We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family holiday”
Review of OLA Tomir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
OLA Tomir
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Good hotel for family with small children. Potals is a quiet area so there were not many young 'clubbers' at the hotel. Staff spoke very good English. Rooms were basic and clean with air conditioning. Food was good, buffet style with lots of choice. Bring your own tea bags though if you want a decent cup of tea. The bar was expensive. Local restaurants were good. You can find some which do a 'menu del dia' which offers a menu with three choices for starter, three mains and a choice of pudding and a bottle of wine included for about 8-10 Euros.
Few minutes walk to 'Marineland' where you can watch dolphins and seals etc... you can buy tickets on line and print out vouchers to save 10%. The hotel has no printing facility. A ticket for family of four was 75 Euros.
Few minutes walk to the local beach, which is quite small and crowded, with mainly topless German women on the day we went. Our kids were happy to play in the pool.
The hotel has a children's club and was very child friendly. The evening entertainment was OK with nightly Bingo games for the adults.
Palma is a 15 minute taxi ride from the hotel. It is a beautiful city. The shopping there is good and you can also visit the cathedral and the museum next to it. Entrance to EU visitors to the museum on wednesdays is free.
We went half board and were very happy with the choice of food and the service. The kitchenette is small and we would have struggled to cook in it.
All in all a good, child-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc_foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 696 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed with my wife, daughter and two 13 year old grandsons. Firstly I will review the hotel. There is a choice of accomadation self catering or half board, we chose the latter.
The hotel is is seasonal open between May and October, we found it a typical 3* Spanish holiday hotel that is geared to young families. There is an excellent Funteam who put entertainment and games on for the kids, not so sure about the entertainment for adults, sometimes ok other times amateurish and boring. The food again is what you get for 3* prices, some of it will like, some of it you will wonder what the chefs's are doing, its purely down to individual taste, but all in all you should find enough preferences to see you through the week. The pool area is nice although the sunbeds are well used and many sag badely so whach your back you may get more than a suntan. The room we had was comfortable with 2 bedrooms and a lounge that could sleep up to six. The maid on our floor was always helpful and gave us plenty of towel and linen changes. The reception staff were always helpful, as were the dining room staff but one or two of the waiters were not always as courtious. As for prices at the bar, quite a bit over the top, a mixer for example vodka and lemon [not forgettening the 2 large ice cubes that fill half the glass] 5 euros, yes almost £5 sterling, Fanta for the kids almost 2 euros, crisps 1.50, ridiculous prices for a family hotel, although local beer was around 3 euros pint.. Having said that because there is very few bars in the area they were all charging the same prices, so take loads of money with you it just evaporates like water.
For those of you self catering there is a small Spar supermarket above the hotel which is slighly cheaper than the Nice-Price/Iceland store at the back of the hotel]. There you can buy cans and bottles of Fanta for around 80 cents, crisps 75c and even bottles of spirits were from 8 euros. Many families were buying from the shops mixing their own drinks to avoid the extortionate bar prices. For even cheaper prices and more choice, walk the 15 minutes up to Porals Nous centre where you will find a Mercadona supermarket.
As for the hotel location, if truth be told it's not in Portals Nous its built amongst residential development of houses and appartments 15 minutes walk to to urban centre in one direction and another 15 minute walk downhill in the opposite direction to the marina area. Its a very, very quiet location unless you walk down to the marina area and mix with the jet setters who have not noticed yet that Spain is in reccession
Finally a few tips, Taxi to Palma Nova [approx 5 kilometers up the road], around 5/7e, where you will get lots of life and lower drink and eating prices and many, many shops. Walk to the small beaches in Portals Nous, about 20 minutes downhill through the Marineland car park. Eating in Portals Nous, try the Sundowner or there is a Spanish bar El Caprico del Puerto opposite each other for reasonable snack prices. Want to see how the rich live, visit the marina area see more million pound yachts than you have ever seen in your life plus the designer shops [I almost bought a pair of denim jeans at e675.50c, but I was 50 cents short in my pocket]. If you order a taxi from the hotel you will be charged e1 more than if you walked to the taxi rank about 10 minutes away downhill.[by the end of the week you maybe thankfull for all those saved 1euros as your money evaporates].
Buy as little as you can at Palma airport, even bigger rip off, fanta 3euros,water 1.60, sandwiches arm and a leg, one guy bought 2 sandwiches, 2 fantas, 2 crisps over 23 euros. Taxi to and from airport around 33e each way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

have just spent 12 days at tomir and hotel was clean and basic but would return in a minute due only to their fun staff who go out their way at all times to amuse kids and adults alike in getting them involved in daily activities although not pushy if you want to be left alone. Bar staff could do with smiling now and then and can say my husband james daughter of 11 megan and myself irene had the most fun in a long time tks to all 4 of you who deserve a medal

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenejamesmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

just got back from long weekend at the Tomir because it was cheaper than the same length stay at centre parks or a haven park in the UK.

This hotel is basic but the apartment was spotless, one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in even though only a 3 star. The bedroom and lounge were roomy. the kitchen not so much... we only have breakfast and a sarny at lunch but if you are expecting to cook a family meal i cant quite see how you would manage to, no oven, 2 small rings and no work area at all.

The evening meal was only 8.50 euros for adults and 4.24 euros per child....well worth the money, buffet which includes meats, fruit, vegetables, starters, salads and desserts, great choice and good quality food. Dont go near the Marina Purto Portals to eat a simple burger will cost between 15 and 25 euros. Go there for a walk to see how the other half live and oggle at the porsches, ferraris, lamborghini's and 6 figure yatchs....

There is a Marineland only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, with a fantastic dolphin and sealion show... a thoroughly enjoyed morning since it was very dull and windy that day....

Evenings at the hotel were OK the shows are not up to much and listening to someone tell you about owls on a saturday night....please!!!! they could do with professional shows now and again. A taxi to nearby Palma Nova will only set you back 6 euros and a bit more to do and cool places to eat....

The pool is a real plus for the hotel, really clean and a lifeguard always on watch... but beware all beds are taken by 7.30 in the morning...

The Staff were very helpful and friendly , the reception staff were also knowledgeable and helpful....

In all we enjoyed our hols, and i have no reservations recommending the hotel, but I myself would probably not go again... maybe palma nova would be more suited for a bit more to do and a bit cheaper to do it.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbera70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

On arrival the staff were very helpful, the apartments were very clean and of a good size. We were overlooking the pool area and had fantastic Views of Palma Nova and the hills. The pool area was very well maintained along with the hotel grounds. The breakfast buffet was great value and very nice!! The area is quite hilly and the only let down was the lack of resturants in the direct area. A couple to try is B29 which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, very nice food and good value! Our faviourite was Jose's which was in Portal Nous village, absoloutly fantastic food and very friendly staff!! Beach is fab but a bit of a treck, uphill on the way back!! Palma Nova is just down the road, costs about 6 euros each way in taxi. Western Water Park is great! We had a fab time and are looking forward to going back to Majorca next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa_a78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Just back from the Tomir - I would only rate it 2 star. Rooms are only cleaned every 3rd day - and that was a quick run around. No great facilities (if your used to 4 star dont go). I would recommend going to palma nova where you will find a great selection of 4 star hotels. Won't be going back & couldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Ola Tomir for 10 days at the beg of August and found it to be the perfect place for people with children, the pool was always clean with a lifeguard on duty all day every day for compleate peace of mind. The Kids club was brilliant and the fun team were lively, friendly and great fun. The food was lovely and the variety was excellent, All in all a great holiday was had by all and we would deff go back again :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portals Nous
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
1,212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
#4 of 7 in Portals Nous
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
OD Port Portals
OD Port Portals
#33 of 180 in Calvia
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel RD Costa Portals
Hotel RD Costa Portals
#90 of 180 in Calvia
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Portals Nous
Iberostar Portals Nous
#2 of 180 in Calvia
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roc Illetas
Roc Illetas
#3 of 3 in Illetes
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Tomir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Tomir

Address: C/ Miguel de Cervantes 4, 07015 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Ola Aparthotel Tomir)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Portals Nous
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Price Range: $65 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Tomir 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular resort, located conveniently close to the Port of Punta Portals, Palmanova and Palma, with its magnificent views of the Costa d’en Blanes beach and nearby Palmanova, is a club for active and family holidays. The marine zoo Marineland is only a few meters away.24-hour reception desk, bar-lounge, buffet restaurant, TV lounge,entertainment and activities hall and mini-club. The solarium on the terrace is surrounded by gardens, with complimentary lounge chairs, in addition to a large swimming pool for adults and a pool for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Tomir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Aparthotel Tomir Hotel Portals Nous
Ola Aparthotel Tomir Portals Nous
OLA Tomir Portals Nous, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing