We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weeks chillout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for a weeks chillout”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from a great all inclusive week at the Galatzo. Adult only hotel, no screaming kids, fantastic. Room was excellent with an outstanding view as hotel is on top of hill over looking Bay. Best entertainment ever. Great Spa, excellent service. Perhaps if there was one downside the food could have been less repetitive, would struggle staying any longer. That said it shouldn't really put you off. If you want busy nightlife, partying etc it's not for you. If you just want to chill and unwind, perfect. Remember I said it is on top of a hill this is a hint, the hotel is not on the flat, if you have problems walking it might not be for you although there are lifts.

Room Tip: rooms on 6/7th floors 02-08 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    399
    158
    53
    33
See reviews for
133
821
18
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in a gorgeous hilltop location. You get fantastic views, but be warned you are quite a long walk away from the main town. It was nice walking to the town at night when it was cooler though. The hotel provides a shuttle bus almost hourly to the town with times advertised at the reception. The town has typical tourist shops and a busier vibe at night with bars and restaurants. Not as busy as Santa Ponsa, but we preferred that.

In the hotel the wait staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the Thomson Reps. The buffet restaurant was superb with a large variety to choose from. I particularly liked the themed nights (Japanese, Mexican etc). The only issue was the number of people leaving towels on sunbeds. We spent most of our time at the much quieter, indoor pool at the spa (found in the Levante building).

Room Tip: The rooms in the basement of the Levante building aren't good (dark, dingy and ours wasn't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay with us. It is great to know that you were satisfied with our service and the food we offer and had a fantastic time staying with us during your holidays. We will pass your feedback on to our staff and would love to welcome you as our guests soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed here on a Thompson package after a weeks Med cruise.

So easy to be transported around it was disappointing that our room was not ready but no fault of hotel as everyone was checking out right until 12:00hrs. The food was fantastic! Having not been all inclusive before we were a little trepidatious as with only one restaurant we thought it could be restrictive - how wrong. With five or six hot meals plus cooked fresh meat and fish every meal it was so hard to decide what to choose - all good quality, well presented and very fresh. We did eat at the a la carte on my birthday and this was equally well presented.

The second pool was great for our needs and very quite despite the hotel being full. I would echo others comments about drinks service at night but going to the bar solved this. ALL staff really freindly and helpful - in many languages.

Out of the way location which we thought would be a hassle but we had a car for a few days to do the wider island but the rest of the time we had no need to leave the resort.

One night excursion with Thompson - let down very badly with their service but then that's a package for you - no reflection on the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building by the restaurant - great location - overlooking the terrace and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I came here at the end of July for a quick week away before starting a new job. We were looking forward to a restful week at the couples all inclusive hotel, but were disappointed that 'all inclusive' isn't strictly 'all inclusive'.

If you wanted a drink at a the 'quiet' pool then you had to pay for it! If you wanted to use any of the 'four poster' sunbeds - you had to pay for them as an extra - how is that all inclusive?

You also had to pay for a meal at the al a carte restaurant - although you did get 20% discount being a Thompson customer, but drinks were included.

Food
In the buffet restaurant was excellent - plenty of it, lots of choice and something to please everyone. The staff were attentive and really helpful, however it was meant to be air conditioned but was exceptionally hot, on day 2 we had to fill out a questionnaire and I suspect that everyone put down that it was hot in the restaurant because from day 3 the windows were open and it was a lot cooler.

The food in the al a carte restaurant was again excellent, and although we had to pay for the food we got the drinks included as part of the inclusive (so if it can work in the evening why can't it work during the day?)

We also went to the Tapas restaurant, and although the food was good, the service was a bit odd, you were shown to your table and we had to wait for all the other tables to be filled before we got a drink - only for a coke to be served in a jug - obviously it went flat very quickly!

Lunch around the main pool was, to say the least, embarrassing - we had the choice of one thing only on each day which consisted of either a hotdog, a hamburger, paella (which wasn't that great), fish & chips - if you wanted any salad you had to go to the buffet restaurant.

Afternoon snacks consisted of packet sandwiches and a few croissants - not really that appetizing.

Pool
Well for someone wanting a relaxing week away having to get up at 6.30am to ensure you got a sunbed was ridiculous - especially as by the time I got down to the pool at least 2 dozen sunbeds had already been taken. On one day the sunbeds in front of us had already been taken and the occupants didn't actually come out to the sunbeds until about 2pm - completely selfish on their part - at least my partner and I were sat on our sunbeds from 9.15'ish until about 4.30'ish.

Entertainment
Was good, both Kelly and Caz were excellent and couldn't be faulted - they were always happy but never pressurised you into doing anything. The in house singing duo were good, but felt that the music was very much 'soft rock' orientated - not our choice.

The only down side in the evening was the drinks service, it was so hit and miss, the waiters, who worked hard, seemed completely disorganised. They didn't have a set section of tables to look after and seemed to wander all over the place and then forgot who's drink was whose. We found that the best option was to get a drink at the bar, get a table, half way through the drink the waiter would come over and ask if we wanted another one, we said yes, at which point one of us would go to the bar and order another drink - we would get that drink, go back to the table and get half way through it before getting the drink ordered from the waiter. All it needs is numbers on the tables and the waiters having set tables to wait on - it really isn't rocket science.

Would we go back - no!

I think the hotel needs to make a decision on whether it's going to do all inclusive in the true sense or not - don't play at it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeusMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Zeus, thank you very much for being our guest and writing this review about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in our main restaurant and overall had a good holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helps us spot weak points that need improvement. We will therefore pass your comments about the snack bar, the service in the a la carte restaurant and in the evening as well as the sunbed issue to the corresponding department, so they can look into them in more detail. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our holiday here. There was plenty of room around the terraces for sunbathing and beautiful scenery from the hilltop to gaze at all day. The actual resort was disappointing but the hotel provided everything we needed. Food was lovely, special diets catered well for and not too much repetition. There was a good choice of daily entertainment but night times a little lacking and ending too early at 11pm. The Thomson staff worked extremely hard as did the hotel staff and we were very well treated. Our room was amazing and we slept well every night. Will go again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed 28th sept to 5th Oct
lovely welcome on arrival with champagne and efficient reception staff. stayed in the levante building room 403 sea and garden view very quiet, beds a bit hard though. two tvs separate lounge big bathroom, shower soaked the floor after every shower, which made the floor very slippery.
great selection of food lovely to try the sushi not so keen on the wasabi paste yuk! staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help, super efficient especially Christina who also tried her best to teach me Spanish.

music on the terrace in the day was annoying for us as sometimes you want to sit in peace. evening entertainment was good esp the flamenco dancers and the swing big band singer. caz was super also. waiters in the evening were very good at remembering your drinks order,
shuttle bus was ok but you need to fix the middle rear seatbelt. price for taxi back was 4.50 euro very good.
met some great people esp couple from chesterfield who said our dancing was very smooth please get in touch with couple from Louth, and lovely couple from Tonbridge did you use our table on the terrace on last night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay with us. We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and were satisfied with the food we offer and the evening entertainment. Your feedback about the music by the pool will be passed to the corresponding department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thats 3 times in 14 months. After never going back to the same place twice, we have found the ultimate hotel, staff, atmosphere and food.
If this place was open over the Christmas Holidays we would book in, no matter about the weather at that time of year.
Nothing is too much trouble, the staff welcomed us back with open arms, and we just took up where we left off 8 weeks before.
Anyone one who gives negatives about this place need to have a word with themselves.
It is what you make it. Occasionally over the past 3 visits, people have moaned about something trivial, but looking at them they would moan about anything and everywhere. They ought to be banned for lowering the tone.
Back for more next year. Miguel should be the given the highest pay grade in hotel. I have told him to tell his boss!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, but for all good sea views and light you need odd numbers in the Levante bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rob, thank you for returning to our hotel and writing this review. It is so great to know that you enjoy every little detail of our hotel and we will be sure to share your feedback with our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,167 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#11 of 52 in Peguera
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valentin Paguera Hotel & Aptos
22.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Property: Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing