We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, enjoyable break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, enjoyable break”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a great (quiet) location then I can recommend Porto Colom. Hotel Vistamar was found to be excellent and all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel was a good standard and very clean but the food could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    271
    93
    24
    15
See reviews for
80
430
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I've just returned from a week at Ola Hotel El Vistamar in Porto Colom with my husband, brother in law and sister in law.
We came home yesterday the 3rd October. We had been to Majorca on five previous occasions although not to this area.
My brother in law and sister in law had never been to Majorca before.
I chose a junior suite for each couple with a sea view. I wouldn't have bothered for myself but I wanted them to love majorca as much as we both did.
After reading several of the reviews I decided this was the best for us and I was certainly rewarded with the accomodation and the views.
The cleanliness was spot on and I couldnt fault the meals or bar/restruant service. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Facilities were great. Food was good and lots of it. There was always something you liked.
2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool next to the gym, tennis courts and mini golf.

Porto colom is a lovely area. We visited the beach a couple of times, went into Palma for the day and all up the east coast visiting Cala D'or, Cala Bona and Cala Millor, Porto Cristo and Portopetra where we had a lovely lunch by the marina where the star fish ferry stops on its daily cruise around.

I've read some of the reports regarding the rooms and the views.
I decided to pay a little more for the rooms, I think about £40 per person to give us a junior suite and a seaview which was well worth it. There were rooms looking over a street at the back which we saw when using a local bar but if you dont want to look over the street and you want a big bedroom with a nice bathroom off it and a seperate room with an additional put you up settee, chair and flat screen t.v pay the extra.
You get what you pay for.
We have been lucky in the past and had bargains but this time we
had other people to consider and I can say they didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back.

All the other nationalities we met in this hotel were pleasant and friendly. Yes...there are foreigners here but you are in Majorca and
have a choice to go or holiday in England. Ignore the negative reviews and visit this Hotel. We are all so glad we did.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Minty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

just back from our honeymoon at this fantastic hotel, we had a suite on the 5th floor. The 1st balcony overlooked the harbour and the second balcony overlooked the sea!!! fantastic room, very clean and huge. The staff were very friendly, the food was ok but you get what you pay for!!!. Porto colom is quiet but lovely very majorcan, no disco/loud bars very relaxing.All in all a fab hotel and excellent value for money....enjoy!!.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandsarah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a weeks stay at the ola vistamar and we really liked it. The staff were very friendly and even gave us a free glass of champaign on arrival. The food was very nice although it can be difficult to get a table at breakfast (at dinner you have a reserved table). Porto colom is a nice quiet little place,but there wasn't much to do there at all really. There is a nice beach about 10-15 mins walk away in cala masal and my girlfriend loved cala d'or which is 20 mins away on the bus(just 2 euros). The are loads of shops,bars and resturants there and is much more lively. We would defiantly recommend the hotel but only if your looking for a relaxing time, as a younger couple we did find ourselves a bit bored at times.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at the El Vistamar for a week at the end of July. The weather was scorching and the hotel was fantastic.

The room was spacious and very clean. It was modern and light with air conditioning. The balcony was a decent size. The sheets were fresh and crisp although the beds were a bit too hard for our liking. The chamber maids were fantastic. They were quick and efficient, cleaning our room in the hour we spent at breakfast.

The breakfast buffet was good. There was a selection of hot and cold choices, pastries and fruit. We loved how we could eat up until 12 o clock and was full up until dinner time. The dinner buffet was also good. There was a choice of local and Med dishes, a vast salad bar, soups, pastas, potatoes and a good selection of local desserts. The only thing I would say is that there isn’t a lot of choice if you are a vegetarian.

The staff were super friendly. The majority spoke English very well and were very welcoming. We had trouble communicating with the waiting staff about drinks, but when we had acquired a little Spanish, we seemed to get on better. The resort seemed to have an equal mix of German, Spanish and English guests.

The two separate pool areas give you the choice of relaxing and chilled out or a bit more lively and busy. We only had trouble finding a sunbed on one day. The spa was closed when we were there which was not disclosed prior to our booking.

The resort is extremely quiet, with only a few shops. This is not the place to go if you are looking for bars and touristy areas. This is a very sleepy port! We had a great time spotting yachts and mansions on lazy walks around the bay. However, we researched beforehand and knew what to expect.

Choose Port Colom for a relaxing holiday and choose El Vistamar for a clean, bright and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viablered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed for a week in June/July 2010. We were very disappointed when we got to our room; it was tiny and absolutely stank of stale sweat (which we later found out was coming from the bedcovers). The view to be fair was lovely. The hotel has 2 pools that are uncrowded but with a beautiful beach like Cala Marsal nearby, we spent most of the time there.

The breakfasts at the hotel were pretty horrible and the evening entertainment was so awful it was funny.

The resort is very much a quiet harbour town and this is great if you want peace and quiet but it is very isolated. The nearby restaurants are hit and miss. We were ill after one meal. There is one good restaurant, however it is very pricey. We had a car so could get out and about but Cala D'Or as the nearest life is not what it used to be and is mainly burger bars and crazy golf.

The whole area is very German orientated, although a lot of Spanish do holiday there.

We would definately not go back there, however the beach did certainly make up for the disappointment of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgm2Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband & I have just returned from a week's peaceful rest in this lovely hotel. We just can't understand some of the comments made in some of the recent reviews. We cannot think of one negative thing to say about this superb little hotel. One comment in one of the reviews was that the walls are paper thin, we would say quite the reverse we never heard the slightest noise from next door or above despite the hotel being fully booked and there were alot of children on our floor too.
We never had to queue for anything, never had to wait long for the lifts, the food was excellent and the fact that breakfast is served from 8am till 12noon is a real plus - we used to have a late breakfast so didn't need any lunch.
All we can say is well done to Ola Hotels - the Vistamar definately deserves it's 4star rating & we will definately be going back, we cannot praise it enough!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Porto Colom
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Porto Colom
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Porto Colom
695 reviews
39.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,167 reviews
30.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Property: OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing