We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm peaceful and relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

After the stress of my exams my family had booked a week in porto colom a beautiful town however there is little there. That is pretty much the only downside to this hotel. Everything else was pretty much perfect the pool and the poolside bar is where we spent most are time relaxing in the sun. Lovely buffet breakfasts outside in the morning and buffet dinner with alot of variety made it exciting to know what wed be getting each day for dinner. Entertainment is usually put on every night and the rooms are nice. I would suggest not using the reps that try and sell trips as they messed ours up but apart from that lush relaxing holiday with great friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 695 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived Sat 13th October hotel was in full swing but by the Monday all entertainment had stopped, pool bar was closed and clearing up was taking place in the lounge, the hotel is making their season shorter by these measures because who would rebook for this week in the future otherwise a very nice hotel in a pleasant location.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The main part of the hotel is what one would expect from a 4*, v'clean with helpful staff.
The restaurant however was another story & could only pass as a glorified canteen. The staff were certainly not friendly nor polite. The buffet style meals were terrible, although we both like soup, it was always far too salty, the fish was bland & full of bones, meats were over done, too tough to cut, the veg was always boiled to mush, the roast potatoes underdone (raw), both tinned fruit & fresh fruit were available, the fresh fruit was nice but badly prepared & presented. On the plus side, cakes, pastry & bread's were very good (presumably bought in), deserts were also nice. Never did we enjoy a breakfast or dinner, existing on a ration of fruit & pastry.

Room Tip: Floors five or six corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

transfer to hotel quoted hour and half,sat on hot coach at airport for 40 mins before setting off. got to hotel nice warm welcome, room was clean but very small and dated.pool area clean & tidy just enough sun beds food & drinks round pool expensive.restuerant was more like a transport cafe never enough tables, waiter running round like headless chickens trying to clear tables food very poor standard lots of flys round salad and fresh fruit,most of time food was cold & undercooked & repetertive.entertainment in hotel was a joke poor (santi) tried his best but still very poor, once again drink prices to high in the bars.porto colom its self is like a graveyard nothing outside hotel except 2 bars.if you want some kind of night life you have to go to cala d'or. as in previous reviews they are still putting o.a.ps in the annexe (no lifts) minimum 35 steps to first floor.this is bad for a four star hotel,if you ask to move into main hotel they charge you extra. would i stay at this hotel again NO would i stay in porto colom again NO

Room Tip: ask for room at side or back of hotel no sun at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

just returned from el vistamar and must say firstly that the journey to porto colom was a nightmare ! took over two hours and just by luck i found that we had change coach by another passenger ! travelled with my mother & daughter and we were appalled that we were not told this ! arriving at the hotel we were then met by attila the hun you other people who stayed will know who i mean ! my family and i had requested low floor & to be close to each other ! got 7th floor ! beside the satelite dishes top of the hotel ! i had my own room & mum & daughter shared ! i was at one end of the corridor & they were at the other end ! they had spectacular view of marina & i had a wall ! we also had made request for sea views ! mum did ! i had to very slowly slide over to balcony & peer over ! too scary ! food was good but lots of mature people wandering around with hot drinks & plates in there hands & not very steady on there feet ! that was scary too ! david the waiter was lovely tho & was helpful ! entertainment was well diff ! santi the lovely entertainment manager did his best tho ! overall we had a good time as we spent a lot of the time away to cala dor ! will go there next time !

Room Tip: dont have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We expected wonderful things from previous reviews, sadly this was not our experience. The hotel does not show the more dated standard rooms on offer, only those recently renovated. Our room was a dated darkly-furnished room, overlooking the noisy hotel entrance, with coaches letting down and picking up people during night and day can be very disrupting and loud. The transfer time is very long too, so it would have been so nice if there had been a more friendly welcome on arrival! We asked to be moved but offered an even worse room, the hotel was full apparently! The room also had ants, a/c that didn’t work, it clicked off at 27 degrees,and the shower was hopeless, smallish worn-out grey towels, definitely not what you expect from four star status. There were extra charges for safe (4€ daily) and fridge (3€ daily), so not four star. Most of the staff however were friendly and helpful, especially at the pool area and restaurant, even at the end of season-it seemed very busy but they continued to smile through it all. The food was mostly very good, some random offerings it is true, but plenty of other choices. The hotel is split between three locations, takes a bit of getting used to, but the pool area is a lovely and relaxing well catered area. The spa was not available so cannot comment on that.
The public internal areas were rather dated, and internet/tv room had a funny damp smell and too warm in the evenings, it seems they turned down the a/c all over the hotel during October. Drinks in bar and restaurant are a little overpriced as in most hotels, some surrounding bars might be worth a look therefore. The evening entertainment was pretty dismal sadly, and at the end of season other choices are limited. If you are looking for a really quiet spot and can get a good deal here, it may suit some folk, but with so much competition and other lovely hotels on Majorca, I know we can do better and I think so can the Vistamar Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, immaculately clean in all areas and with very efficient staff.
I had made a request in advance for a room on a low floor as I don’t like heights and on arrival was given a room on the first floor which overlooked the main entrance. The view was pleasant as I could see the surrounding trees and flowers and from the end of the balcony I could catch a glimpse of the harbour. The room was large and airy with a fridge which was unlocked and working. The bathroom was also quite large with a powerful shower and the towels were changed daily.

I don’t understand why a number of reviewers expect tea and coffee making facilities. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world of up to and including five star rating and the only hotels I can recall having provided these facilities were in the UK and US. I love a hot drink when I get up in the morning – if this is what you like too, take a travel kettle! As for paying for the safe, the majority of hotels I’ve stayed in make a charge for this facility so I wasn’t surprised that the Vistamar did so. A previous poster has stated that this hotel is for couples only – this is not the case, I was there with friends and we all had our own rooms. There were other single travellers there too. This is, however, an adults only hotel so you won’t find any families with children there.

Breakfast was served outside on all but the last two days of my stay and what a fantastic place to eat, overlooking the lovely harbour of Porto Colom. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food. There were fresh fruits – grapefruit, oranges, kiwi fruit, bananas and pineapple, and even plums sometimes. Eggs were fried, scrambled, boiled or made into omelettes and there was a large variety of bread including sliced for toast. Bacon and baked beans were available and there were cereals, pastries, cheese, ham, yogurt etc. etc. Coffee was available from machines and there were tea bags of different types. All in all, a great breakfast.

Dinner was also excellent with wide choices for all courses. There were lots of different salads ranging from the basic lettuce, tomato, cucumber etc. to potato salad, rice salad, coleslaw, grated cabbage and carrot. Pate and crackers were available on some days. Hot foods varied daily and included roast meats – pork, turkey, veal and a traditional dish which was not always identifiable but usually very tasty! Fish was served every day, sometimes in a sauce, sometimes breaded, there was salted cod and Skate wings. Other dishes included breaded chicken, meatballs, a number of different pasta dishes – the lasagne was delicious – potatoes prepared in different ways including duchesse and chips. I’m not normally keen on desserts but made an exception in this case! There were delicious apple crepes and absolutely exquisite ‘wood fruits’ (fruits of the forest) which were served hot. There were gateaux, éclairs, ice cream, cheese and crackers, fresh fruit etc.

The dining room staff seemed at first to be unfriendly but I think it was only because they were busy as they would always respond to a friendly greeting. The reception staff were always friendly and very helpful, as were the cleaning staff.

The pool is across a quiet street from the main hotel building and has a pleasant sunbathing area and a bar/café area which serves tasty food at reasonable prices. Behind the hotel is a bar/café and round the corner is a small supermarket which is convenient for buying drinks and basics. The harbour and marina are about ten minutes’ walk from the hotel and Cala Marsal beach is about the same distance in another direction. The beach is in a lovely cove and the sea is shallow for quite a long way out.

Porto Colom is a very quiet resort so don’t expect lots of shops and music bars. However, if you look in the right places you can find some entertainment. The square which is a short walk from the hotel towards the harbour has a number of bars and sometimes has live music although this does finish early due to the location. Music in the bars continues until later but is not loud. At the other side of Cala Marsal beach is a bar/restaurant that has live bands on Sundays and on some other evenings and is very popular. The harbourside restaurants are pleasant but not all of them will allow you to just have drinks, only one of them has any music. But as a taxi driver pointed out to us, Porto Colom’s peace is its charm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lookingforsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portocolom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#1 of 7 in Portocolom
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Portocolom
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Portocolom
758 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,449 reviews
3.0 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Price Range: $91 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing