels being changed regularly.

We only ate lunch once in the pool bar, and in this case I really do feel that you get what you pay for. The food was cheap, however that was exactly how it tasted and I feel that we got much better food elsewhere in the surrounding restaurants. There are lots of restaurants and bars in Puerto Alcudia, in particular Bistro Mar. All the restaurants are very similar priced and we would suggest the area surrounding Bistro Mar as they tended to provide better food and service.

We did not really use the outdoor pools as they were generally freezing (probably owing to the fact that the weather was not overly fantastic while we were there) and the beach was just as nice. There is an over 18s only pool, but this is surrounded by a children’s play area, a sports area and a shooting range. There appeared ample sun loungers and parasols, a beach volleyball net in the garden and a very basic gym (a couple of running machines, cross trainers, a small selection of dumbbells and a very confusing and aging multi gym). There is a very cold indoor swimming pool, a sauna/steam room (sauna did not appear to work) and spa. However, don’t expect that you will get peace and quiet in the spa, steam room or pool as screaming children are allowed to enter freely despite a sign asking for silence (when I discussed this with a member of the reception team I was simply advised that it was a family hotel). There is bike hire available, however when we attempted to obtain bikes they were not available.

The hotel lobby is smart and stylish with a good lift service, and a 24-hour reception. The staff are in general friendly and are able to provide advice and maps of the local area. There is an onsite supermarket, however we would suggest going elsewhere as it appeared over priced in relation to the other local shops. Wifi is available but only in reception and is very slow.

The airport is approximately an hour from Palma and you can walk to Alcudia old town in about 20 minutes or take a taxi for approximately five euros.

Overall, a fairly decent hotel (I would more of a three than four star) and very suited to families. I would suggest if you are a couple that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Savvy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

When we arrived,we were very impressed with the Viva Tropic. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room was very well appointed with all we could need for a weeks SC. However the bathroom door was a sliding door affair and just slid across the doorway leaving a 10cm gap all around the door. Not very private and definitively not 4 star!
The entertainment seemed to be enjoyed by everyone.
I did not eat here but my wife did one night and she enjoyed her meal. Food was very nice and staff very attentive
What made me pick this hotel was the adult only pool. This looked like an oasis of bliss in the pictures. When we got there, although is was very nice, it was right next to the children's splash pool.Not very peaceful and again not 4 star.
We needed to use the internet while we were there and there was only pay-per use computers in the lobby(4 star?). Wi-Fi was painfully slow and when I asked about printing some documents I was told I had to convert them to pdf, e-mail them to the hotel and they would print them out...not acceptable in my view in 2012,again this is not 4 star.
So would we stay here again? I'm afraid not, which is a shame,because it is a nice hotel but was let down by a few simple things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely spot in Port d'Alcudia. Minutes from the beach and the Port. Plus easy walk to Old Town. The hotel was lovely. 3 nice outdoor pools plus one indoor, Spa, lovely grounds and walkways. We were travelling with a baby and the hotel was very family friendly. Pretty much everyone had kids, although it would have been fine for couples too as there is an adults only pool and plenty of ways to get away from the kids if you want to!

We had a Studio apartment. Bear in mind websites don't offer you the Studio if you include an infant in your booking, however the hotel allows it so just book 2 adults and email the hotel separately informing them you are bringing an infant. We took our own equipment but they do also have travel cots for hire and buggies/highchairs for extra cost.

Room was nice. All are twin beds pushed together. We were a bit worried as our baby often joins us in bed but they were sturdy and no risk of them coming apart in the middle. Not the most comfy beds I've ever slept in but fine. Lovely terrace to sit out on in the mornings and evenings.

Kitchenette area small but handy for a baby. We used the micro, fridge plus kettle and toaster in the morning. Plus there are wine glasses, bottle openers etc. Minor points - kettle stopped working and some electric points didn't work. However staff all friendly and helpful if there's a problem.

Wouldn't recommend all inclusive personally as lovely restaurants around. Also dinner finishes at 8.30!! Way too early! We only managed to eat there once, food was ok but not amazing. Buffet gets taken away by 8.30 so you have to be down by 8. No food available after this. Some nice Spanish places around. Try Bodega des Port - amazing Spanish and Majorcan food.

Also hire a car - cheaper than a taxi return to airport.

Room Tip: We had roadside which was fine. Had good sun in the morning. The pool view ground floor seemed overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoushV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Tropic & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Tropic & Spa

Property: Viva Tropic & Spa
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Tropic & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tan solo 200m de la preciosa playa del Puerto de Alcudia, y en pleno centro de su area comercial y de ocio, el Hotel-Apartamentos Viva Tropic dispone de una situacion que ofrece todas las garantias para la mejor estancia vacacional. Renovado en 2010, sus comodas y completas instalaciones son perfectas para unas vacaciones en familia: habitaciones amplias y elegantes, tres piscinas, una general, otra con juegos de agua y un Barco Pirata y, la mas exclusiva, una piscina chill out con camas balinesas, asi como un area de Spa con piscina cubierta, sauna, bano turco y jacuzzi, y una pista polideportiva. Ademas, el Hotel - Apartamentos Viva Tropic cuenta con el mas completo programa de animacion para todas las edades y las mas deliciosas propuestas gastronomicas en sus restaurantes: buffet, snacks y a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Viva Tropic & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Viva Tropic & Spa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing