We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite restaurant of all”
Review of Jardin

Jardin
Ranked #25 of 216 Restaurants in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $120
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Los platos de alta cocina creados por Macarena de Castro, cocinera y propietaria del local, son un disfrute. Permanecen fieles a la cocina tradicional de Mallorca. Recupera productos agrícolas casi abandonados, especies de peces mediterráneos infravalorados y piezas cárnicas gustosísimas, olvidadas en la ajetreada vida global. Macarena presenta un menú quincenal, sumamente equilibrado según los más expertos, compuesto de tres aperitivos, tres entrantes, un pescado, una carne, un pre-postre, quesos y un postre, siempre delicioso.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“my favourite restaurant of all”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband took me for the last night of our holiday last week. Having eaten here a couple of years ago, we were very much hoping nothing had changed. We were very pleasantly suprised to see a new Bistro style menu where we ate the last time, all looks fab, just sorry we didnt know they had done this before we went. We went for the tasting menu, now seated upstairs. I love the atmosphere, decor, everything about this restaurant. The tasting menu has 11 courses, all simply melt in the mouth. Dont have much to eat during the day if you are going for this menu.We had scrambled eggs with mushrooms, pumpkin soup and fried aubergines servered at the same time, followed by greenfinch, sea cucumber, mhai mhai, pigeon,apples - apple sorbet, with different apples around it, , cheese, and much more. I cant rate this highly enough. The service was outstanding though out. The olive and rustic breads were beautiful. the pate we were servered also, not part of hte menu, but no extra charge was devine. We went with a local white wine, cant remember the name, but it was in a blue bottle.
The chef came out to meet us after the meal, which we both thought was a lovely touch.
The tasting menu was €70 pp, with the only extrats being wine and water. I think for what we got, and the quality of the food, service and overall setting, this is well worth it.
I cant wait to return again, this is a little gem.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wexbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    61
    17
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever !!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This, put simply, is the best meal out I've ever sampled!!!!

The food was plentiful and very impressive. The restaurant was quite quiet when we ate (close to the end of season) but speaking to the very helpful staff they state bookings are a must during the high season (but you can do this from there website before you go!!)

The setting is very impressive, as though your a world away from all the stereotypical bars that serve the usual burgers n pizzas!! Perfect setting for a special occasion meal!

The price for such a good meal was very reasonable, you'd certainly struggle to eat this well in this country for what we paid, worth every penny!!!!

Alot of the other reviews on here state that any visit to Alcudia must include a visit here, I couldn't agree more! We've even decided that if we stayed in another part of the island it would be more then worth a taxi ride just to come and eat here again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant on the island!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a restaurant not to be missed! People who love serious food, must give this restaurant a try. You will not be disapointed. Macarena and her team constantly work hard to make mouth watering dishes. A friendly welcome and excellent service. Both Bistro and the upstairs A' la carte restaurants were fantastic.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHEATOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The first time we went to this restaurant, we knew it was going to be one of our favourites. Not only for its delicius food and excelent wine selection, but also for its wonderfull ambient, its lovely garden and its absolutely professional staff. Dani and Macarena dont miss any detail or special queries; they do everything to make your dinner unforgettable.
We were so satisfyed with this restaurant, that we decided to get married there about 3 years ago, as they also do catering for weddings. And it was such a success!!! All our guests were amazed with the elegance of the restaurant and the high quality of its dishes . Absolutely exquisite!!! Thank to "jardin" , we had a marvellous wedding!!!! And at least once a year , we fly to Mallorca and have a special dinner there, enjoying the "menu de degustacion", the tasting menu, with some fine wine in a classy ambient.

We really recomend "el jardin" !! Its deffinitely one of the best restaurants in Mallorca. You will not get dissappointed!!! Enjoy it!!

Hanna & Juanse

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“If near Alcudia, you MUST go to El Jardin!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I went to El Jardin with my husband in August 2011; it was our date night during a family holiday. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant - we really enjoyed the calamaris and potatoes to start and the seafood lasagne and handcut steak tartare for mains...we were too full for dessert! :-) Definitely go - and enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViviDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin also viewed

Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 

Been to Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing