We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - but entertainment could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned from the Luabay Galatzo hotel. The hotel staff were great, could not do enough for you. Smiles all round & they worked so hard.
We upgraded to a Superior Sea View & was so surprised to be given what appeared to be a Junior Suite - separate lounge & bedroom with TV in each.
The food was good, plenty of choice & the desserts were great.
My only criticism is not regarding the hotel but the Thomson staff. We did not chose this hotel to be entertained, but our experience with Thomson in Egypt 2 years ago made us feel that we could get involved throughout the day. How wrong we were. The main entertainment during the day consisted of a photocopied crossword & Sudoku handed out to guests around the pool. Some imagination there! The Aqua aerobics was not always done as advertised, only twice in our week. If your going to advertise activities and set peoples expectations, then you must follow through with them. The games in the afternoon were throwing bean bags on a target floating in the small pool & a quiz which was read out of a book. Incidentally and as a measure of lack of the coordination, in some cases the questions were repeats from the week before, much to the amusement of guests who had heard them the previous week. Evening entertainment was also very mediocre: another quiz read out of a book and some sort of floor act. Ashley has a lovey voice as well as Damien. However one of the 'brought in acts' LEGENDS were awful. When we questioned the quality of the act with the 'Entertainment Coordinator', she got very defensive, even though most guests thought is was well below a 4 star standard. We were told they were hired because they were local, but no one had 'viewed' them prior to booking them. On this occasion it was just poor singing & stage craft, but applying that methodology to other acts could cause some embarrassment - especially if a local comedian turns out to be blue!
The entertainment team need to up their game & push the boundaries - it can make or break a holiday. Maybe we were spoilt with the entertainment LIAM & the team provided in Egypt in September 2010, but they certainly set the bench mark. The Thomson team at the Luabay, I felt were too relaxed, too cozy, had no reason to go out of their way. The young (average age 21?) & inexperienced team need a mentor there with them for a season. That way, they will learn how to read peoples requirements, adapt to them & provide a broad & diverse range of activity.
Overall - a really nice hotel, but on this occasion it was Thomson who let it down, not the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyandSueSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just returned from a fab week, all inclusive at this lovely hotel. We had a lovely room, the staff were excellent and the food at the buffet and at the a la carte restaurant was exceptional. The drinks also were high quality. The entertainment was of a high standard and suited most everyone. The Thomson rep Sarah was extremely professional, helpful in every way and very knowledgeable about the area. Absolutely will return as we had such a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from an all inclusive package holiday staying in the Luabay Galatzo in Mallorca, And first I just want to say WOW!!!!! The hotel was fantastic I can't honestly find one thing to fault it what so ever, everything was just right the food was incredible and what a selection ! Chips every day?? That's just rubbish I had chips maybe 2/3 times if that and even then there really nice chips ! The presentation of it all was lovely and I scoffed my face no end ! All the staff there are just on another level so much fun and such good characters the drinks are not at all watered down if anything there quite strong all the spirits and liqeours come out of a bottle and beer from the tap I had one beer but I'm not a great fan but it definitely was not watered down, when we first got there we had the welcome meeting and the director of the hotel came and gave a small speech which was rudely interrupted by ... Moaners... The type who write the bad reviews on here which was such a shame because he was a lovely guy anyway they had there moan about the sun beds which was completely uncalled for because yes there are more people than sun beds but c'mon honestly me and my partner had to wake up for an excursion at 7 am one morning and there were loads free! Just get up at 7 put your towels down and then go back to bed for an hour have breakfast and it's sorted :) the shuttle into paguera is really handy, takes 5 mins to get down there and you get dropped off right on the beech front ( if your looking for a good place to book excursions, right where you get dropped off there's a shop with bikes and a quad bike out the front take a look in there the guy in there is so nice and I would recommend him to anyone, also go for the discover Mallorca quad bike trip and the discover scuba diving ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!) so I think I will rap this one up so if your looking for a peaceful holiday away or one full of activities but want a lovely hotel then this has to be the one ! A huge thank you to all the staff and everyone there you made the stay just perfect, keep up all the good work and I will hopefully see you again soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear James, thank you so much for this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will happily forward your feedback to our staff. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you at the Luabay Galatzó again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just got back from lovely week staying at this hotel. Much the same as recent reviews great staff, lovely hotel and we had a fantastic week. Staff at bar and restaurant very personable attentive and efficient Entertainment varied and good - evenings different singers/groups, quiz daily once in afternoon and evening before entertainment plus various low keys options such as tai chi, aqua fit, sangria making, water volleyball etc. The nice bit was it was all very relaxed and you werent presurised too join in but if you were all inclusive and just lying by the pool it broke the day up nicely. Lovely friendly hotel - Ash the Thomson rep was great (threw herself into everything with enthusiasm as did Linda). Tariq the entertainment head also was great and very personable. We did swap rooms when we arrived, which the reception staff sorted, but we only did this as we prefer the sun in the evening although the other side had a slightly nicer view. Re comment about food - we thought there was a great selection and something to suit everything, although sometimes if you were late in the odd option had all gone which was a shame. The only criticism is the lack of tea and coffee making facility in room unless you completely upgrage. Very disappointing for a 4T hotel - but travel kettle is definately a good option. Gym also good - two good treadmills, cross skier, bikes and skating type cardio machine - great for half hour working off the all inclusive option. Thoroughly recommend. Check in is a bit slow and seems to be a bit complicated, you have to pay to hire the safe and also when you check in , if you need them pay then the deposit for the beachtowels, otherwise you are wandering around the next day trying to find out. It would be easier if they offered this to you on check in! Thoroughly recommend. PS sun loungers not a problem - we were going down around 10 ish and coudl always get one when we wanted - it the customers who cause the problems as all nationalities were doing it...............

Room Tip: take a travel kettle if you like a morning cuppa. In Edifico building, even numbers get the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

my husband & i have just spent an amazing week at Luabay Galatzo. The hotel was excellent. we can not fault it in any way..we really dont understand what all the moaners are complaining about. The hotel was all what we expected. there was no sunbed issue. its very clean, the staff are really friendly. the food was excellent, something different every day. entertainment was good, damien & ashleigh were the best. our room was lovely and with a good view. we had a really nice time & met some lovely people. we didnt want to leave.we would recommend this hotel to anyone & we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CLAIREandDAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have enjoyed a brilliant weeks holiday, everything about the hotel was excellant. Accomodation fab, we had a bungalow which was supberb, the cleanliness in the room and main hotel was very good, however upper pool and terrace area was not kept as clean.
The food and drinks available on AI was really good. All the staff were very friendly, Ashliegh was a star! the entertainment was good. You do not need to leave the hotel, but if you do the beach was lovely. We definatly will return, the people who have left negitive reviews must be very hard to please. All in all excellant value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Delivery of sunbeds and umbrellas on July 2nd - will this stop people complaining ? I doubt it, the moaners will always find something not to their liking ! i don't understand why people go on holiday determined not to enjoy themselves !!
I am not going to repeat all the positive comments, which i agree with. Suffice to say we had a fabulous week, everything was top-class and very enjoyable. So if you are thinking of going, do not be put-off by the complainers - they are definitely in the minority.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lynn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.8 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
926 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotel Lido Park
#12 of 52 in Peguera
217 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
Price Range: $118 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing