We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room shame about the view ! one very rude receptionist !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Certificate of Excellence
irvine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice room shame about the view ! one very rude receptionist !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

just returned from el vistamar and must say firstly that the journey to porto colom was a nightmare ! took over two hours and just by luck i found that we had change coach by another passenger ! travelled with my mother & daughter and we were appalled that we were not told this ! arriving at the hotel we were then met by attila the hun you other people who stayed will know who i mean ! my family and i had requested low floor & to be close to each other ! got 7th floor ! beside the satelite dishes top of the hotel ! i had my own room & mum & daughter shared ! i was at one end of the corridor & they were at the other end ! they had spectacular view of marina & i had a wall ! we also had made request for sea views ! mum did ! i had to very slowly slide over to balcony & peer over ! too scary ! food was good but lots of mature people wandering around with hot drinks & plates in there hands & not very steady on there feet ! that was scary too ! david the waiter was lovely tho & was helpful ! entertainment was well diff ! santi the lovely entertainment manager did his best tho ! overall we had a good time as we spent a lot of the time away to cala dor ! will go there next time !

Room Tip: dont have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    264
    86
    24
    15
See reviews for
80
414
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We expected wonderful things from previous reviews, sadly this was not our experience. The hotel does not show the more dated standard rooms on offer, only those recently renovated. Our room was a dated darkly-furnished room, overlooking the noisy hotel entrance, with coaches letting down and picking up people during night and day can be very disrupting and loud. The transfer time is very long too, so it would have been so nice if there had been a more friendly welcome on arrival! We asked to be moved but offered an even worse room, the hotel was full apparently! The room also had ants, a/c that didn’t work, it clicked off at 27 degrees,and the shower was hopeless, smallish worn-out grey towels, definitely not what you expect from four star status. There were extra charges for safe (4€ daily) and fridge (3€ daily), so not four star. Most of the staff however were friendly and helpful, especially at the pool area and restaurant, even at the end of season-it seemed very busy but they continued to smile through it all. The food was mostly very good, some random offerings it is true, but plenty of other choices. The hotel is split between three locations, takes a bit of getting used to, but the pool area is a lovely and relaxing well catered area. The spa was not available so cannot comment on that.
The public internal areas were rather dated, and internet/tv room had a funny damp smell and too warm in the evenings, it seems they turned down the a/c all over the hotel during October. Drinks in bar and restaurant are a little overpriced as in most hotels, some surrounding bars might be worth a look therefore. The evening entertainment was pretty dismal sadly, and at the end of season other choices are limited. If you are looking for a really quiet spot and can get a good deal here, it may suit some folk, but with so much competition and other lovely hotels on Majorca, I know we can do better and I think so can the Vistamar Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, immaculately clean in all areas and with very efficient staff.
I had made a request in advance for a room on a low floor as I don’t like heights and on arrival was given a room on the first floor which overlooked the main entrance. The view was pleasant as I could see the surrounding trees and flowers and from the end of the balcony I could catch a glimpse of the harbour. The room was large and airy with a fridge which was unlocked and working. The bathroom was also quite large with a powerful shower and the towels were changed daily.

I don’t understand why a number of reviewers expect tea and coffee making facilities. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world of up to and including five star rating and the only hotels I can recall having provided these facilities were in the UK and US. I love a hot drink when I get up in the morning – if this is what you like too, take a travel kettle! As for paying for the safe, the majority of hotels I’ve stayed in make a charge for this facility so I wasn’t surprised that the Vistamar did so. A previous poster has stated that this hotel is for couples only – this is not the case, I was there with friends and we all had our own rooms. There were other single travellers there too. This is, however, an adults only hotel so you won’t find any families with children there.

Breakfast was served outside on all but the last two days of my stay and what a fantastic place to eat, overlooking the lovely harbour of Porto Colom. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food. There were fresh fruits – grapefruit, oranges, kiwi fruit, bananas and pineapple, and even plums sometimes. Eggs were fried, scrambled, boiled or made into omelettes and there was a large variety of bread including sliced for toast. Bacon and baked beans were available and there were cereals, pastries, cheese, ham, yogurt etc. etc. Coffee was available from machines and there were tea bags of different types. All in all, a great breakfast.

Dinner was also excellent with wide choices for all courses. There were lots of different salads ranging from the basic lettuce, tomato, cucumber etc. to potato salad, rice salad, coleslaw, grated cabbage and carrot. Pate and crackers were available on some days. Hot foods varied daily and included roast meats – pork, turkey, veal and a traditional dish which was not always identifiable but usually very tasty! Fish was served every day, sometimes in a sauce, sometimes breaded, there was salted cod and Skate wings. Other dishes included breaded chicken, meatballs, a number of different pasta dishes – the lasagne was delicious – potatoes prepared in different ways including duchesse and chips. I’m not normally keen on desserts but made an exception in this case! There were delicious apple crepes and absolutely exquisite ‘wood fruits’ (fruits of the forest) which were served hot. There were gateaux, éclairs, ice cream, cheese and crackers, fresh fruit etc.

The dining room staff seemed at first to be unfriendly but I think it was only because they were busy as they would always respond to a friendly greeting. The reception staff were always friendly and very helpful, as were the cleaning staff.

The pool is across a quiet street from the main hotel building and has a pleasant sunbathing area and a bar/café area which serves tasty food at reasonable prices. Behind the hotel is a bar/café and round the corner is a small supermarket which is convenient for buying drinks and basics. The harbour and marina are about ten minutes’ walk from the hotel and Cala Marsal beach is about the same distance in another direction. The beach is in a lovely cove and the sea is shallow for quite a long way out.

Porto Colom is a very quiet resort so don’t expect lots of shops and music bars. However, if you look in the right places you can find some entertainment. The square which is a short walk from the hotel towards the harbour has a number of bars and sometimes has live music although this does finish early due to the location. Music in the bars continues until later but is not loud. At the other side of Cala Marsal beach is a bar/restaurant that has live bands on Sundays and on some other evenings and is very popular. The harbourside restaurants are pleasant but not all of them will allow you to just have drinks, only one of them has any music. But as a taxi driver pointed out to us, Porto Colom’s peace is its charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lookingforsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from wk at this nice clean quiet hotel. staff friendly + efficient, it has become adults only hotel which was nice. The hotel is in two parts, i was in annex across the road which had lovely see view and quiet....but no lift, so two flights stairs to climb! The restaurant and elite pool underneath annex building, you eat outside for breakfast weather permitting.

The room has tv (channel 6 for itv) fridge + safe CHARGEABLE, aircon, shower over bath, but take own toiletries as only got 1 lot of freebie one's, which think poor for 4* hotel, clean towels + room cleaned daily.

There is a supermarket rounf the back of main hotel, good value large can san miguel 1 euro,can diet coke 0.75.

Main pool across the road from main hotel + snackbar, elite pool is extra, indoor pool/gym open 9am -6pm. I didnt eat at snackbar, but overheard people saying used Tomieu?? across rd for snacks also.

The food was usual half board fare, i always had large salad course which was always good, i personally found the main courses slightly disappointing, dont get me wrong still managed to eat something but thought could have been bit better, but you wont go hungry, the puddings, ice cream,cheese n biscuits + fresh fruit also so always full!! Breakfast was good all usual stuff, cooked, cereals,fruits cold meats, cheeses, breads + pastries.

There was entertainment laid on quizzes, professional show once wk, but it seems they run german ??? bridge holidays in this hotel, i only attended few evening in function room, but not alot around about,the Lemon tree ??? spanish spelling not sure, just along rd ok for street cafe still drink, served food also.

marsal beach nice worth a visit,10 mins walk ??? i didnt walk to it, but hotel runs bus to it but u need to book it day in advance!

I checked out before breakfast so night porter lets you into function room to get small breakfast + drink.

All in all i would recommend this hotel for quiet relaxing holiday, as good value for money,

Room Tip: annex as nice marina view, quiet also
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was there from 14th-24th September 2012 with my partner and we have had an absolutely brilliant time. The rooms, the location, the staff, the pools, the restaurant, the hotel itself were immaculate.

I can not advise/praise this hotel enough.

I have put the Spa as Average in the ratings die to the fact that it wasn't open during our time there. However I am more than sure it will be perfect too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just returned from a week at the El Vistamar. What a treat. There were three of us in two rooms. We had requested rooms on a high floor, with a sea view and close together and that is exactly what we got. My room overlooked the sea and my parents overlooked the harbour on the seventh floor. The views were lovely. Our rooms were everything we wanted them to be.
We were a little disappoined with Porto Colom with very little going on in the evenings although research before the holiday had told us this is a fishing village rather than a commercialised resort..
A must see is Cala Marcal a 800m walk to the rear of the hotel - a beautiful beech with cafes and shops close by.
We also visited Sa Coma which was an hour's bus ride away but worth the journey. The beech and promenade were amazing and would seriously consider a stay here in the future.
The breakfast was amazing - the selection of pastries, fruit, bread, meats, cheese, cereals, yoghurts and cooked bacon, eggs etc was great. The evening meal was lovely if you like salads, the selection of hot main meals could have been a little better and it didn't change much through the week - we ate out once to have something a little different.
A negative is the length of time it takes to get to and from the airport. Getting to the airport was a drag - 1.5 hours sitting on the coach at the airport waiting for other holiday makers and then 1.5 hours getting to the hotel. Another negative is the "elite pool". There were never more than three or four using the pool - what a waste. Although the general pool was never overcrowded having the use of the other pool would have been a bonus. Maybe the hotel will reconsider this option.
All in all we had a lovely break.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room on the seventh floor (there is a lift) overlooking the sea or harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and and found it to be all we could expect.
The accommodation was superb we had a beautiful view of the bay and the room and service was first class.. In a nutshell.
1 Very clean
2 very friendly
3 Excellent food both quality and variety
4 bar service and prices very good

Room Tip: We had a north facing 5th floor room which had a fantastic view with not too much direct sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
30.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
30.5 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
39.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Property: OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing