We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Son Mas Hotel Rural
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Porto Cristo
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife found this hotel, quite by chance, as it not well advertised or promoted here in the UK. Our experience of the Son Mas started a little while before we even traveled. Our flight was due in to Palma airport quite late and we were concerned that we would be tired but hungry when we arrived. Having contacted them by email to inform them that we would be arriving late, they responded by telling us that there would be a cold meal and refreshments ready for us, whenever we arrived. Following an interesting car journey (it really is rural), once we landed, we eventually arrived at about 12.30 am and guess what - a sumptuous cold meal was served, together with an ice cold bottle of local Majorcan white wine in our room, which was huge by the way!
Things just got better and better. The room was huge and the bed was comfortable and so big that we almost felt we needed telephones to talk to each other. There was a large sofa, coffee table, desk, fridge (which worked), loads of hanging space, plenty of coathangers,TV and a bathroom to die for, with seperate shower, toilet and very large bath. On opening the set of French Windows, we discovered a beautiful rooftop terrace, totaly private and big enough to have 2 chairs, table, 2 sunloungers and still room enough to have a party. The sun hit the terrace from first thing in the morning untill about 17.00.
Breakfast was a real pleasure, especially as it was served until 11.00. On one morning we didnt come down until about 10.45 and the food condition and quantity was just as good as it had been when on other days we had eaten at 09.00. We were able to take our pick from any table, either on the delightful terrace, the sheltered area, under the olive trees or right in the sun - amazing!
Our next stop was the swimming pool, which for most of the week we were there, felt like our own private pool. This is a very big infinity style pool, with great views over the surrounding countryisde (no other houses or signs of civilisation in sight and beautifully designed semi private areas for sunbathing and generally lying around doing nothing. Towels were continually replaced and there were clean and pleasant toilet facilities, with an honour fridge for cold drinks and beers (ice and fresh lemon always available). On the couple of days we decided to leave our haven for the beach (no more than 5 minutes drive away), the hotel were more than happy for us to take pool towels etc.
Lunch was always available. Simple fare, salads, omlettes, pasta etc and very reasonably priced. Dinner was a strange one for us. We were given a menu at breakfast and asked to choose what we wanted for later, if we were going to eat at the hotel (Porto Cristo and Porto Columb both only a few minutes drive away fro a great selection of restaurants). So on the second night we decided to give it a try. We were told that we could go down to dinner any time up until 22.30, again we had the choice of any table and the food and service was brilliant. The price was not too bad either. It was so good we ate there on 3 more evenings.
There are only 16 rooms at the hotel, but you would never really know that there was anyone else in the hotel, it is so quiet. The staff are absolutely brilliant, always there but never seen. There is no bar, but wherever you sit, someone will come and find you and ask if you would like a drink etc.
In our opinion, this is NOT a hotel for children and it is not somewhere where you will be constantly hassled or have staff hovering, it is a quiet luxurious retreat, for relaxing. Take a book and catch up on all your reading!
This probably sounds like an advert for the Son Mas - I can assure you it is not! We have stayed in many places, and this is right up there with the best. It is not cheap, but we thought it was great value for money.
The only thing that irritated us was that the TV only had 1 UK channel (BBC World) and about 20 German channels. When we asked why this was, we were told that basically only German nationals used the hotel and for some reason we were one of the very few British couples to have booked!
Much as I hate to say it, as I would love to keep this gem to myself, all you Brits looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday in luxury are really missing a trick by not giving it a go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband booked us in for three nights at the hotel Son Mas, it was just after children returned to schools in September and we hoped and found a nearly child free venue. The hotel is a real find, the buildings and layout of the hotel are well thought out, landscaped with guest privacy in mind and easy wheelchair access to the main rooms should it be required. (I cannot comment on the bedrooms as ours was on the upper floor.) The Pool was divine, long enough to swim for exercise. The loungers arranged with informal planting to give individual booth type space for guests and providing shady and sunny areas for relaxation, with calming and restful views across countryside to the Mallorca hills.

The reception rooms were well presented and there were many areas with comfortable sofas in which to sit and relax. The art and use of garden flora to decorate these rooms contributed to the overall serene ambience of the experience

The bedroom suite was superb, plain but beautifully furnished. White walls, cream stone floors and wooden window shutters. The bed was 7 foot wide dressed with high quality bed linen. The bathroom facilities were generously stocked with everything a guest could require. My only comment would be that the hotel welcome letter and explanations were in German, it would have been thoughtful to provide English guests with instructions in English.

Dinner was interesting, It was wise to book early in the day and select from a choice of two options for starter and main course and a set pudding or ice cream. No vegetarian option. The food was freshly cooked and of a high standard. The weather was hot and so we ate al fresco in the beautiful tranquillity of the garden, the tables were widely spaced apart to allow private dining, the night lighting subtle and romantic. The breakfast buffet opened until 11.00 and provided an abundance of choice of high quality produce and hot foot would be prepared to order.

I have read other reviews of this hotel and agree that the staff are helpful and discreet. If you like a lot of staff servicing your needs then this hotel is not for you. There is no pool service, there is a self service bar by the pool. Often we had to search for a member of the staff, but once found they were helpful and pleasant. For us this was not a problem, we needed to get away from everything and everyone and slow down, we were not rushed or fussed over through dinner, our room was cleaned but we did not ever bump into the cleaners. This lack of noticeable staff gave us the feeling the hotel was ours for the short time we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Talentedtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Son Mas in August and cannot praise the hotel enough for its perfection and kindness of staff! The hotel is immaculate, the grounds are beautifully kept, the pool is one of the best I have ever seen, the breakfast is absolutely delightful and so is the service! Staying at Son Mas really guarantees you peace, tranquility, friendliness and beauty - everything that one can expect from a great vacation! The rooms are fantastic, with amazing bathroom and shower, beautiful terrace, great amenities and absolute peace and tranquility. The service is great as well - many thanks to Ima and the staff for all their help, restaurant suggestions and for taking care of us! We would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a great, elegant, peaceful and beautiful place for a Mallorca vacation. We hope to return as soon as circumstances permit and look forward to another great holiday at Son Mas, which is truly one of the best places to stay at this wonderful island!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kvg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

our friends on Mallorca suggested the Son Mas to which we had a truly relaxing time and will be planning to go back before the end of the year.
The entire staff were friendly and welcoming, extending our room check out time was no problem, i guess there was no one checking in to our room, but I felt they would have made it work anyway. And why would you want to leave Son Mas early. Our room was the main circular tower, built in 1765, set out over 3 cosy levels with a small roof terrace over looking the property. food in the evening was of local cuisine of slow roasted pork, huge servings, with local desert, breakfast was buffet style again with a large selection.

The is pool, a super large infinity pool located a short walk down through the orange and olive grove, with an honor bar located, you could spend all day there drifting off to sleep or staring endlessly over the grove of trees.... will be be back, yes..

Room Tip: a bit tricky to locate of the road but persist w.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forward_cabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

The Son Mas would receive five points from me as far as infrastructure is concerned. The whole place is beautiful, the rooms (all junior suites) are large, with large bathrooms, king-sized beds, nice individual terraces in front of each room with reclinig chairs and comfy chairs; great infinity pool looking over a grove of fig- and olivetrees. The restaurant is situated in a romantic inner courtyard and there are also roomy lounges indoors and a terrace at the front. It is surrounded by orchards and fields, very tranquil.

All this generosity with room and atmosphere make it doubly annoying that they economized on staff and therefore, though the staff is giving its best they do not manage more than B&B level service. You have to wait long at mealtimes and go searching for somebody in the kitchen if you want anything between breakfast (very good buffet) and dinner (fixed 3-course dinner). No active service at the pool or elsewhere. The attitude towards service was demonstrated by the receptionist, who answered to our feed-back about the service being somewhat disappointing in our opinion that "this is not so". A place where a problem is simply not acknowledged by the management leaves little room for improvement.

Dinner is nice and especially so is the nice setting (and you can drink because nobody has to drive). The quality/price ratio is Ok but better can be obtained in Porto Colomb (try Sa Llotja at the harbor, they have marvelous food and wine and a nice terrace above ground and thus away from the passing traffic, but you have to make a reservation a day in advance +34 (0) 971 825 165), thus we went out for dinner most of the time, receiving better value and service in the town. Think twice about dining at the nearby finca Son Amoixa Vel, they have a great menu and do superb food, but the kitchen takes lots of time and we had to wait an hour for the starter and another for the entree.

As for the question "tranquility for adults or activity for children" - this unfortunately is an unsolved problem. The hotel per se offers little for children, nevertheless there were several families with small children who stayed also during the day and thus the children made considerable noise most of the day and also clogged the pool with rubber animals and boats (and also blocked the free internet station). There were some confrontations between the two groups of guests and a British couple seriously considered to leave.

We generally enjoyed our stay, especially due to the infrastructure and the option of retreating unto our own terraces and to the surrounding restaurants. But we would probably not come back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank kattinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Son Mas Hotel was everything we had hoped for, being in need of relaxation. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxed, the room (try and get the watch tower) perfect.

Facilities were comprehensive, and dining at the hotel was the best meal we had during our four day stay.

With Porto Cristo just down the road it was convenient for some beach exposure, but we found the best place to go was Cala Varques beach if you dont mind a 10 minute walk from the road.


We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I have stayed in this fantastic hotel 3 times. However, this last time in July 2007, was most disappointing. We have always enjoyed thsi hotel because of the tranquility and peace. On this occasion, at breakfast there were several families with very young and noisy children. At the pool there were lots of noisy children and the same at dinner. We would only go to this hotel again if we were assured that the peace would not be destroyed by at least 12 children, we had every day of the 7 terrible days we spent there this year !! It is only a small hotel with 16 rooms. It is an adult pool and not designed for children.

The hotel is not designed for children and what is enjoyable is the peace and quite . Be careful when you go and you will have a great time.

The breakfasts are fantastic, but dinner and wine is overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cristo
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 11 in Porto Cristo
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
THB Felip Class
THB Felip Class
#5 of 11 in Porto Cristo
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Castell dels Hams Hotel
Castell dels Hams Hotel
#2 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,088 reviews
38.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
872 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Mas Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Mas Hotel Rural

Address: Carretera Porto Cristo - Porto Colom | Cami de Son Mas, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Cristo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Family Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cristo
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto Cristo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cristo
Price Range: $334 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Mas Hotel Rural 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Son Mas Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Mas Porto Cristo
Son Mas Hotel Rural Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing