We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The photographs of this hotel are clearly touched up, the room(s) we were given did not reflect the rather grand rooms on the website, however this is only a minor obstacle. The room(s) are spotlessly clean, the pillows could be better, the bathrooms are clean and well equipped.
The choice of food at breakfast is amazing, everything you could wish for including champagne!
the pool area is clean and well kept, but sadly full of Germans, you have been warned.
The staff are hot and cold, some are very helpfull,,,,,,,,,,,,,some are completely dis-interested. the hotel is in a great location for bars, buses taxi's etc, the marina is a 5 minute walk away

Overall this is a nice place to stay, with a little thought , some staff training in customer service, and TLC it could be GREAT

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sixth floorm avoid 1,2 and 3 as they are BELOW street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We will take them in high consideration in order to mend errors and improve all what we can.

And we will keep on being proud about our hospitality for all visitors, without exception of nationality. We are very happy to make our guests satisfied. They are guests. We don´t ask them where do they come from. They all are welcome, from everywhere, and many of them come back over and over again.

We will try to train our staff more and more in service to all our clients, as human beings. This is the base of every training course.

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    463
    150
    39
    27
See reviews for
228
472
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I think this was my 12th visit here so I don't really have anything to complain about! Some of the green leather seats have been replaced with cream ones which is actually noticeable! Round the pool the shaded area has been increased with some shady tables for the outdoor eatery. Yes you may go for the sun but it gets damned hot in Mallorca and this is a big improvement. There are now also tables outside at the front as an extension to the bar. Very popular with smokers, alas!

I do feel that the staff deserve a special mention, quite a few having worked there for some time. They work long hard hours and deal with travel stressed customers far better than I could. The main man in the dining room seems to have got it all very well organised with a smile too. On the front desk they are all excellent with thanks to the young man (D Hidalgo, on his name tag?) who is as helpful as anyone could be.

Most reviewers seem to have covered most relevant points so i will simply say that my only "complaint" is that I do not come here often enough. Shopping in Palma, an evening swim in the sea before a botle of cava..... Paradise!

Just a further comment about restaurants - Casa Paco does not seem to be listed on TA. Excellent food and excellent value although the staff seem a bit lackadaisical. Probably because customers are locals and expats - great for people watching and hearing Spanish spoken with a Manchester accent!!!

Just wish I was there now!

Room Tip: They all seem pretty similar but if you want a proper double bed its a cama matrimonial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It is great to see that after so many years you are not fed up with us and our island.
We try to offer the best service possible and, sometimes, we fail.
But we keep on trying and, sometimes, we do it.
Ad, sometimes, our guests, like you, appreciate all this.
We are really glad to see that your holiday was what you expected and, perhaps, a little more.
We promise that we will keep on working hard for " this little more ".
Hope to have you as our guests for many, many more years.
Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotels decor and style are somewhat dated now, it is service with a smile and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean.
We didn't use the hotel bar and restaurant very much as there is so much to choose from both in the village and down at the port. We'd certainly use the hotel again as a base, as Portals Nous is such a great bolt hole for its own beach, Illetas, Palma Nova and of course Palma itself. Thanks

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
If you found what you wanted, great!

We thank you very much for your comments and we will try to offer you and any other visitor our best possible service.

We hope to welcome you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned and had a very good time, as usual. The hotel is in a great location. There are some fantastic places to eat nearby - Jose, Celia, Italian Square, all excellent as are the many restaurants based around the Port. The Ship pub next door is fabulous too.

I had a Spa treatment which was excellent and found all the hotel staff friendly, courteous and helpful.

Yes, the hotel is a bit dated. But most people use the hotel as a base and tend to be out a lot of the time. Breakfast is good, but could be better. When you get an enormous choice, you don't get the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It is nice to see that you feel comfortable coming back and that your holidays have been as you expected.
Thanks for your comments and we will keep on trying our best to improve the service we offer you for the future.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ok so let me start by saying its in a great location and you wont be dissapointed by the choice of bars and places to eat, the harbout if thats you thing is over priced and generally not as good as the places in portals nous i.e Nick at palm continental- great food great prices and just over the road.

Hotel issues -

1. If the director of salles hotel could please speak to the chap who is older and has shoulder length grey hair, this guy should not be working on the front desk! he seemed unhelpful actually shut an ajoining door in my face when asked where the spare room was for my golf clubs! the MAIN issue was late checkout, theres a younger guy that clearly belongs on the front desk he said it should be no problem just call me in the morning, so i call and yep i get the older guy that hates working in tourism he says not possible! me infuriated as i have to start packing and im on flippin holiday have to go down just got out of bed and ask him face to face to which he says sorry not possible....this is a total disgrace i would of paid as i didnt want to leave the hotel till 730pm on the night..back to the younger guy after i sorted it myself by having friends staying there i borrowed there room. so the younger guy tells me at 4pm that day after rushing around no problem sir???? Salles director get this guy out or off the front desk as hes damaging your reputation in a very big way and if he is the director of the hotel well find another job not dealing with people paying allot to go away and relax.

2. reception need to tell you before you go to your room where everything is? and give you towels for the pool, the amount of people i saw turn up at the pool and then have to go back up to reception, an uneeded task when could of been sorted at check in

3. the hotel is a bit dated needs quite a bit spent on it

Other than the above i would go back BUT the only reason people are staying loyal is because of its location so i think salles need to turn it around a little as that loyalty will only last so long, get rid of the horrible wooden boarded corridors.
The brekfast well its ok but after the first day we ate out even though the chaps that invite you to a table seem lovely enough i feel its a bit uneeded and they could be better suited elsewhere around the hotel you only need waitresses?

Apologies for sounding a bit harsh about this hotel but i think its a shame some of the staff let it down in a big way by not sharing the same passion as its director or some of the more friendlier staff.

get for a good price and you shouldnt be dissapointed..just steer clear of the older guy as hes not worth talking to about well anything you might need help with

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We feel very sorry for you not having enjoyed your stay wiyh us.

This is what we can understand after reading your comments, which we really accept and will use to mend errors and improve our service.

Among all what you write, that we respect and thank you for taking the time to inform us, there is a comment that affects guests who, honestly, enjoy their holidays with us, year after year, and, sometimes, more than once a year.

These guests have the right to feel pleased or not, exactly like you.

But these guests are not masoquist. It might be possible that very few could be, but not as many as the amount that comes back over and over again.

Once this is clear, we repeat that we regret very much your discomfort.

We promise that, after thanking you, once more, for your comments, we will work hard to improve our service as much as we can.

Every day we try our best to satisfy our guests and we will keep on doing it.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from the Marina Portals. First impressions were very good as our room was made ready early for us. It is not too far from the airport so only 20 minutes or so drive. It is a bit dated in places but having said that it is very clean and well maintained. We found most members of staff were very friendly indeed. We enjoyed sitting outside the hotel at night with a drink but as others have said the tables were not cleared very often and it sometimes took a long time to get a drink due to the fact there was only one barman. They might sellmore drinks if this was made more efficient. We were on half board and found the food quality and choice was extremely good. Manuel and his team in the restaurant were very frienldly and efficient, seating you with a greeting every time we entered the restaurant. We did eat out in the Marina - not cheap but great for people watching. Portals itself does have quite a good choice of eateries if you were on b & b but as the food in the hotel was good we didn't bother.

The pool area is ok, there is a poolside bar and and separate snack bar serving food that we used at lunchtimes. There are plenty of sunbeds but quite a lot are really past their best. These really need sorting out before next season. Everyone wants the ones with the back rest as the others are very uncomfortable,

Our room was very nice with a double balcony overlooking the sea. The rooms were spotless and we had maid service every day. We had a fridge in our room which was the mini bar but it was useful for keeping your own drinks cold. The beds were a bit too hard for our liking but hey you are on holiday! Would I return or recommend - yes I think I would given its location and the fact that it is well maintained and clean and most of the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyJools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
After such a holiday description we can only say that you really cared about your satisfaction.
Understanding that you returned home, thinking that it was a good idea to travel to Majorca and that your experience among us was positive, we can only feel extremely happy for you.
This is the best reward we can imagine for us: your satisfaction.
And we thenk you a lot for all the comments you make because they will help us improving our service and , hopefully , bsee you again and share some more time with you.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visit the area every summer but this was our first in school holidays. We knew the location we wished to secure but the price of our usual hotel was 3 k for the week!! So I went online and the price for this was so good we were worried it was going to disappoint. Not at all, we were thrilled with our family room, which was 2 good sized bedrooms with adjoining door overlooking the pool on a low level. Staff very friendly and helpful and all very clean.
Great location for going to the Marina and the beach though all down a very steep hill so tended to walk down and taxi back (3-4 euros).
All in all, great value for money and would return . Definitely a bit dated but for those who want 5 star in August you will have to pay for it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are really glad that you found the place you wanted for your family holidays. Hopefully you will return and we can give you all you can expect of us once again.
Your comments will estimulate us to increase our efforts to improve our service.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portals Nous
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.2 mi away
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
#3 of 7 in Portals Nous
120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
#6 of 7 in Portals Nous
78 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindner Golf & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Marina Portals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Marina Portals

Property: Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Address: Carretera Andratx Km 10, 07181 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Portals Nous
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Marina Portals 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional-style Marina Portals offers stunning Mediterranean Sea views just 7 minutes' walk from the beach. It has a pool and a spa, and the air-conditioned rooms have a kettle and satellite TV. Guests have free access to the spa, which has a water circuit, sauna and steam bath, as well as chromotherapy and other relaxation and beauty treatments. Marina Portals also has a large sun terrace with loungers. All the spacious rooms in Marina Portals have a private balcony and free Wi-Fi. They have antique-style furnishings and safes. Many of the rooms have sea views. Marina Portals offers a breakfast and dinner buffet service. The hotel's snack bar has a terrace, and the Coral Bar offers a range of drinks. Marina Portals is less than 10 minutes' drive from the capital of Palma de Mallorca. The bars and restaurants of Portals Nous, as well as the marina, are within 10 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salles Hotel Marina Portals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Portals Hotel
Marina Portals Nous
Salles Hotel Marina Portals Portals Nous, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing