We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Relaxing Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is an all inclusive hotel verging on holiday resort. It's enormous, but well organised.

We stayed in August in a garden suite, which ensured we were in Block C: the most kid oriented area. The water park and pools were fab. Loads of toddler pools to potter about in and exciting water slides for the older ones. Every deeper pool had a shallow area fenced off for the smaller children. The were also life guards observing all the pools so it felt very safe.

We ate dinner in the main buffet restaurant most evenings and had lunch in various places. We arrived on a Saturday, gala dinner night, and our first impression was that we'd be getting prawns, caviar, steak, etc, every night. Sadly not! Apart from Saturday night the food wasn't exceptional and didn't vary very much. The children ended up eating the same thing twice a day!

The help-yourself wine and beer was OK, but the bottled wine from the bar was better. Nice prosecco. The kids cocktails were well received.

The mini disco was a bit cramped in front of the stage area and we lost our 3 year old at least once. We didn't stay for the evening shows, so can't comment on them.

One brilliant touch was free evening child care if you booked a meal in the adults only hot stone restaurant. The restaurant was very quiet and the hot stone gimmick might not be to everone's taste, but it was lovely to have a couple of adults only hours.

Speaking of which, the kids club was fantastic. Very secure dedicated area, plenty of staff and fun things to do. You just drop the kids off for three hours giving you time to go and lounge by the adults only pool and remember life before kids! Genius.

In summary, the food wasn't perfect and the evening entertainment was uninspiring but we didn't care. We managed to relax and have fun and would go back for that reason.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Johanna,

thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor, and for your feedback regarding our services. We feel happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday, and would be pleased to welcome you back again next season in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

On first impressions the hotel seemed fine, the rooms were clean and roomy enough with air-conditioning. What we didn't bargain on was the 20 euro deposit for a kettle when it's advertised as having tea and coffee facilities; the 20 euro deposit for each pool towel and there was a charge for wifi even in reception, when the brochure states free wifi in reception. By the end of day one we'd spent out over 100 euros in deposits and fees! The first couple of days were fine as there were plenty of staff about, restaurants were open so there was choice but then on our second day we were told that one block of the complex had closed and another was about to so their pool and the flowers restaurant was also closing. It must have been really annoying for the people staying there because they all had to move rooms and some people did that twice! By the forth day we were noticing the monotony of the food, that every day was very similar if not blatantly the same, so we booked an a la carte restaurant (surf); we left halfway through the meal and battled again with the repetition of the main buffet. The portions were tiny and the choice limited with our grandchildren only being offered dry pasta with a tiny spoonful of tomato sauce or chips with chicken on the bone which at 2yrs and with the other being only 10 months neither were acceptable. At the start of our second week there was a serious decline in the standards across the board. We had to ring reception on three occasions after the room had been cleaned to get basics such as towels, twice we had to call for toilet roll as there were none left and in the end we replenished them ourselves from other bathrooms around the hotel. The restaurant became a nightmare as they continued to close more parts of the complex and everyone was pushed towards the outside buffet restaurant; which just went into melt down at every service. We had to queue for plates, as they weren't able to clean them fast enough; when there were plates there was no food to go on it, when there was meat of fish there were no accompaniments and vice versa; every meal time became a battle ground, we ended up buying snacks and eating in the room to save the three times a day food fight. I complained twice to the assistant manager who said ' have a sangria, you'll feel better!' He told me that there were too many people in the hotel, they were too busy! I complained to the customer relations lady who wrote me a very nice letter saying that she would pass on my concerns to the food and beverage manager. I then went to the food and beverage manager at the very next meal time when I had already stood for 20 minutes waiting for a plate and he said ' there are too many people here, have a bowl instead'. Food was undercooked and in some cases raw, the attitude of the staff when you tried to take anything back was appalling. The stress of trying to have a meal and something to eat or something to eat it off was the whole focus of the last week of our holiday. So if you want to eat pizza and chips for a fortnight and it be cold when you finally find a plate to put it on, this is the place to go!! We complained to the the Thomson rep as well who did what she could and was very reassuring, we were offered a meal in the 50's diner (burger and chips) but then found that it was closed until our last night which would have been a cabaret night and quite frankly we didn't feel like celebrating burger and chips after having chips for two weeks. It was so bad at one point we enquired about coming home almost a week early, but we would have to have paid for the flights ourselves. What should have been a wonderful family holiday was ruined by the three times daily food fight and often coming away without anything and the fact that no one was prepared to do anything about it!!

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, and for your comments regarding your stay in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort. We profoundly regret the failure to meet your expectations, and would like to assure you that all your feedback is highly appreciated and has been duly followed up by our management. Your observations give us the opportunity to make improvements and to offer all our guests a better service. We would be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found the hotel itself ok, the weather was good and the food was ok the first week, all food was very much the same day in day out, it's ok if you like pizza and chips or meat and potatoes! or for the kids pasta was on the menu everyday. my kids didn't want pasta every day for two weeks!

The second week of our holiday they shut one of the restaurants but there was more people arriving! we tried the a la carte restaurant one evening which was extremely poor " the kids were offered chicken and chips or sphaghetti with a teaspoonful of tomato sauce which was not acceptable for my 11 month old baby" what happened to varied heathly meals for kids that include potatoes and veg / meat and veg !? so we got up and left and went back to the main buffet restaurant to find some food.

From what we could see they had less staff on during our second week and this then made our experience in the buffet restaurant infuriating....

Every meal time we were queing for food, sometimes the meat/fish wasn't cooked properly because they were rushing because they couldn't keep up with demand. Chips were being served raw!
The most infuriating experience was when people were taking chips and meat back because they were not cooked properly and the attitude of the staff was appalling! I watched one woman laugh and throw some chips back from a customers plate half eaten, back in to the chip fat fryer!!!

Breakfast and dinner time this was the same situation. The only time they decided to open another restaurant was when the main one was over full and unable to cope but this second restaurant was just for extra tables there wasn't anyone cooking in there!

I complained to the restaurant assistant manager and his attitude was to ignore the situation rather than deal with it! Our rep was unable to compensate us at resort as it was too late and we were due to go home soon and the 50's restaurant they were trying to send us to was closed our last two days!!

The rooms were ok, aircon weak! Th experience of mealtimes absolutely ruined the atmosphere of the hotel for us and after having complained and nothing was done at resort to resolve our issue, we can safely say for the money we paid for our family holiday....

I would never return to or reccommend Insotel Cala Mandia, this experience would definately ruin your holiday....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JacquiV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. In the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort it is our main aim to provide our guests with a pleasant stay, and we are very sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations regarding our restaurant services. Thank you for sharing your experience and for bringing up the points you would like us to work on in order to improve our services. Your feedback has been followed up, and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Forgive me. I'm writing this as a cathartic exercise to help me move on and enjoy my holiday. This hotel has enraged me. When I book a holiday number one priority is a quiet room. Nothing us worse for me than being near the disco, or the theatre, or the "activity pool". With this in mind I specifically chose this hotel selecting Quiet Area B via the insotel website. Turns out area B is shut for the rest of the season, family area C is about to close, leaving only party area A, where we've been roomed. Livid. Why did their site let me book this if it wasn't available? It's misselling and I ought to receive a partial refund.

Also, the kids bedding is poor, the aircon weak, and the toilet seat is broken and mended with gaffa tape. Food seems ok so far.

Would never return and would never recommend Insotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Referring to your comments and to our conversation during your stay with us, we would like to apologize again for the inconveniences and reassure you that we feel very sorry that we have not met your expectations regarding a quiet room. As we have explained to you personally, block B has been closed because of the lower occupancy at the hotel at the end of season, in order to centralise our clients in the main block avoiding distances to their room. This is the reason why you received a free upgrade to a Superior Suite in Block A, a better room category than your original booking and with views to the main pool area.

When we heard about your disappointment through this website Tripadvisor, we immediately contacted with you and offered you a room change. We prepared two different rooms to visit, but unfortunately you chose not to go, as you told us that you were fine with your room.

Our aim is to work on your satisfaction and we feel very sorry if you have not been happy with our services, as we have tried to do our best to provide you a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future, please accept again our apologies.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Best family orientated complex super rooms food good and plenty of it kids should never be bored insotel team deserve a medal and a pay rise ! Well done everybody for a great time if u have kids look no further stayed in block b room 2421 ab fab

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1690billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind comments about your stay in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort.
We are looking forward welcoming you soon back again.

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a late-booking to this hotel with husband and ageing parents.

Stayed in block A which met most of our expectations. Husband is mainly wheelchair user but didn't book accessible room - had quiet room on level 0 (ground level at entrance but three floors above the pool, bar and restaurants). Room was lovely with pool view, large balcony, fridge (and welcoming bubbly), large ver comfy beds, ample cupboard space and two TVs. Bathroom had lovely rain shower but no robes or slippers as were promised.

On discussion with lovely rep Diane, we viewed an accessible and decided to move later in the week as the doorways were wider (giving my husband more independence) but this room backed onto road and was actually a step-down (though we had to sign a 'no-compensation' form at reception). Even though the toilet (not raised) had rails to assist with transfers) there was NO shower seat nor did the hotel have one available (but offered to hire us one from outside).

For wheelchair users, be prepared to go down two slippery, quite steep ramps to get to the main buffet, bars and entertainment areas. Anyone travelling alone should hire an electric scooter as it's impossible without on your own and a challenge avoiding the pushchairs or small children much of the time. The toilet in the main bar area does not lock and the light is on a timer of around 2 minutes so be very quick or take someone with you as you can't reach either the door or the switch from the loo! The South area toilets are better lit (although still on a short time sensor inside the toilet itself) and do lock but can get very hot in the daytime. The beach is accessible only by steep road or staged stone pathways. There is a walk-way across the sand on the beach but not to the sea so is not very easily accessible. There are no accessible toilets there either.

The food is excellent with plenty of choice although does get a bit repetitive after several days. No-one could complain re lack of choice, including vegetarians. The drinks on tap in the bars and restaurants included Coca Cola branded drinks, Estrella beer, juices and wine? I think the decision to charge extra for the South restaurant (Adult only) and Fifties diner was not a sensible one as they were almost empty every night. The staff in the main restaurant were lovely, especially Josefina and Anji and so helpful but be prepared for children running all over the place unsupervised by their parents. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing small children but parents should realise the danger they're in in such an environment. Having said that, there were a lot of ignorant adults there, pushing in at the front of the queue for freshly prepared meat, fish etc too.

The entertainment was not to our taste although it was a pleasure seeing the small children enjoying their fun and the Insotel team deserve 10/10 for all their efforts and long days. Special mention to Nicky, Kirsten, Julio and Ryan for their cheerful dispositions and fancy costumes. We chose to spend some evenings at the South bar but object to the extra charges levied for cocktails or premium drinks here when it's supposed to be all inclusive. The cocktails in the main bar are vile pre-mixed rubbish which most people wasted so is a strange example of trying to do things somewhat on the cheap at time when proper cocktails wouldn't cost a lot more.

I agree with some other reviewers that the hotel seems to charge for rather too much in terms of extras for an "all-inclusive" hotel although most were refundable deposits rather than proper charges (towels 20 euros each but could be changed up to four times, kettle and safe key 10 euros each). Wifi is free in superior rooms but really shouldn't be chargeable at all for anyone in this day and age.

Overall we loved the atmosphere and cleanliness of this hotel and found all staff very helpful contrary to some peoples' experiences. Although we were wary of there being so many children there despite it being school term time, we would not let it stop us returning although we'd avoid the school holidays. Give the place a try - it's worth it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FMF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for choosing the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort for your holiday. Thank you for your feedback, and specially for sharing your experience in our resort with a wheelchair. Your comments are very important to us, as we endeavour to meet all our guests' needs, and they help us to go on improving our services and our facilities. We would be glad to welcome you back again next season.

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here at the end of September and it was our first holiday abroad as a family with our 16 month old. I was a bit worried as she needs constant entertaining and can be easily distracted, this was not a problem at all. The splash park kept her happy for hours and if she got bored we moved to a different kiddie pool or took her to one of the parks, she also loved running in the fountains in the main pool area. As long as she was happy so were we!

The rooms were lovely, it was great to have a separate area forthe cot so we could sit on the balcony without disturbing her when she went to sleep. The only downside was that there was no bath and showering her made it sound like we were torturing her! I think you can ask for a baby bath but she's too big.


There was a good choice of food at the buffet, but it gets a bit boring if you are a vegetarian like me, but plenty for my meat loving husband and daughter! We went to the 50s diner one night when they had the dancing and that was a good night and the food was nice.

We didn't see much of the evening entertainment as after the mini-disco it was time for bed, but the mini-disco was definitely a hit with us!

The resort is in a small town and Porto Cristo a short taxi or little yellow road train ride away, out of season it is very quiet, as we discovered, but worth a few hours to look around.

All in all we had a lovely time and would return one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieandBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your review about your holiday in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your feedback which is very important to us as it ensures us to go on improving our services. We would be very glad to welcome you again in a future occasion.

Best regards from Cala Mandia,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cristo
4.5 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
960 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 10 in Porto Cristo
611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#2 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
307 reviews
1.8 mi away
THB Felip Class
THB Felip Class
#5 of 10 in Porto Cristo
579 reviews
11 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa

Address: Federico Garcia Lorca s/n | Porto Cristo Novo, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Cristo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Family Hotel in Porto Cristo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cristo
Price Range: $202 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Hotel Cala Mandia
Cala Mandia
Insotel Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing