We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy but interesting”
Review of Caves of Drach

Caves of Drach
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.73*
and up
Mallorca Day Trip to Majorica Pearl Factory and Caves of Drach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: World famous; inside is lake Martel, considered one of the largest underground lakes in the world, where live classical music concerts are performed every day. You can cross the lake on a boat at the end of the concert. BEWARE, don't get deceived by another small caves in Porto Cristo, their road signs can be confusing.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Touristy but interesting”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

An interesting visit, I did a day trip with a tour company but I think just going straight to the caves myself would have been time spent better. We stopped at a pearl factory and I wasn't interested.

The caves themselves are great but the crowds are overwhelming. you could hardly walk and had to shuffle your way through. There was a great show with classical music and lit boats at the lake inside which was really enjoyable. I would recommend it but try to go at a time that will be offpeak.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loz26_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,952
    2,248
    1,039
    355
    236
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stunning Caves”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have visited b4, and returned, we were not disappointed, and this will probably b my last visit as my mobility is decreasing, WELL worth the money, and depending where your base on the island its a half or full day out. Highly recommend this 1.Possibly my favourite attraction on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Within first few steps taken down the stairs into the caves there was lots to see and be awed by. Despite being told no pictures were to be taken with flash there was plenty of people doing just that! Be warned though as most pictures do mot come out as it is very dark inside. many guides available
telling people off and rushing you along but sadly not to
share any information. Concert at the end a little disappointing as the music was more chamber than the rousing emotive music that could have been played. Still awesome and definitely worth taking two hours out of your day to go view!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing - A hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Disappointed there was no actual guides to explain the sights within although there was plenty of men telling people to turn their flash off their phones/cameras! Trip through takes couple of hours and ends with slightly disappointing chamber music played on boats rowed through the lake. Music could have been more rousing but experience was still very enjoyable and one I would definately recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Caves”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Over priced, entertainment was poor, just a woman going across small section of the cave on a boat playing a piano. The boat ride was short and a waste of time, quicker to walk across. Caves were nice to see but very dim lighting and you are not allowed to take photos with the flash of

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xxsanzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caves of Drach also viewed

 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Capdepera, Majorca
 

Been to Caves of Drach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing