We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,438)
Filter reviews
2,438 results
Traveler rating
835
871
487
154
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
871
487
154
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomhalf boardthomson repspalma novathree brothersall inclusive guestscocktail barpool areaevery nightsun decknext yearthe hotel shopplenty of choiceolder generationsea viewgreat holidayevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,209 - 2,214 of 2,438 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My wife and I stopped at the Santa Lucia between the 10th and 24th September and found it a very enjoyable experience. The check in was quick and efficient and we were in our room within 10 minutes of being dropped off. We were on the 7th floor and had a magnificent view overlooking the sea. All rooms are stated as having a sea view but I think those on the first floor at the back of the hotel may have a partly obstructed view. The rooms are spacious although if there are 3 of you then it may become cramped but for two it is more than adequate. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is a good size. The towels are well worn but they do the job. The only downside to the room is if your room has an interconnecting door you can hear almost everything your neighbours are discussing and if they happen to be very early risers then this can disrupt you as the alarms are clearly heard. Be warned if you can hear them then they can hear you!

We stayed on a half board basis as there are plenty of places nearby offering reasonably priced food and drinks. Breakfasts were good with a full English available everyday. This was supported by cereals, fruit, croissants, etc. The evening meal had plenty of choice and although not all would be everybody’s cup of tea there was always something you could eat (fish, pork, turkey, beef always on the menu in one form or another) although if I was a vegetarian the choice was very limited. However if you are like I who prefers eating later rather than early it could be chaotic finding a table set up as the staff just seemed to leave the dishes on the table until they had to make one up and seemed to have no organisation in their methods. If you wanted a drink then sometimes you were out of luck because once they have set up your table they tend to forget to ask you what you want to order. I don’t know if this was due to being short staffed and under pressure as they always seemed to be busy but thinking back seemed to achieve very little. The drinks in the hotel are reasonably priced but outside the hotel you can still get a pint of san Miguel for as little as 1 Euro but the average is around 2 Euros which is slightly cheaper than the hotel.

The hotel is in a very quiet area with safe promenades in either direction out of the hotel to walk in the evening. A 15 minute stroll will take you to the busier Magaluff area which still attracts a lot of the ‘young crowd’ and stag and hen parties at weekends. There are plenty of bars and eating places near the hotel providing entertainment.

The pool is on the small side and did not notice the dash for sun beds as there seemed to be plenty still available at 9am although these tended to be the ones without a parasol. We spent most of our time on the beach and thought the cost of paying 10.80 euros a small price to pay for being on a glorious beach and not crammed next to each other poolside.

The hotel is clean and tidy in all areas and seems to attract the more mature visitor. For a number of guests this was their second or third visit this year as it is ideally positioned and caters well for those less able bodied guests. Most people I spoke found it a good 3 star hotel and I would agree with that. Staff at reception were fine and helpful although the price they charged for the safe (50 Euros for two weeks) was excessive but sometimes you need that piece of mind when you leave your room. On the whole a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Had a great time. If you are thinking of going, then go and make your own mind up. Some of the negative reviews are just not true.
The lifts are not slow. The staff are fine. The hotel is clean.The food is fine with plenty of choice. We went all inclusive did not drink very much free booze just 2 glasses larger a day. and a few coffees, but still felt it good value. No problem with getting sunbeds but even if we had it was only an additional 30 seconds to the beech. The room was clean and spacious. would agree the decor was a little dated, but so what we only used it for sleeping, not entertaining.
All the public rooms were fine. The only slight turn of was some of the guests, having said that ,being professional people watchers. We even found some of them quite entertaining.
Just two complaints, the standard of dress of a small no of men who wore shorts in the dinning room at dinner, and those people who took the HP Sauce to their table and never returned it to whence it came so others could use it. Ha Ho one canot have everything.
ammused

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

stayed in santa lucia hotel three adults. H/B the food was a good selection of meats. fish. salads. something for every taste. sunbeds by the pool area they open the doors at 8.00am you cant put your towels out before need to be down there for 7ish or sunbeds on the beach are 3.60 euros same price for parasols.the rooms are cleaned daily very pleased with the view most rooms have a sea view.the staff work very hard clearing the tables never had to queue more than a couple of minutes ... tomson reps very helpful. location its right on the sea front loads of shops and bars and its all on the level no hills.
also not very noisy all in all we loved palma nova would go back again.... hope this review helps

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrlazybnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stunning location, great rooms for us on the east side (cooler); beautiful and safe beaches for all family; all inclusive almost too good - as some guests seemed permanently drunk; couldn't go anywhere in hotel grounds without being totally gassed by VIRTUALLY all the guests smoking; generally a 'rough' clientele with tattoos, heavy gold chains and huge beer bellies all smoking themselves to death at every opportunity. Food ok - more or less - drinks fine except for coffee, UHT milk, breakfast 'orange juice' (???) and all inclusive 'free' undrinkable acid wine; staff very varied - from very pleasant to downright rude - complain fast to get better behaviour; awful culture around public areas - sunbeds 'grabbed', as if hotel had German guests, very early - but think twice before putting your towel down if you don't want to be gassed by everyone smoking around the pool and bar areas; chavy youths dominate the reception area at night with bare chests (males of course); but potentially this hotel could be amazing if it wasn't for the English type it seems to attract. The hotel management need to take a grip and put down some rules - ban smoking, get some decent wine for the all inclusive, charge the mindless 'yobs of ALL ages' to get sunbeds so they have to make a decision where they want to spend the days getting red and give everyone a chance; Thomson holiday reps nice enough if you want to spend £60 each to go to a Pirate show - but didn't know much about watersports around the immediate beach areas though! Have been to many resorts around Majorca - Palmanova is a well kept secret as its associated with the real yobbish resort of Magaluf - but really this could be the ideal resort for families with youngish children - IF you don't mind continual obscene language from the bare chested, skinny English male teenagers or pelmet skirted females, everyone smoking and getting your kids killed (almost) on the 'doughnut' water rides available at the Son Matias beach!.

The all inclusive free beer etc does keep most of the residents glued to see the evening attractions - this creates a buzz in the evening compared with other hotels around which appear to be dead. This is the only hotel to go to in Palmanoa with staff who really do work VERY HARD - shame about the English clientele (but not all, of course).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

just returned from santa lucia after our 8th stay here. were worried before going as reviews said hotel had gone down hill. however we were quite happy. the food was plentiful and hot although the dessert selection was less than previous years. the hotel was spotless and the staff were pleasant and helpful. went down at 8.15 am each morning and managed to get a sunbed each day but if you can't the beaches are great. didn't see the entertinment as don't like to be inside at night so can't comment on that. it is not an exclusive wow factor hotel but it is very nice and we think good value for money. we will go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews