We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticked lots of boxes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Ticked lots of boxes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 5 friends who stayed in a 2 bed apartment on the complex. It was ideal for us but had we known we would have tried to book a 3 bed one which would have been perfect. The apt does have everything. The location is fine a 15 minute walk to shops beach and some restaurants and bars. The beach is lovely clean and water clear. The best places ie more up market than the direct local area are Pollensa and Port de Pollensa, Cala San Vincent which we just got taxis to. Howard in the restaurant is helpful and the restaurant fine for snacks breakfast etc but we ate out by the ports and Pollensa mainly. I was worried about the previous couple of reviews re cats etc and so emailed the manager ahead of our stay. We saw one cat no mess and there were hardly any mosquitos and the lake is being dealt with but isn't as bad as the review made out! Our only gripe was we didn't get a roof terrace!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuziwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and recommending us to your fellow travellers! It is our goal to provide our guests with a great setting for them to enjoy their well deserved break and we know that friendly and welcoming atmosphere is key to ensure that each and every guest’s stay will be a memorable one. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant time here with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Helen Smith
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    127
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
179
89
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would recommend this place. Apartments are lovely. Staff are very pleasant and helpfull. The food and drink are reasonably priced and across the lake is a pleasant walk to the beach with plenty of shops and eating places. The beach is spotless with no stairs and the showers and toilets are very close by. My four year old grandson loved the place and the attention staff members gave him. We will definetely be back

Room Tip: We were in apt 452 facing the lake but also with a view of the pool.Any room would do though as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Returned last friday 14th June 2013 after a 2 week break at the Garden Lago with my wife, daughter and parents. Upon arrival was immediately offered a free upgrade to a 3 bed apartment on the 4th floor for the first week which we gladly accepted - had booked a 2 bed apartment through Interval International`s Getaway Programme. Chose to pay a bit extra to keep the 3-bed for the 2nd week but well worth it - apartment was home from home, very clean and spacious, large balcony, air conditioned and even 15 or so english tv channels - staff very friendly from the cleaners to reception and restaurant staff and Darren does a sterling job with entertainment.
Hired a car for the 2 weeks which i would recommend for those who tend not to want to lie in the sun by the pool all day - Port Pollensa and Port Alcudia have very nice beaches and the mountain road from Pollensa to Soller is well worth the drive - there is a tram which runs from Soller to Port Soller which is also worthwhile - the markets at Alcudia and Inca are also good half day outings.
Back to Garden Lago, there is a large supermarket right next door and a LIDL store half a mile or so away, so plenty of opportunity to buy food and drink if you wish.
The weather was fantastic for the entire fortnight, started off around 23 degrees for the first week and was touching 30 degrees when we left - a few clouds every now and then which is a welcome respite from the sun, but great to be able to sit outside until midnight on the balcony if you wish.
I have been on 5 getaways now through Interval and this was the best in terms of quality, value for money and overall enjoyment - will definitely be visiting Garden Lago again, possibly even later this year or next.
Just a slight concern for management to consider - The photos on the Interval website do not do this resort justice at all and would recommend that they are reviewed.

Room Tip: the supermarket side of the "L" shaped apartment design stay in the sun longer - i would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_wright123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

First I should point out that I have not stayed at this hotel, only visited but made some observations that I should share.

This Hotel is either owned by or is used by Diamond resorts, who I shall come to in a minute.

I have no doubt that the hotels' standard is similar to those in the area, however, it is situated a long long way from anything, the beach is about a mile away, so are most of the shops. It is a nice looking building from the front and has an impressive reception.

Now, there are three things to be cautious of:

1. The army of cats, who although are friendly, tend to leave an aroma of ammonia.
2. The mosquitoes, the hotel is situated next to a fairly large dirty lake which causes a thrice nightly sortie of the little blood suckers.
3. The Diamond Geezers, these are the sales hit squad who plague the hotel and resorts, if you encounter them, walk away and if they offer you a free holiday its useless.

If they show you around the hotel ask the see the ones on the ground floor and not the IKEA special on the top floor.

Room Tip: Go to the belle vue is you want cats and mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Den H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are sorry to note your concerns about Garden Lago, based on your recent visit to the resort. We must advise, however, that we receive very few complaints about the issues you have raised, and we’d like to reassure you that your concerns do not reflect the experiences of the majority of our guests.

We don’t believe that there’s a need for high-pressure sales tactics, and we’re sorry if your visit to the resort was marred by any interaction with our representatives. Please be assured that it’s not obligatory for guests to attend any presentations unless they are staying on a promotional break.

We really hope that you’ll choose to stay with us if you return to Mallorca, and we feel sure that if you do stay here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations!

Kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just come back from a week at Garden Lago staying in a 2 bed apartment with our 16 month old baby and 4 year old. It was spotlessly clean, and brilliantly equipped - proper cooking knives, electric orange juicer, real coffee maker, tupper ware for picnics, and friendly helpful staff. But there is a real problem with cat mess around the pool. We noticed the smell on our first day and on closer inspection of the flower beds could spot it in the soil. It was even on the grass by the pool and had to be dug out by the lifeguard after lots of discussion and half hearted scraping. I spotted the resident cat peeing under the sun beds which explains why patches of grass were yellow and the smell. Our children were running/crawling around - it's unhygienic at the very least and incredibly unrelaxing to be scanning the ground constantly. The lake behind the hotel could be nice to walk around but seems to be the toilet area for all the local dogs. The hotel should re-house the cat, check the gardens/pool area every morning as routine, and lobby the local council to put dog poo bins around the lake. I understand it may be culturally different but I think most english people find pet poo everywhere pretty disgusting!

Room Tip: request a new room as high up as possible - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction caused by traces of animal activity on the premises. We can assure you that there is no 'resident cat' at the resort and animals you may have spotted are either stray or coming from other homes. Unfortunately, many of our guests appear to be under an impression that the cats need looking after and in turn they frequent the site knowing that residents will feed them. We of course try and discourage our guests from leaving food for the animals, unfortunately, we are not always successful.
With regards to the area outside the resort’s boundaries, we would like to take this opportunity to advise that we in contact with the local council about this issue and hope that cleaning after pets will be enforced by the local authorities more effectively in the future.
Nevertheless we are terribly sorry for any inconvenience caused, we hope that this has not marred what appears to have been an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you at Garden Lago in the future.

Helen Smith
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I would never stay at this time of year again. We had 2 days of sun, 3 of cool temperatures and cloud and 2 of rain and thunder! But that's not their fault'

We rented an apartment and also emailed ahead for a roof terrace but didn't get one. I believe they keep these for their exchange guests. The apartment we were given was very good, spacious and clean and like all the other apartments overlooked the pool. We ate in the restaurant a few times for lunch and dinner and the standard and price were very good. Be sure to try the chefs lasagne. All in all it was a good break, despite the weather and if I went back I would definately go in early June for the weather.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katielaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are glad you had an enjoyable time here with us at Garden Lago and that you were satisfied with the quality of the apartment you have stayed at. We are very sorry, however, that the weather was not as good as you would have wished it to be. We hope this will not be the case next time you decide to visit us!

Helen Smith
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend visited here after spending out last holiday in January at one of Diamond resorts Tenerife destinations. It was awesome and Garden Lago didn't disappoint.

We were lucky enough to be looking at Booking this, then actually found it on groupon, dirt cheap. I was very happy with our apartment. I was hoping for a roof terrace but unfortunately didn't get one, despite emailing ahead almost a month in advance.

The only thing that dampened the holiday was the weather, which only Mother Nature can be responsible for. Come the 1st of may tho and the sun came out for the remaining 3-4 days.

I would look to return but only after the 1st may! Definitely!

All staff were extremely happy to help - even with us enquiring about a Chinese takeaway! Which we got twice! Ha. Very nice and quick!

I've stayed in very good hotels and this didn't disappoint. Not the best in the world, granted. But, very good!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PlonkDePlonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#11 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viva Tropic & Spa
Viva Tropic & Spa
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Lago

Property: Garden Lago
Address: Calle Amsterdam, 3 | Urb. Lago Menor, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto de Alcudia's stretch of pale sand extends as far as the eye can see and is just one of the many attractions that awaits guests that stay at Garden Lago. One of the most attractive holidayspots in Majorca, Puerto de Alcudia has something for everyone, from the waterpark and go-kart center for children, to quiet spots for couples eager to get away from it all. A cosmopolitan atmosphere exists where you’ll find clusters of shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs surrounding the port, central crossroads and old town. There are many holiday destinations in the world, but few are as exciting as Puerto de Alcudia, and none with a resort quite like Garden Lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Garden Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Lago Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Garden Lago Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing