We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cala Marsal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Marsal
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Holidays”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a worderfull time at the Cala Marsal Hotel, with all the sympathique staff always smily. Bar staff, cleaning staff, restaurant, recepcion, but the best Entertaiment, the animation try so hard to get the people involved, nice work with the videos and night time entertaiment. Our room it was on the 7th floor and we have that amazing view... I would recommend this hotel with eyes close...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    455
    192
    78
    47
See reviews for
405
410
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sneek, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed in Cala marsal hotel in Porte Colom a midweeks in the first week of June, lovely hotel, Nice location and really lovely staff.
especially the animation team was really awesome! Great thanks to Josepha, Aaron, Lucie and Gretl.
In addition tot this were the rooms and the rood also really good. I would definetely book this hotel again and would recommend to many others!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at hotel in june 2013. Great hotel. Very clean rooms with maid service daily. Restaurant serves great meals with a wide choice of food. Pools were warm and clean with an attendant on all the times the pools were open. Very clean gardens. Cala marsal resort and porto colom has been hit by the spanish recession with places closed up but many still open. Great views over sea if you get front rooms. Manly german and french staying at hotel but never a problem. Some staff in restaurant were abrupt but not rude. Only down point was no kettle, cups or spoons in rooms for early am coffee, so take your own. Would use again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on ground floor as if it rains your balcony gets all the water from the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was in the hotel and the service was fantastic. Well located and good sea views. The service staff and entertainers are always aware of what you need. The pool area are extensive and well maintained. A good place to return so soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilden, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our room was not clean,and for several days we even had ants in the bathroom.The ants were walking on every utensil and dead ants were laying on the fresh towels and the bathtub and the lavatory were full of hairs and sand and dust.I always had to clean it myself.3times i had to call somebody until they took care of the problem.
The time we stayed in the hotel it was very cold,so i ordered some additional blankets,but it took 2days and 3asks until they satisfied my wish.They told us that the aircondition has warm air,but it did not work.
The breakfast was every day the same,no assortment,everyday the same fruits(only kiwi,melon,that was mealy,sour unwashed apples)the same oh sooo bad coffee.
Baguette was the only bread of different sorts that tasted good and the eggs fried or scrumbled were okay.
In the hotel bar even the drinks,for example the cocktail"Cala Marsal"were bad quality and high priced.
If i were more finicky i had changed the hotel.But for only the nights and breakfast(we sometimes had breakfast then outside)it is okay.It really depends how high your requirements are.I would give this hotel only 1star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I made a reservation and when i arrived i was told hotel is overbooked and they dont have my booking, even though the manger had a printout with my reservation. She then went on to tell me that the reason she doesnt have a room for us because we made a reservation with american express and they dont accept to hold the room.
We ended up staying with somebody else in the room and they went on to charge us extra for that. There is a beach close by, but you have to pay to get a chair and hotel doesn't provide towels. Food in the hotel was horrible. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shtuka1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just got back from a great holiday at Hotel Cala Marsal. Staff was always friendly and very helpful with great foreign language skills as guests are international (mostly French, German, English and Italian).

Food was very good, too, and varied every day. There was lots of salad, freshly cooked meats and fish, vegetables fruits and great desserts, so everyone could always find something.

Rooms were well-furnished with air conditioning and a view of either the sea or the mountains which meant you could either watch the breathtaking sunrise (totally worth getting up early) or the mesmerizing sunset.

The hotel also offers a huge garden, several bars and two pools one of which is a bit more quiet whereas on the other one there are activities offered by the animation team throughout the day (aqua gym, sports, Paella show cooking and so on). Not only is the animation team (Guillaume, Anna, Rachel and Marino) very dedicated to entertain guests during the day but they also put up some great shows in the evening.

The hotel is right across the street from a beautiful sandy beach with chrystal clear water which (at least in September) was not as overcrowded as some beaches are. Next to the beach there are a number of stores and restaurants were you can snack and run errands at very reasonable prices.

Portocolom itself is a quiet resort but there a number of bars where you can go at night and also there are buses going to other parts of the island. The hotel also helps you to rent a car if want to discover the beauty of Mallorca. So if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a great hotel Cala Marsal is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#1 of 7 in Porto Colom
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Porto Colom
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Porto Colom
669 reviews
42.1 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Marsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Marsal

Property: Cala Marsal
Address: Calle Cala Marcal 11, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Marsal 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cala Marsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Marsal Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing