We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my other half returned a week ago from the Platja D'or after a 2 week stay and had a great time.
The only real negative I have is that most of the people who stay here are age 50 upwards which I don't have a problem with but the hotel area in the day was a little quiet for me but will be ideal if you are after a bit of relaxation.
But I could not fault the hotel at all. Rooms really nice and super clean with clean towels everyday.
All staff do an absolutely fantastic job from the bar staff, reception, maids and in the restaurant area.
Food was very nice and always something to choose from. We are fussy eaters and we could usually find something everytime.
entertainment was pretty good with a few decent tribute acts, my particular favourite were the Beatles who were brilliant. James and Maria also do a great job as hosts and also do their own night singing and entertaining.
the best part of the holiday is the beach where we spent most of our days. What a beautiful beach it is. Also took trips to the old town in alcudia and puerto pollensa which are worth a visit.
overall a wonderful holiday. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    570
    252
    91
    35
See reviews for
130
1,050
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from an 11 day stay. Had a wonderful time and couldn't fault ANY aspect of our holiday! Kayleigh and Vicki were excellent reps, always ready to help if needed. ALL hotel staff - reception, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, poolside - were friendly and pleasant at all times. As for entertainment team - James and Maria were wonderful. Lots of daytime activities and quizzes. They provided great evening entertainment and brought in some excellent tribute acts - The Beatles were fab.
A wonderful choice of food and drink.
No problem with sunbeds. More could be brought out if needed - and plenty of space to put them.
Ages of guests ranged from late teens to late eighties, but it was never a problem. Everyone was very friendly.
Beautiful beach - go feed the fish!!
Many guests were on a subsequent visit - one couple were on their 16!!!
We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been here 5 times now and it is the most wonderful freindly hotel. The location is perfect right next to a beautiful beach and you can walk miles on the beach. The sand is white and clean and the water is shallow and warm.
You can walk into Alcudia along the beach it takes about 45 minutes or you can get a bus outside of the hotel.
The hotel itself is getting a bit dated now and could do with an upgrade but it is spotless and the staff are wonderful always smiling and helpful.
The food is average but dining room is never too full and there are never any queues. There is always something you can eat and usually a roast on the grill. Salads are a bit limited and so are vegetables . Deserts are poor but there is always cheese and biscuits at dinner.
You can help yourself to a bottle of wine at meal times or a soft drink or beer.
We had a lovely time and met old friends the weather was very hot. would definatly return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goldiecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I (23 and 21 years old) returned last week from a week's stay at the Platja d'or. We had absolutely no problem with the age of guests, everyone we spoke to was very friendly and just because the majority were older than us it made no difference (although there were a few other young couples staying at the same time as us). Food was lovely with lots of choice, I enjoy trying different things and the choice of paella one evening was excellent. Bar staff very quick, very friendly and lots of different drinks to choose from, apparently the beer is very good! Entertainment was better some nights than others (Beatles tribute was brill) but lots of people to talk to around the bar area instead and a stroll along the beach gets you to the main bars and restaurants if you fancy something different. Activities organised by James during the day by the pool although we were only around for these on one day (table tennis tournament got very serious). Our room was on the first floor facing the beach, although people say the best rooms are higher up we could still see the sea through the trees. Also have to say the location of hotel is great, literally across the road from the beach but tucked away down a quiet side road.
Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent England uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel. Cannot fault the reception given, the staff are very good and more than helpful. The hotel was lovely and clean and the food was excellent(but there is alot of it and plenty of choice)waste of time dieting.Only comment is that there could be some music while sitting at the pool and there is a difference in age.The highlight of our holiday was when we found a little bar down a side street "THE POSH PADDY". This is owned by Joseph and he is helped to run this by his sister Sara.They serve Guiness and Strongbow which made my fiance Col and our friend Pat more than happy. "GOOD LUCK JOSEPH" hope the bar does really well and thanks for such a good time.Overall they whole holiday was great. roll on the next one. Gill & Col and Deb & Pat. from Sittingbourne Kent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilliankentEnglanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishop
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

just come back from 2 weeks at this hotel one of the best ihave been to. food good hotel lovely and clean. bar staff very good; pedro is very fast and has a good sense of humour. reception are good at there job and remembered us as we have been there 6 times before. rafell in restaurant walks round to make sure everything is going to plan. hope to see you all next year.

Room Tip: rooms facing pool get sun in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BishopSuzywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My partner and I booked this holiday so that we could pay a surprise 'visit' to my sister and her husband on their second week in the hotel. Our first time all inclusive holiday and we were not disappointed. The hotel was spotless and the food was excellent. Rooms cleaned every day and all staff very polite and helpful. There was entertainment every night so something to look forward to. Ideal location - few minutes from a lovely beach. Shops quite near and bus tops just around the corner. Bar staff were amazing how quick they served. Nice pools but usual scenario of towels being put on beds and not being used for long intervals. Will definitely return. Hotel has a good idea of book swapping and also has a system that guests who are leaving can leave any unwanted items from sun tan creamst to umbrellas etc for the remaining guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel which faces out to the beach. We were on 4th floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smokeyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#10 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,484 reviews
22.1 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Property: Platja d'Or
Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing