We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a challenging course”
Review of Alcanada Golf Club

Alcanada Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed 18-hole golf course opened in 2003. Situated in the northern part of the mediterranean island of Mallorca, Alcanada is located right by the sea. The 6.499 meter long course blends naturally into the typical mallorcan terrain. The namegiving island with its lighthouse, just off the shore, can be seen from most of the holes. Apart from the splendid sea view, the players are surrounded by pine and olive groves. Even though a young course, Alcanada is already recognized by a number of well known golf magazines and golf guides as one of the finest courses in Spain and Europe.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Played at Alcanada in Sept 2013 and it is a challenging course. Overall well maintained but as mentioned before some of the greens were in poor condition. Location is excellent with stunning views particularly from the elevated tees looking out towards the sea. Not many flat fairways so you can play all your best shots from uphill/downhill/above feet/below feet whatever you like !! As well as elevated tees on some holes you are also playing to elevated greens as well so you certainly have the opportunity to hit all your shots(plus some you may not have played before! ) during the course of your round. Enjoyed sitting on the restaurant terrace after the round with a nice cold beer and lunch was excellent. Yes, a bit more expensive than most of the other courses (booked through SimplyMallorcaGolf.com it was 110 euros and 99 euros for the second round) but it was well worth playing. I should add that we had to change our tee time at short notice and SimplyMallorcaGolf managed this with no problem and no extra charges.

Thank jostcjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are working very close with SimplyMallorca so we try to be as flexible as posible with posible with changes!
Sorry to hear that you were not 100% happy with the greens. I can reasure you that now, the greens are back to normal (perfect) conditions and I only can asume that you played close to the dates we hollow cored the greens . We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Alcanada!

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

the golf course is fantastic an well maintained throughout. the course is in the valley between the mountains and the sea, so which ever way you look the views are breath taking

Thank hinto50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We hope that next time you visit you will have a chance to play the course!

Best regards from sunny Alcanada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

played this course 19 9 2013 yes the scenery was lovely the fairways good but i must say the greens was in awful condition & since we payed 111.00 euro's i would expect them to be in top condition played a course a day later was far better & nearly 30.00 euro's cheaper 14 of us played the Alcanada every single one of us said it was over priced for the condition it was in i've played municipal courses with better greens the groundsmen need to sort it out

Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Brian S.,

thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment about our golf course on Tripadvisor after playing on the 19th of September 2013. Rest assured that you commment is very important to us, so please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience you made when playing our course. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the condition of the greens! As we have hollow cored the greens just at the end of August/ beginning of September the greens were still very vulnarable and soft and especially for those players who teed off in the mid-day/ afternoon hours in the three weeks after the hollow coring, the green surface suffered more from play and foot prints then usual. Please contact me the next time you are planning to visit our course so we can try to make up for your unpleasant experience!

Kind regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you go to Mallorca and like playing golf, this course is an absolute must. It is in top condition except for a few spots on some of the greens and is located in a spectacular landscape, surrounded by water and mountains. Apparently it was established by the Porsche family in 2003 for 60 mill €...! Try it!

Thank Gustav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Gustav,

thank you very much for your kind words! Please spread the word! We are looking forward to seeing you again at Alcanada soon!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

An outstanding golf course on an unrivaled location with staff and facilities to match! Course was in great shape when we were there during an August heat wave. The views on many holes is outstanding so take a camera. The staff are very helpful and well trained. The restaurant is great by golf course standards. Of course all this does come at a cost...regardless I went back a second time!

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Paul,

thank you very much for your encouraging words! We hope to see you soon again at Alcanada!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcanada Golf Club also viewed

 
Capdepera, Majorca
 

Been to Alcanada Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing