We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and Refuelled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in August. We were thoroughly impressed with the standard of the hotel and the service. We were in the levante building, the rooms were huge with a living area and 2 bathrooms. The restaurant had a variety of different foods and changed themes every night. The pool was clean and ample amount of sunbeds although it not be in the sun. The hotel was situated on top of a hill and is a 20 minute walk into the local town. We didn't find this a problem in the day, but found there wasn't many places to walk in the evening to wander other than Peguera.The hotel had a mini bus which dropped you off and picked you up at certain times which was handy. The entertainment was great and catered for all ages including ourselves at 20 and 21.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that didn't have a problem with walking a fair distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaylover591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 10 days at The Galatzo from 11 August, half board. Our junior suite was very well prepared and extremely clean. We'd have preferred a double bed and took turns to sleep of the crack between the twins! Great powerful shower over a bath in a generous bathroom. Air con. was really effective in the room. Sun lounger areas were well maintained with a 'lively' and a quieter pool. Towels were out at dawn, so don't lie in if you want a pool view, we always found some free loungers at any time of day.The grounds were well maintained, but take a torch, after dark the was no lighting in large parts, it looks like the electrics are being upgraded.

Restaurant was good with attentive staff, other Thomson hotels at the same grade that we have stayed in have had better quality components to the food, but it was all fresh and well cooked. Gents, although the hotel info. states that long trousers are to be worn in the evening, this was never enforced in our stay, so don't take too many- the air con was not so effective in the restaurant, often windows were open, so shorts are a better idea.

The location of the hotel was great for views, but the 20 minute walk to the beach and Peguera is steep. There is a courtesy shuttle, but only a few times a day, so expect a steep walk up the hill or a 5 Euro taxi fare to return. The resort itself is bustling and pretty. We'd recommend Peguera Car Hire in the main street very helpful, multi lingual and keen prices. Plenty of parking at the hotel.

The staff are uniformly brilliant at The Galatzo, always smiling and generous with their time. Even the smallest criticisms were taken very seriously and we were asked for feedback twice during our stay. The whole management was very effective.

Would we go back? Well probably not because of the walk into town, but that was our choice and if you want to be all inclusive and just stay within the hotel, The Galatzo is one we would recommend.

Room Tip: Go Spledit! They have rooms at different grades if you are prepared to pay more than the package pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Paul, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review. It is great to know you were satisfied with our staff’s service and liked your room and the facilities in general. Your feedback is very helpful and we will pass your comments about the twin bed and the food to the corresponding departments. We always aim to offer our guests the best holiday experience and hope we achieved this for you. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Galatzo and wish we were back there. We spent the second week of our honeymoon at the Galatzo after a week aboard the Thompson Dream cruising the Med. We were looking to relax after what seemed like a million sightseeing trips. After getting dropped off first which is a bounus and never happened to us before we were checked in by the reception staff, unfortunately our room was not ready until 2pm, so we filled in the time waiting with lunch and sitting on the terrace. Our room was really what you would call a suite with a balcony, very comfortable and keep amazingly clean. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was a feast of beautiful food and very attentive serving staff. My one tip is to make sure you have a little extra room in your clothes as the desserts are to die for and you can't just have one!! The pool area was quite busy but there were other areas to sit and we liked our sunbeds so that we could look out over the view of Santa Ponsa. Entertainment staff were great and didn't make you to do anything if it wasn't your thing, I enjoyed the aqua aerobics. My husband made use of the Gym but unfortunately we never went to the spa. In the evenings we generally watched the entertainment, the bar staff were rushed off there feet and the waiters were great. All in all a great holiday, would love to go again.

Room Tip: We didn't use the other pool area as you had to pay at that bar and it was a bit of a trek to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sarah, thank you very much for choosing our hotel for this special holiday and taking the time to write a review about it. We are so glad to know you had a lovely time and enjoyed every part of our hotel to the fullest. Your feedback about the food, our staff and the facilities in general is very much appreciated and we will pass your kind words on to everyone involved in making your honeymoon special. We wish you all the best for your future lives together and hope we get to welcome you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We're just back from a week AI at the Galatzo on a Thomson's Couples break with no screaming parents. Never sure whether hotels are going to live up to the stunning pics shown on the website, but this one surpassed expectations. The hotel was in a beautiful location in the hills above Peguera away from the crowds. There were mixed nationalities staying at the hotel, which was pleasing. The architecture and interior design were impressive. The hotel staff were friendly and professional - the right combination. The food was excellent with an amazing choice - even for veggies. The main pool was crowded, but this is to be expected in August and there were a further two pools. There was a lot of steps, so important for less mobile to select appropriate rooms in the main building. Thomson's entertainment was relentless, intrusive and at times Butlinesque, but it was easy to escape. The courtesy bus and a 3 day hire car meant that we could get around this very beautiful island. We would book again definitely...for a week.

Room Tip: Many steps throughout the grounds, which could be tricky for less mobile, so a room in the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOel3212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to the Galatzo for our honeymoon at the end of July and we were very happy with out choice. It was the first 'adults only' hotel we'd ever been to and were not sure how it would be but were really pleased with our choice. Staff were friendly and helpful, service was great and food was always fresh with plenty of choice. We arrived at about 3am and were greeted by lovely helpful staff and then had cakes and bubbly in our room with a 'congratulations' card which was a lovely touch. Rooms were always cleaned nicely and air-con was great. We had the most wonderful sea view from out lovely balcony. Shuttle bus down to the beach was easy and handy so being in a quieter location was not a problem. Staff and service all round was fab and the night at the tapas br worth remembering to book! Fully recommend and wish we could go back! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HillFarmJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned after a week at this excellent hotel. The food quality and range of dishes at both lunch time and at dinner was very good indeed and never disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and from the moment we arrived until we left did everything to make our stay enjoyable. A special mention to the waiter Miguel who amused us each night with his antics. We had a villa overlooking the bay and this was very spacious and cleaned to a very satisfactory standard. The main pool was always kept clean as were all the hotel grounds. We enjoyed the entertainment each night and was certainly the best we have experienced in a Mediterranean hotel even though it finished quite early at 11 o'clock.
Difficult to find any negatives but the one visit to the tapas restaurant was disappointing. Nothing special about it at all, no atmosphere and indifferent courses, wished we had eaten in the main restaurant. Shuttle bus needs to be bigger as only 8 can travel at any one time. Not a hotel where you can walk along the promenade as it is some distance away from the resort however this should not deter you from enjoying your stay at this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: A villa is very quiet and not in the main building and so less chance of being disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seekingthesunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a very relaxing holiday and were especially satisfied with the food we offer, our staff’s friendliness and the facilities in general. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we thank you for helping us improve even further. We will therefore pass your comments about the tapas restaurant and the shuttle service to the corresponding departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Galatzo and have had no problems whatsoever. I'd read the reviews beforehand and as always, went with an open mind. We arrived around 4am and checked in straight away with no problems, found our room and went straight to bed. The room was great (412 in the Levante Building) and larger than I expected with a living room, bedroom and a great large bathroom with everything we needed including 2 mini fridges. A nice extra would have been tea and coffee facilities as it was quite a walk from the bar to our room to carry drinks. The balcony looked out over some trees but we could see the sea and it was fine as I don't go on holiday to sit on a balcony. The rooms were spotless clean and the bed was large and very comfy with crisp white linen. We asked for 2 extra pillows and these were in our room within minutes. Our room was also very quiet and we were never disturbed.

The restaurant was laid out well and was a little warm at times but manageable. The food was good and we had plenty of choice and we never went hungry. The waiters & waitresses were very good and bought drinks as soon as we picked a table and empty plates were removed efficiently. The food was always replaced quickly when it was running low so I'm not sure what people were moaning about saying there was no breakfast left.

The pool area was clean and the bar staff were very friendly. We did have to get up early and do the sunbed run but most hotels where I've stayed before have been the same so you are kind of prepared for it. The sunbeds were comfy with mattresses and there were plenty of parasols. The first couple of days were very quiet but after that there was some low background music played which was just nice and we didn't hear anyone complain about it. We did go down to the Vista Del Ray pool one afternoon and it was very peaceful and lovely and we did buy a couple of drinks (although we were all inclusive) but they were not very expensive.

The entertainment staff, Caz and Kelli were both lovely and great fun and worked really hard. You didn't get hassled to do any activities which was nice. The duo, Infusion sang by the pool a couple of times and also most nights and had a varied choice of songs and we enjoyed it all. The entertainment did end at 11pm and some nights we did feel like staying out later but at the end of the day, we chose this hotel for a relaxing break and that's exactly what we had.

Paguera is predominantly German but larger than I was expecting and nice to have a wander around and cheap enough to get to by taxi at 4 euros each way. We also went to Santa Ponsa by taxi which was about 8 euros each way.

All in all a very relaxing enjoyable holiday and we were quite sad to leave but would definitely go back and will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minx03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Enrique Le Senne - Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words for our staff. It is great to know you were satisfied with your room, our service and the facilities and atmosphere in general and felt very comfortable at our hotel. We feel honoured to know you enjoyed every part of your well-deserved holiday and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotel Lido Park
#12 of 52 in Peguera
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bella Colina
Hotel Bella Colina
#7 of 52 in Peguera
104 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#8 of 52 in Peguera
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
Price Range: $123 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing