We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Again!”
Review of Jose's restaurante e bar - CLOSED

Jose's restaurante e bar
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent - Again!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'm a regular in Portals Nous and this restaurant ticks all the boxes. Good food well presented; sensible prices; and great staff.

I notice another couple had the lamb shank and the pork. Warning - do not have starter first!!! My wife and I had difficulty walking back across the road after a meal of that quality/quantity!!

Keep up the good work1!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been on a family holiday now to portals twice now and each time jose's has been nothing but brilliant, marco is friendly and always smiling. We actually went 2 nights in a row because we were craving the food. Best place to eat around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here on our first night. Lamb Shank was to die for and my partner had the Pork which was sublime. Thank you!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing steak, top service, will definitely return”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's great to find a restaurant that is so good on all levels you know you will return. I was recommended Jose's restaurant by some friends and very pleased I went. I had shared the steak cooked on a volcanic stone with my other half. It came out smelling delicious and sizzling away on the stone and you finished cooking it to your liking on the stone. So not only did it taste amazing it was a bit of fun too. Also it was a very generous portion and as I had a small apetite that night the staff kindly wrapped the rest for me to take home and enjoy delicious steak sandwiches on the beach the next day!
I was really impressed with the red wine that was served, I took a picture of the label which I will try and upload after writing this! I am a lover of red wine so very pleased how nice this one was.
Jose's also has great atmosphere, there must be a lot of returning customers because I saw a few people talking with the staff on a first name basis.
A lovely evening with great food, wine, service and friends!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00cass00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious, well cooked food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sat inside on lovely round table for 7 of us. Good selection of food and specials available. My son loved the sweet and sour chicken, we also had beef stroganoff, ribs and fish. Great service and lovely food, would definitely return to Jose's

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's restaurante e bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing