We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Ona Garden Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ona Garden Lago
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent a wonderfull time at the hotel 13.03.2013-18.03.2013.
The staff is very friendly, and helpfull.
The apartments fully equipped, and clean, a lot of facilites at the hotel.
A lot of free parkingspace around the hotel.
Only one thing wouldn't like it, the wifi is very-very expensive.
We would like to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bettina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Ona Garden Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 383 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is our second visit to Garden lago and we will definitely go again.The hotel was very quiet in the middle of March and this part of Port Alcudia was also very quiet with the majority of bars and restaurants closed until Easter. The area nearer to the actual Port was better.Our two bed room was first class and very spacious.All of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean.We ate at the restaurant one night but as it was low season there wasn't a full menu available only a set 3 course menu with about 4-5 choices of starter, main and desert for about 12 euro. The food was good value for money and very filling. The restaurant was very quiet but so was every where else we tried. All in all a good hotel which we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just spent a lovely week in Garden Lago. This is our first visit but not sure we will return. The accommodation is wonderful and staff were helpful as usual but the lack of amenities at this time of year is a drawback. There are no buses and none of the local bars or restaurants are open. The on site restaurant opens between 5 pm and 11 pm but only has a two choice menu and chef was not interested in finding out what we might like so place was empty most of the time. There is a 15-20 min walk before there is anywhere open for food and another 15- 20 minute walk to get to the port and even then there were few places open. True there is a supermarket, bakery and fruit shop within a 2 min walk but I did not come on holiday to cook for myself. Fortunately the weather was very kind and at the beginning of the week when it was cooler we were able to walk around and explore and then the sun came out and we made good use of balcony and private sun terrace. We travel at this time of year as I don't like hot weather and compared to the other places we have stayed the lack of facilities on site and in the surrounding area were a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Any room in any position would be acceptable
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MUFC3499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We would like to note that the restaurant is indeed privately owned and unfortunately the resort has little influence on its running. We apologise if you have experienced any disappointment due to this.
With regards to the amenities available, these are seasonal and to avoid dissatisfaction we would always advise that our guests contact us prior to arrival to make enquiries. We would like to refer you to the Smart Alerts advising that the facilities opening times vary throughout the year, nevertheless we of course apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We would like to assure you that we strive to provide our guests with a great experience and we regret to hear that you may have been disappointed on this occasion. It appears however that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and found your apartment comfortable and well appointed. We sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The apartments are owned by Diamond Resorts International and we stayed there as members of the Club.
We had an email before we arrived with information and requesting anything we need for the stay. I had replied and this was all ready for us on our arrival.
We had a two bedroom apartment, which had everything we needed including a dish washer and washing machine. The lounge looked out over the swimming pool and across, the lake to the mountains in the background.
There is a supermarket and excellent greengrocer less than 5 minutes way. The beach is about a 15 minute walk and the port area slightly longer but it does make it less noisy and is not overlooked by large hotel complexes.
We always consider a car is essential where ever we go as you can miss so much of the area if you are not able to get to the remote corners. Places like the lighthouse at Formentor or the road over the mountains to Soller. We even came across the weekly market at Sineu, which showed the locals selling their goods including livestock.
The four members of staff at reception were always cheerful and nothing was ever too much bother for them. We even met Helen the manager, who always had time to stop and speak to you.
As for Darren, the entertainments manager, he was excellent. He took us on one walk to the market at Alcudia, pointing out various things on the way there.
We only went to the restaurant once as we were self catering and the meal was excellent. As this is the quiet season, the menu is slightly limited but we had requested Paella the day before and this was our main course and was very good. During the evening there was entertainment provide by Darren with about an hour of laughter, which was good clean fun of jokes and magic.
The weather could have been better during the first week but you cannot blame the staff for that. We had an excellent fortnight at the apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the island

Room Tip: Possibly the upper floors if available
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had booked in for a four night stay at the Garden Lago as a one bedroomed apartment. On arrival I was allocated a two bedroom apartment which was smashing! Drink making facilities were at hand for my arrival which was most appreciated.

It was excellent value for money and the resort has many amenities for guest use. Staff were friendly and welcoming right from the beginning of my booking and throughout my stay - they were always happy to help.

Made my first stay in Mallorca a pleasant one, as I wanted a more secluded spot from which to explore the island. Slightly out of the way for connections to public transport - but that was no problem for me (about a 15 min walk to the bus stop). The general area around the apartments was a bit run down looking, however as it was winter a lot of the shops/restaurants etc were being done up in preparation for the summer season. Around the back of Garden Lago is Avenguida Tucan, where you will find Euroski supermarket, Alcudia fruits (and veg shop) and cafes/bars... here and towards the port you will find a lot more going on.

I would recommend the Garden Lago to anyone travelling on a budget/wanting a home from home along with extra amenities and a great base from which to explore the beautiful island of Mallorca!

Room Tip: I had a great room overlooking the pool/restaurant area. no problem with noise at all - although it...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SoloTrav234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have actually stayed here four times now over the last two years and enjoyed my stay every-time. The apartments offer very good value for money with all the home comforts contained within each apartment. My stay was a four day break from dates: 1st - 5th February 2013.

All the staff are friendly and very helpful from first contact with the reception staff which is important and tends to set the tone for the hotel. My first contact at reception was with Teresa who was wonderful....Many thanks Teresa.

I would recommend the cake shop just around the corner from the complex....so yummy and cheap! Plus the medium sized Eroski supermarket is also within a two minute walk and is well stocked and cheaper than the Spar shops.

Puerto Alcudia is around a 15-20 minutes walk but the actual walk itself is rewarding and pleasant walking along the canal pathways etc.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Garden Lago....I can't see how you could go wrong!

Derek B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank throughyoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased to read that you enjoy staying at Garden Lago, and we feel sure that the recommendations you’ve given will be much appreciated by other travellers. We hope you’ll choose to come back here for a fifth visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This older timeshare resort outside Port Alcudia is a decent place to stay. We had a 2-bedroom apt with all the amenities.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

The only thing I did not like are the outrageous costs of internet - 5 Euros for 20min - that is a record! You would think free WLAN is standard these days?!

Anyway, good place to stay and I would go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Garden Lago - thank you for your review. We would like to take this opportunity and advise that the Internet cost has been set up by our Internet provider and unfortunately we do not have any influence on it. We would like to assure you that we do not benefit from this charge in any way and we trust this has not marred your future dealings with us-we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.5 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#15 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
#13 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,413 reviews
2.0 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Garden Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Garden Lago

Address: Calle Amsterdam, 3 | Urb. Lago Menor, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: $52 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Garden Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto de Alcudia's stretch of pale sand extends as far as the eye can see and is just one of the many attractions that awaits guests that stay at Garden Lago. One of the most attractive holidayspots in Majorca, Puerto de Alcudia has something for everyone, from the waterpark and go-kart center for children, to quiet spots for couples eager to get away from it all. A cosmopolitan atmosphere exists where you’ll find clusters of shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs surrounding the port, central crossroads and old town. There are many holiday destinations in the world, but few are as exciting as Puerto de Alcudia, and none with a resort quite like Garden Lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Garden Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Lago Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Ona Garden Lago Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing