We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment at Colon”
Review of Restaurante Colon

Restaurante Colon
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Portocolom
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointment at Colon”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Having stumbled upon Colon whilst in Colom for a regatta we sat down for lunch. Being familiar with high cuisine I was most disappointed to find ridiculous prices and a rather standard level of staff attention. The food was delicious in all respects but the menu was completely contrived and very difficult to actually follow!
On the other hand we had dinner at one of Marc Fosh's restaurants last night which as usual was outstanding.

Helpful?
9 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    73
    39
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“One of the Best Restaurants in Mallorca”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I wonder why there are no more reviews. The restaurant colon with Dieter Sögner is simply the best you can find on Mallorca. I have been there 3 times and it was allways impressive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, as always”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a regular visitor in the area, this is our favourite restaurant by far. The food is always exceptional with a new menu every time we go. The wine list is excellent. The atmosphere is superb and the staff, who we have got know, are attentive and friendly. Having said that there were a couple of younger new staff who needed a little more training and experience. We've never been disappointed. As others have remarked it is not cheap, in fact it's expensive! But in our opinion not over-priced. Not the sort of place you would go every night but wonderful for a special occasion. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bardo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

So glad I found this gem of a restaurant. Took 30 plus clients with us. Absolutely amazing, staff friendly, owners Dieter (also chef) & Onika are fab. Not one complaint, food was superb. Fab decor & good atmosphere. Will definately return, just wished we had the resturant closer to home!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch overlooking busy harbour”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped here for lunch, and really enjoyed the food and service.
Maybe not the cheapest meal in Porto Colom but worth the extra money, simple well cooked food nicely presented with friendly efficient service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTattheloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Colon also viewed

Portocolom, Majorca
 
Portocolom, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing