We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A brilliant family holiday in August 2011 (better late than never)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A brilliant family holiday in August 2011 (better late than never)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel exceeded all expectations. The service was fantastic and The facilities were just right. The pool never got too busy and there was always enough loungers, evening entertainment was great too as was the food! The beach is one of the nicest I have been on and we didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. My children loved the hotel pool, and happy children means a happy mum. Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    122
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
220
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been holidaying in Alcudia for the last 8 years. We usually stay in the Viva Tropic, but thought having read the great reports on the Ivory Playa, that my wife, 13 year old son and 20 month old little boy, would give it a try.
Most of the reviews are very accurate, cleanliness, service and staff are excellent, why then did I not really take to these appartments?
Firstly the evening entertainment is awful, most of the shows are mimed and performed by the on site entertainment crew. The professional shows we seen were also really poor.
The location is also a big negative, only the proximity to the beach can be seen as a benefit. Reviews suggesting a "20 minute stroll to the port" or a 5 Euro taxi fare are way off the mark. The taxi fare was always a few cent under 7 Euro and took about 10 minutes, so to walk it in 20 along poorly maintained footpaths would be impossible.
I was also quite annoyed at having to pay 26 Euro for the use of a cot for the week, we'd booked a package holiday and to have this add-on, I felt was a bit out of order.
There is no doubt that the staff here are great, particularly the waiters and bar staff who ensured you never had to wait too long for a drink, the maid service was also excellent.
At the end of the day however, there are better places to stay in Alcudia. And I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Request or book poolview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank goonersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is located less than 100 meters from the nice and shallow beach of Alcudia. The hotel itself and the pool are well kept.
During our short stay of one week the staff was very friendly. Our room was spacious containing a small kitchenette and a clean bathroom with bathtub. Unfortunately the balcony was facing the local road. But since the room was equipped with air conditioning we kept the windows shut during the night.
The hotel was booked by a lot of families with small children so it seemed to be a safe place for the kids as well.
We just had breakfast which offered a good variety. Half board is available also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ideal hotel for a family holiday with young children. We booked after reading previous excellent reviews here and found every aspect of the hotel to be excellent. We went self catering which turned out to be a very good option with young children as after trying the buffet( which was good quality but about 70 euro with a round of soft drinks) I just found it easier to cook a simple meal in the evenings which everyone would eat rather than choosing plate after plate at the buffet and wasting it! There is an excellent euroski supermarket literally 2 mins walk across the road. Apartments are clean, modern, well equipped and air con good. No noise from road with patio doors shut. Entertainment team EXCELLENT. All highly motivated and friendly. All staff very friendly and helpful. Pool side restaurant is very good for lunch- we loved the icy air blowers! We will definately return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My second review, my previous visit was four years ago. Some improvements since most notably he quality of the evening entertainment. The facilities and locations well covered by previous posts, my review reflects my overall experience.

If you have a family with small kids, as I do, and don't want any nasty surprises on holiday then this is a great choice of hotel. The staff in the hotel from the receptionists down to the cleaners are über helpful. There are lots of nice touches which I assume have come from the hotel taking on feedback from guests. For example a popcorn machine at the bar and mini benches at the foot of the stage for the kids to sit on, cheap beach towel rental, sun loungers can't be hogged, free wifi, doctor visits twice a day.

One suggestion for improvement would be for the hotel to make more use of the Evoesport astro park they own across the road. There was a football tournment for adults and teens organised twice per week for 1.5 hours but forty or more turned up, it is a five a Side pitch so the game time for some players who got knocked was only ten mins. Some of the younger kids he been looking forward to football tournment as the highlight of their week. The pitch can be booked privately through the hotel for a nominal fee but it would be up to the guest then to round up the numbers.

Finally I would like to mention the team behind the kids club do an amazing job and are probably the main reason why the same people return year on year. I would single out Sophie who is the driving force behind much of the in house entertainment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulanerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just got back from a week in Ivory Playa. Everything was perfect. 100 meters to the beach, supermarket just on the other side of the road. Room was big enough, and kitchen had everything you need. The only downside for us was noise. There were a lot of children in this hotel, and every time a child would walk pass our room, he would cry. I mean every time, starting at 6.30 am and till midnight, all day long. So if you are not into crying children then you should probably consider another hotel. I know we will.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great value for money with everything you could need. We have two girls 5 and 2 and they loved every minute of the stay. The location is suitable if youve got kids( nice and quiet) and just a short taxi ride to the marina (6 Euros) where the atmosphere is electric. Beach is superb with turquoise waters and golden sand. We will definitely return. Highly recommended.Ps don't book bus transfer from Palma it will take almost 3 hours with all the stops. 80 euros in a taxi and you'll be there in 40 minutes

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2mules4sistersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#2 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Address: Ctra Port d'Alcudia - Arta 113, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#5 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Hotel
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing