We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aparthotel Ona Aucanada(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grupotel Maritimo(Port d'Alcudia)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eix Alcudia Hotel(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
187
164
60
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
164
60
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond resortswashing machineutility roomtop floorroof terraceminute walklarge supermarketwake parkfull kitchengreat apartmentold townmaster bedroomfridge freezerpool areamain bedroombars and restaurantsbig balcony
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 438 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our second trip to Mallorca and we spent the first 2 weeks at Garden Lago in Alcudia. The facilities at the hotel are excellent. The units are beautiful and spacious. We stayed the first week on the 2nd floor in a 2 br apartment and the 2nd week on the 4th floor also in a 2 br apartment.
The apartments where a bit different from eachother. The first was a bit smaller but spacious never the less, with at bit smaller balcony. The second one was a bit bigger with a huge balcony.
You do need a car to get around. Although am not sure that the busses and taxis wouldn't work too, did not try them since we had a car for the whole stay. One of the best things in the area is that there is a big mercado just on the other side of the hotel.
The hotel is about 15 min by foot from the magnificent beach of Alcudia. And the beach is miles long. Services are good. For those who want to do different kind of water sports the beach is the place.
Since I was travelling without my spouse this time I did not go out in the evenings but there are a lot of different kind of restaurants both close to the beach and a bit off. I like to cook and the apartments kitchen was so well equiped that we had dinner on our balcony almost every night.
I warmly recomend the Garden Lago to everyone and we will definitely go back the next time we go to Mallorca.

Room Tip: All units have a splendid view to the "lake" outside the hotel, so any unit is ok (well except the ground floor). Top floor is best ofcourse.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dolly1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Garden Lago is a slightly isolated property but it's actually nicer that way depending on your point of view. It's about a 20 minute stroll to main restaurants/beach/port, less than 5 minutes in the car. We stayed in the last week of October. The area, Alcudia, had a much more relaxed feel than other similar 'beach resorts' in Spain that we've been too which was very pleasant.
We stayed in a 3 bed apartment that was massive, all mod cons, good bedroom sizes. Our balcony got sun virtually all day, the 2 beds looked like they would be better for morning/early afternoon sun. The only 'issue' (although not really) was the kitchen was proportionately small. Really only 1/2 people could occupy at once.
Pool was a reasonable size, with a decent size kiddie area too. Not heated. As you'd expect warm enough to swim in but you wouldn't dawdle around.
We ate at the restaurant once, pretty good quality/value. Had the fish which was fresh.
Gym very small, cardio ok, weights very basic. Sauna didn't appear to be on/work?
Nice little library/seating area on the 2nd floor which was very peaceful.
Small kids playground which was good to while away 20 minutes or so with our 3y.o.
There is a good sized supermarket literally 2 minutes walk away (but not intrusive) which was great for fresh bread/fruit etc.
The back of the complex is dominated by a massive lake which has a wake park (think the water equivalent of snow boarding). Quite entertaining to watch on occasion. I've seen some bad reviews re mosquitoes - well, it's a lake??? Also quite nice to wander around but obviously at dusk use repellent.
Staff were all helpful and friendly as well.
Car recommended if you don't want to stay at the resort - other travel options limited.
I'd recommend this place if you're looking for a relatively peaceful break with the odd excursion into town. Not really for the 18-30 crowd.
Alcudia beach is a nice strip of whit(ish) sand set in a bay - very calm waters and shallow for a good 20+ metres out. The safest sea i have seen for young children, and tourquise in colour which is lovely too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Superdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments and the multitude of useful information you have provided for your fellow travellers! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Garden Lago. It is great to know that facilities available on site and in the proximity of the resort have met your expectations and that you would recommend us to your friends. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a great weeks stay at Garden Lago back in May. We needed a little bit of sunshine and found this great deal online.
When we arrived we were actually quite amazed with what we had booked - so much space!
2 great large bedrooms (one with private balcony) even though it was just hubby and I; ample sized kitchen and everything you need to cook up a meal and a relaxing and comfortable living area.
Spent a lot of time by the pool - be quick to catch the sun beds!
A nice 10 minute stroll to the shops but there is a very handy supermarket close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you walk or grab a cab to the Old Town - we left it until the last day and wish we had ventured up there earlier for a meal in the evening.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable break here at Garden Lago and enjoyed the spacious, well equipped apartment you stayed in. It is very important to us to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere and we are pleased to learn that we have been successful. We hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at Garden Lago and it was relaxation from start to finish. We had a lovely 2 bed appt with utility room which contained washing machine and drying area within, great not to need to hang your washing to dry in the sun so it remained soft and fresh.(sad to be impressed by this on holiday or what?) Appt furniture although clean,starting to look a bit tired now but I'm sure it will already be scheduled in by Diamond for a refurb in the near future as they normally have a rolling refurb programme. Initially had hoped for a 6th floor appt with roof top terrace, but on speaking to other guests who advised us these appts had no shelter on balcony from sun or the couple of hours we had heavy rain, so in the end decided we were happy with what we had. Pool area immaculate, didn't find out the Lifeguard's name, but he certainly took pride in ensuring his loungers were evenly spaced and the backs all at the same height at the end of each day. A word of warning, the pool and jacuzzi are unheated, so a bit of a shock to everyone who ventured in, I satisfied myself by dipping a toe in. Loungers are set on grass around the pool and are not too close together. Garden Lago was very quiet when we were there, so you could get a lounger at any time of the day, so great not to have to be up at the crack of dawn. The onsite restaurant was excellent and prices on a par with the other surrounding restaurants. Excellent service in the restaurant from Enrique the Manager, Charles and I think the girl's name was Nadia. Loved to sit outside on the leather sofa's in the evening for a drink, they even provide fleecy blankets to put over you should you feel a bit cool. It's about a 30 minute walk into the Port, but there are shops and bars all the way although a lot of these are closing for the winter now. Darren the entertainer does a couple of good sangria making demonstrations (white and red) as well as showing you how to make a Spanish omelette. Watch out for the fetching dress he wears on these occasions! To be honest we only used reception for checking in and checking out and the service was friendly and efficient but lots of other people told us how helpful the reception team were. Nearly forgot, do not be put off when you arrive and see the fire station and local refuse lorry depot opposite, your holiday will not be affected by these and your balcony does not face directly onto that street. The Eroski supermarket is about a 2 min walk and the prices are great. Darren also recommended supporting the local community by using the local fruit shop which is a couple of doors down from the supermarket, the fruit and veg are fab and cheap. He also recommended the local bakery Lluna, which has freshly baked croissants, bread, pastries, cakes etc daily with unbelievably good prices. As we were only there for a week we just chilled by the pool, if there for longer, would have ventured further, buses running to the Port, Old Town, Palma, C'an Picafort etc regularly, about a 10 min walk to catch the bus. Costs about 5-6 euro for a taxi to the Port. Helen the Resort Manager has a meet and greet day, again this is a first for us as we have stayed in many Diamond Resorts and never witnessed this. The cleaning staff leave a lovely packet of biscuits tied with a ribbon as a nice gesture in your room on your last evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MysteryShopper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We’re really glad to read that you had a great time at Garden Lago – thank you for this detailed review! We have a constant programme of refurbishment at the resort, and we feel sure that you’ll appreciate the changes on your next visit.

All our staff strive to provide an excellent standard of service to our guests, and we’re delighted that your holiday here was an amazing and memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Resort Manager
Helen Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I think Garden Lago is like the surrounding area - generally good, but looking a bit tired. The room on the 5th floor was spacious and well equipped, but the main furnishings were probably about 10 years old. Satillite TV and iPod dock were welcome touches, but the broadband caused us an issue. It was available for a 23 euro fee - a bit pricey in itself, but the code only covered one appliance - we therefore had to rely on the free offerings in restaurants to avoid a huge cost.
The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced
The resort was a bit 'lively' for our tastes, but a short drive to the old town provided nice squares, a harour, and more a refined eating experience.
The old town also offered a huge weekly market if you want a break from the beach

Room Tip: Anything other than the ground floor should be fine
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ona Garden Lago, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to read your comments regarding your apartment at Garden Lago, however we are sorry to learn that you found the furnishings slightly disappointing. We would like to take this opportunity to mention that all apartments are scheduled for refurbishment and we hope to be able to update most of the apartments before the end of 2014.
As for the free internet access, in order to remain competitive we unfortunately continuously monitor the cost of running the resort and unfortunately at the moment it is not possible for us to incorporate the Wi-Fi charges into our outlay towards the resort operations. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
It comes as a surprise, however, that you have found our resort too lively as we often hear comments suggesting the resort would benefit from more night time entertainment.
Nevertheless, it appears you have had an all-round pleasant experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews