We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down for Thomsons Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let down for Thomsons Holidays”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is not a dream trip. We had two weeks here in September . On arrival management tried to sell us splendid package, which we declined. But had to pay supplyment for seaview room , which was nice. After only been at this hotel for a few days you realise that Thomsons really need to get real. Food was very poor ( Would never want to eat pigs cheeks) after opening each food server you expect some appetising food, but guess what there was none!! Alcohol drinks were ok, cava drinkable. Entertainment was average and on some nights this just did not happen.
On the the Catamaran trip we booked, we were dumped in Magaluf by a none English speaking driver ,who was very abrupt to some of the passengers. He pointed towards the beach and then drove off. The group waited totally confused for 20 Mins until the catamaran finally arrived. The trip really should have been cancelled as the sea was too rough. Again this is what Thomsons are good at selling!!!
We found that the staff were very friendly in the Restarants and at the poolside bar ( bottom pool) Especially Anna who made us laugh and very friendly, also David in the main Restarant.
Would we go back , NO!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Yvonne, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with our staff and were satisfied with the service offered. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass your complaints about the food on to the respective department in order to initiate changes. Thank you for being our guest, we would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    411
    163
    55
    33
See reviews for
140
843
18
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

do not stay at this hotel please shop around , on entering the hotel with two other couples it took over 45 mins to be served with a could not be bothered attitude with a glass of cheap bubbly , then after being given a map of the hotel with crude instructions of how to get to our room 509 we got lost with another couple and had to ask sunbathers directions. on entering our room we where greated with a damp drearie room looking out on to a mud bank and when knealing on the floor in the bedroom ended up with two very wet knees the carpet was sodden , of to resception to change room no problem one hour later in room 616 , with a strange smell managed one night with lots of after shave spread about but could not stand the morning smell (raw sewage) , of to resception to change room no problem one hour later room 701 nice room lovely views not damp not smelly but wait for it oh yes two lifts attached to room clunk , clunk , clickety click all day and all night not moving again as only on four day break . right , next ,(food and restuarant) food very good i have to say could have been more choice and a choice of juice other than orange at breakfast and coffee at dinner . now the resuarant dirty cuttlery cups and plates also the china was cracked and chipped some times sharpe enougth to injure ,and watch out for the lipstick on the glasses , not my shade , next the pool dirty would not be the word in the four days we stayed the filtration system was not used and as i can tell no treatment was added to the pool nor was it tested the mess on the bottom of the pool was disguting a soup of god knows what , as you can tell did not use the pool and when we complained a lad turned up with net to scoup the larger lumps out that was it . A WARNING befor you use the pool check out the under water lights at night to see what you are swimming in QI. The staff where very good even though there could have been more , weather nice , people nice, reps helpful , but they had our money, tough and put up with it thats how we felt ,complete waste of value for money needs updating

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Andy, thank you for being our guest and for writing this review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. Your complaints concerning the food choice, the crockery and cuttlery and the pool are being passed on to the responsible departments and discussed within the team. Our guests’ feedback is very important and much appreciated as it will help us improve in the future. We would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The good points. staff very friendly and helpful, although some did seem a bit clueless about what was available and what was not. The drinks Whisky, Gin, wine and beer that we sampled were ok for an all inclusive (dont expect recognized brands). The room was very clean and we couldnt fault it. The entertainment was excellent some of the best we have seen at a hotel like this. One four piece band was stunning and I would have paid money to see them, completely unexpected in a hotel. The setting (if you want to lay around the pool and read) plus have good views and surroundings was excellent.
The bad points NUMBER ONE THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE really not up to standard with very greasy,fatty bacon at breakfast, and the same things being trotted out night after night in the evenings with a poor selection of hot dishes, and no cold meats to go with salad
We were supposed to get a fresh bottle of water in our room fridge every day but that didnt happen so had to re-fill a bottle from the water dispenser by the pool despite asking at reception. The sun beds by the pool are extremely hard if you suffer from a bad back like me, and need a thicker cushion (dont try taking two, one of the lifeguards is a jobsworth and will try to take it away from you despite there being plenty of them. The pool bar seems to close whenever it feels like it so you have to go upstairs to the lobby bar for a drink, despite the advertised closing time of 6.00. No ash trays anywhere,you have to go and ask for them. Also please clean away empty glasses more regularly or it just makes the place look untidy.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and liked the place apart from the niggles it wouldnt take much for the management to sort it out and it would be really nice. Would I go again... yes if they get to grips with the problems.

Room Tip: choose the Levant building, high floor, its central to all facilities and we had a sea view although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Geoff, thank you very much for your feedback. We at Luabay are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass the information about the choice of food, the re-filling of water, the pool bar and pool area in general to the responsible departments. Our team will then start looking for ways of improving the situation. We would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future and show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just back from nine nights all inclusive at this hotel. Really just two good points: the grounds and the over-worked staff who did a good job considering there should have been a lot more of them. During our second night the sprinkler in the bedroom straight on to my wife's bed. In the morning we requested a change of room and were given number 515, a virtually subterranean, badly lit 'suite' with lots of pointless wasted space and furniture, a crummy bathroom, cheap carpet and a pungent smell caused by Heaven knows what. The 'suite' always seemed as though it was not clean; it felt as though it had not been decorated or refurbished in decades.
The food and "entertainment" were pretty dire. It was not a cheap holiday and we all know that in most businesses the main cost is people. Luabay should 'bite the bullet' and get more staff. A more interesting selection of food and drinks would also help. Sky TV for English football would not be a bad idea either.

Room Tip: Do not opt for the Levante building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Roger, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay with us. Your feedback is very important for us and we will be sure to look into the complaints concerning the room in detail right away. The points you are mentioning about the food, the entertainment and the lack of staff will be passed on to the responsible departments and we hope that improvements can be carried out. Thank you for being our guest, we would love to welcome you at the Luabay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our final stop on a driving holiday of Mallorca, so we had ample opportunity to sample what was on offer in similar categories and at similar prices. This was way, way, way the worst.

Unfortunately this was also the longest stay, of 5 nights. Thinking about the much better value, service and ambience we could have got and did get elsewhere for the same or less money we could have wept. On the first night we were so distraught that we asked our tour operator to move us, but gave up as this would have involved a high extra cost at our expense.

Our main advice: do not succumb to the hard sell upon check-in and upgrade to the hotel's so-called 'Splendit' service. We did, and spent the entire stay regretting it, as the extra charge of this upgrade will push the price well into serious five-star territory, which the hotel absolutely, positively and utterly is not. And I say this even though I did an enormous amout of shopping around and finally managed to get this hotel from a German tour operator at half the price (including half board) of the cheapest room-only rate I found by British tour operators. The thought of what all the other Brisith people staying there must have paid makes the mind boggle, when you consider what truly wonderful places you can get in Mallorca at similar expense.

The impression is that the prices of all additional services have been hiked up in order to make the Splendit service seem attractive, for example:
- use of the balinese beds by the lower pool is 25 Euros a day, included in Splendit, with a bottle of local Cava and a fruit platter.
- wifi in room is 10 Euros a day, included in Splendit. Is there really a need for hotels to charge for this nowadays? In my experience only the worst hotels do.
- drinks: all included in Splendit, but the otherwise way too expensive wine at dinner is practically vinegar, and for your mixers you don't even get a canned or bottled mixer; everything comes from the soda fountain.

With the Splendit service we were offered a room upgrade to a suite, but the bathroom of this was so old, depressing and dirty that we asked the next morning to be put back into one of the standard rooms in the main building, which, as it turned out, were the only rooms that had had their bathrooms updated. So bang went that perk of the Splendit service.

Once we had been sold the Splendit service, no-one cared to do any follow-up and explain everything that was included in it. For example, the bathrobes and slippers, fruit basked, pillow menu and scent menu all never materialized for us, and we got tired of asking, particularly as some reception staff were less than helpful. You just did not feel you wanted to approach them at all. One lady who was on duty in the mornings seemed to be making a particular habit of being short with guests; I observed this on a number of occasions and once it happened to me.

The makeover of the tired grounds has been purely cosmetic and obviously on a very tight budget. The walkways and steps are old and hazardous, paint has been applied on visible areas only (for example not underneath the bridge-type thing across the lower pool), and by the lower pool there is a disused fountain containing stale water, an ideal breeding ground for mosquitoes.

The two points I am giving this hotel are for the food and restaurant service, which were both excellent, and for Jovana (hope I'm spelling it right), who is in charge of the lower pool bar and who just could not do enough for you. Jovana is the only truly five star experience in this hotel.

To sum it all up: as I understand it, this hotel has changed hands twice in as many years. Front-of-house staff seem to be adrift; many of them don't know the details of their own services. Present management has been in place for eight months, and even if they get their act together the hotel remains a poor choice regarding value for money. Four star places can be a funny business; often they border on five star and often on three star. If you go for the Splendit service here, you will get three star amenities at five star prices (no table service for drinks on the terrace, and empty glasses there only sporadically collected; terrible matresses; hygiene in the buffet restaurant not great). This hotel just does not compute for the punter, and I doubt that it will compute for management in the long run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ian, thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the service we offered. Our Splendit service is supposed to add value to our guests’ experience and we are sorry that you did not feel that this was the case and that, from what we understand, the service has not been carried out correctly. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will follow the complaints about the Splendit service. Furthermore, we will pass on the information about the bathroom, the overall state of the outside areas, reception staff and the lack of table service to the responsible departments and hope they will find solutions for this within the teams. Thank you very much for being our guest! We would love to welcome you at the Luabay on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel is very remote up a steep hill, and is a good 20 minute walk down, and t least double that if you dared walking back.
The complimentary bus service was a six seater MPV using the two boot seats.
The staff appear very friendly, but as we found out, even itch a swipe card key room entry, our room was searched nod an expensive watch removed by a member of staff, as no forced entry was evidential. And we were in room 502 so not on ground floor.
The manager Gabriel comes cross as very plausible and amenable to our concern over the theft, but after 5 weeks backin the UK and numerous emails which he ignored, he states that the hotel insurance doesn't cover theft other than from the safety deposit box. Ugh bit one of his staff has entered our room, as he showed us a print out of the key card entry, and stole my property. As I explained to him, if I can prove a member of staff has entered our room, and taken all our clothes which obviously couldn't be put in the safety deposit box, we the customer would have no insurance cover,
I AM APPAULLED and would recommend that everyone give this Hotel a miss and stay elsewhere, until trustworthy staff are employed and the management take notice if a serious matter.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank BizzieGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Assistant Hotel Manager at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing Luabay Galatzo to spend your holidays. We understand your discomfort and would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenience once more.
As already explained to you in my last email, we were not ignoring your emails but the insurance had to study your case which takes a few weeks and sometimes even months.
On arrival at the hotel, all our customers receive all information about the property. The information about the safety deposit box states that the hotel is not responsible for any belongings that are not in the safety deposit box. Therefore, the insurance could not cover your loss.
In the report for the electronic lock we could only see you, the maid and the room service guy entering the room, both have been working with us for a long time without any problems. I kindly promised you, I´d take care of the matter and we did. Our staff has our total trust and we find your accusations inappropriate.
I want to assure you that we have done everything that was in our hands to solve this issue and we are truly sorry about what happened.
We hope you will understand and accept our apologies and we hope you will remember yet the wonderful holidays you spent in Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read some of the reviews leading up to our holiday, I was concerned we may have made a mistake in booking this hotel. However I am pleased to say we absolutely LOVED it and cannot see why some people feel the need to pick fault.
If you have done your homework before travelling you will know it is out of town, set on a hill and not near the beach, so if you're looking for a busy seafront holiday - choose another hotel! But the location does mean that it's peaceful and relaxing, with beautiful views down over Paguera and Santa Ponsa, which suited us perfectly. Yes, it's a little walk if you want to visit the resorts, we did it once in each direction (at the bottom of the the drive take the 'cycle path' left for Paguera and right for Santa Ponsa) but there's everything you could want in the hotel anyway.
As others have already said the staff are fantastic, so friendly and smiley despite working very hard.
Food was great, we may have had more choice perhaps in other hotels but the quality here was outstanding and we always enjoyed our meals, particularly the excellent soups and salads. At busy periods the chefs sometimes struggled to keep up with the demand for freshly cooked meat and fish, they just didn't have room to cook enough at once, resulting in some queueing.
The choice of All Inclusive drinks was good, and the measures generous, we saw quite a few middle aged gentlemen with wobbly legs at the end of the evenings!
We don't usually bother much with entertainment but thoroughly enjoyed some really talented visiting bands, and the inhouse entertainers were also much better than other hotels we have stayed in. Lovely atmosphere in the evenings, it's so nice to be able to get dressed up and sit outside listening to musicians who can really play and singers who can actually sing.
Loads of space for sunbathing, we never had a problem finding a sun lounger, and much as I love kids, it was a lot quieter without any around!
Pool towels are 15E deposit and you can change them everday at the pool bar. Safe 16.80E for the week. Our room on the second floor of the main building was lovely, very clean, quiet and comfortable, we slept like babies.
We had no complaints whatsoever, and would be more than happy to return to this hotel anytime... and probably will.
The Thomson transfer was the only downside - a disaster both ways- but that's not the hotel's fault and therefore has had no bearing on this review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,207 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Valentin Paguera Hotel & Aptos
22.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#12 of 52 in Peguera
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Property: Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing