We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we have just come back from honeymoon at this lovely hotel . the hotel is set in lovely grounds the staff are very lovely I would like to mention the Thomson reps Richard and Helen they are such lovely people and very professional in there work they couldn't do enough for us . the food is very good but on the second week we felt a little let down as the food was mainly fish as a person who doesn't like fish I was struggling to find something to eat so had to have mainly salad and cheese . the desserts are to die for they are divine . I would recommend booking into the la vista restaurant the food was lovely it is the same menu every night but we didn't mind that as it was lovely the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us they work very hard running her there and every where . the room we had was wounderfull with amazing sea views . the only thing that let it down was no tea or coffee in the rooms you can hire a kettle for two euros a day . I would go back for our wedding anniversary but thomson are not at that hotel next year which is a real shame

Room Tip: try and get a room in levanter with a sea view level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clare k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've just returned from two very relaxing weeks at the Luabay Galatzo.
I had read many negative reviews before we went and as this obviously a personal view I found most of them petty and unfounded. The food at all the restaurants was absoltely wonderful oh and just to put one review right straight away the smaller lower pool next to the Vista Del Ray is all inclusive drinks and food . And its so quiet down there out first week their I thought a vow of silence had been taken , Im joking.
When we there the ages were mixed entirely from people who have just Uni to people who couldnt remember if they ever had been to Uni.
The room we had was fantatstic massive balcony looking out to sea and torwards the mountains.
The Entertainment was absolutelty fine every night however i was a bit doubtful about the duo which the male singer seemed to dissapear into a changing room bounced back out having changed his tie very odd, The couple from Edinburgh can confirm this.
The walk to the beach is easy the taxis reasonable the busses can be busy from the town to Palama but its all and adventure and fun.
Drinks all fine they must be we all seemed to be drinking enough of them.
Oh as to the chipped crockery a small number of bowls that was all.
This is out first adult hotel weve been to and if this the standard then we will be looking for similar again without doubt.
We had a great time thanks to Penny and Rob (get that Uke ) and to Helen and to Richard good luck to the four of you for the future.
Oh and sorry i forgot to mention all the staff Brilliant and thanks.

Room Tip: i can only say that room 332 334 335 336 have great veiws and a very short walk to the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cdmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Firstly, please please please ignore the couple of negative reviews that are on here about this hotel. They are very much a minority and really don't represent how lovely this hotel is. Tucked away in the hills over paguera, it really is the epitome of chilled out. No loud music round the pool (part from the 1130 aqua gym class!) low key evening entertainment (don't miss Adam Reece on the Friday night) and no hard sell on joining in activities etc. the mix of people both age wise and nationality wise is great, with 20 somethings rubbing shoulders with the more mature traveller, and visitors from the UK, Germany, Holland and Spain amongst many. Helen and Richard the reps are very nice and again low key, and always ready to help. The hotel staff are very courteous and the 3 guys behind the bar far from being 'numpties' as described by another reviewer on here, were polite and good humoured, even when dealing with the less than polite 'I am the big man around the pool' element that seem to come with the territory on adult only deals. We arrived at 1230am and were greeted by a lovely man on reception and even given plates of food in case we were hungry. The food was also very nice, and yes, I have been to places where there were perhaps more dishes, but you generally find they are all rather samey whereas here the food was tasty, hot and with a enough variety - the fish dishes are particularly good. Anyone who could find something to eat must be really fussy or unadventurous!! Our room was a good size and had a spacious bathroom. We were in the main building with a large balcony that came with table, chairs and sun beds! We overlooked the outdoor terrace and pool and unless you want to be in bed by 9pm this wasn't an issue as the entertainment is done by 11pm. We did the orange blossom trip which is a nice day out but be warned if you don't like heights as the drive up into the mountains is a very narrow windey road with some very big drops! I also had a lovely facial at the spa - prices on a par with a better UK day spa. Overall this is a little gem of a hotel and a real shame that it's being lost from the Thomson couples programme.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank EmmaTTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I have just spent a week in this hotel and can honestly say that if you want a relaxing holiday then this is the place. It was our first holiday in Mallorca and we were reluctant to go to Palma as it can be very busy. Paguera is much quieter and the town is lovely with plenty of restaurants and shops. We booked all inclusive and were very happy with the quality of the food and drinks. Only disappointment was the Tapas Bar as they only served a few bits and pieces, not very exciting menu. Be warned that the A la Carte restaurant doesn't have a great choice but the food was tasty. The main restaurant was very good with lots of variety - salads, main, dessert etc and quality of food very good. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Rooms were clean and grounds outside nicely kept. It's worth to book a sea view room as the views are lovely from the main building. There were always enough pool chairs and umbrellas at both pools. If there was anything you needed the staff were very obliging to help. There is nightly entertainment in the hotel, some of it was good and some not so good but we didn't mind as we discovered a snooker table outside which kept us entertained. On our day of departure Reception organised a taxi for us at 6am and they had kindly arranged a small breakfast for us before leaving. All in all a great hotel and would highly recommend it if you want a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms in the main building by reception are better than the wing where the spa is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank lucia070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived very late, and were made very welcome by the reception staff and had a good quick check in, also provided with food and drink, which we much appreciated. Our room was excellent and the housekeeping was every day (nice clean room). Food great choice and GOOD, we would recommend the Tapas Bar especially the young waitress (didn't catch her name).We would like to mention Helen top marks (I hope your new business goes well ,we're sure it will be a great success) Penny and Rob you were fabulous (Should try The Voice) Richard the Thomson Rep a cheerful and helpful character always a smile and a wave and finally Alessandro (Del Piero) I must say we have never done any Hotel activates before we meet Ally he made it fun, enjoyable and entertaining keep up the good work Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday special. Sjoelbak Liz and Ping Pong Peter

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building seem to get the best reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sjoelbak-Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived back from this hotel on 15/7/14 after a weeks stay at this hotel.
We had a late flight from Gatwick, arrived at Palma and got on the coach for our transfer to hotel. The whole transfer and airport process was very quick and smooth. Hotel is probably 35mins from airport. We arrived at hotel at 03:45. Greeted by a man at reception who checked us in quickly and explained everything we needed to know about the hotel. They had layed us out some food however we didn't want it at that time of the morning...the thought was there which we appreciated.
Our room was in the Levante building. Not as nice as the main rooms, but then we didn't pay for a sea view, so we're happy with what we got. Room was HUGE!! Good housekeeping and no problems at all.
There are lots of parts of the hotel to walk around. Two pools- we preferred the pool which had bbq snacks at lunch- very nice!!! We were lucky enough to be there to watch paella being cooked live- delicious!! Excellent chef.
The other pool they call is the vista del Ray. Very quiet but also very nice. In the evening you can sit and watch the sunset go down from the lovely seating area in this part of the hotel. Also you can visit the vista del Ray a la carte restaurant there. We never went, but I heard it was lovely- just very very small portions. You can visit this restaurant for free as many times as you like.
They also had a tapas restaurant. The same applies as I mentioned with the other restaurant. Book In advance, but enjoy as much as you like. It was delicious and the waitress was excellent.
Food in the main restaurant was good too. The usual you get in these hotels.
The all inclusive options were great. Drinks were excellent and alcohol perfect!! All fizzy drinks were actually fizzy too!!!

Helen who works for thomson as part of the animation team was lovely. Didn't bother you, but did her job well.
The only crockery we saw that was chipped was a few cereal bowls. Nothing to cry about.
Evening entertainment was ok. Had the world cup final whilst we were there- the hotel catered for it well.
My boyfriend received a sports massage in the spa- excellent value for money. The slight issue was that no one was ever on the spa reception...just go straight to main reception to book it. Spa and gym modern and good.
Late check out room was excellent. We got it until 11pm at night and the ladies on reception were so helpful and genuinely nice.
Quick mention of Leila the waitress... best by far! Happy and helpful.

Great week as a 28-30 year old couple. By the way there are couples of all ages here.... not all old as some reviews state.
Relaxation and peace and quiet Is what you get here.
Thank you for a lovely week!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Majorcafan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a week cruising and at first was a bit disappointed.
Our room was in the block away from reception and our view from the balcony was not the best.
We asked Francine at reception if there was any chance of an upgrade which we would have been happy to pay for. She asked us to come back after breakfast the following day, which we did.
We were lucky enough to be offered a room in the main building with the balcony overlooking the pool and sea, was fabulous view. Francine and the staff were very accomodating with no fuss whatsover, and no extra charge! Now thats service for you!
Two days later we had a knock at our door and one of the staff came in with a bottle of sparkling wine and a selection of lovely cakes courtesy of the hotel with a note saying sorry you were unhappy on your first day in the hotel. What a lovely gesture and totally unexpected and very muchappreciated by us. Thanks to the team. All the staff were very helpful and eager to ensure you enjoyed your holiday, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Food was really good, hot and great variety so something for everyone. If you fancy getting out of the hotel at night taxi fare into Paguera around 4/5euros Santa Ponsa approx 10 euros.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately Thomson will no longer have this hotel next year which is a shame, we would have definately gone back. Thanks again to all the staff we met which made our holiday memeorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank sewing400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,343 reviews
8.6 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
870 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
6.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range: $126 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing