We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, a few annoying features, don't pay too much.”
Review of OLA Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OLA Hotel Panama
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, a few annoying features, don't pay too much.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed the stay at this centrally located hotel that had a good self service bar. It was interesting to see people drinking reasonably sensibly. This may have been a French thing. We had a child with us and often went out at night. The many stairs at the hotel meant it was difficult with a buggy and it was a bit of a drag that just as we got back at 11pm the bar was closed and we couldn't even buy a drink. The hotel was clean and the food fine but it did get a little monotonous after a few days however there are plenty of places to eat out nearby. We enjoyed the pool area and it felt safe with the lifeguards and animation girls always working hard to entertain people. We booked two rooms for the family and asked at booking if these could be adjacent, They didn't have any on arrival even though I rang to confirm two days in advance. The rooms were reasonably sized but the maid did not leave any shampoo etc or change our towels over a 5 day period. Our room was very noisy in the early morning with traffic but the worst thing was the Mosquitos. So take repellent and a bite pen. The most annoying thing for me was that the rooms did not have WIFI and you had to pay quite a lot just to use it in the reception. Since the TV was poor and the only English speaking channels were News programmes don't expect to stay in the room for long.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on a high floor may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    403
    249
    129
    76
See reviews for
457
372
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just come back after a ten night break at the Ola Panama, the only bad thing I can say about it is there were a lot of French people there so not a lot of people to talk to if your English, but as the week went on more Brits started to arrive. The food is very very good, the entertainment was ok didn't see much of it as we went out after our evening meal to the pub amigos cafe at the front of the Panama hotel where there was a waiter called Rafa, he was sooooo funny, well worth going there not only do you get a drink, you also get entertainment as well. The room in the hotel was very clean and of good size, with a large balcony, the pool side was also good they had a slide into the pool, watching people come down was very entertaining and sometimes funny. The hotel itself is in a great location, at the end of the road to the right was Magaluff and to the left Palma nova, and 3 minutes away from the beach front, so good location. Hot running water at all times, and the maids came in everyday apart from Wednesday which was her day off. We are that impressed we are thinking of booking again. After reading some reports on the hotel about cockroaches we saw two, one was dead on the road and the other wasn't in the hotel but also on the road. The staff at the hotel were always helpful and very polite, the entertainment team always had something going on all day, from archery to shooting volley ball in the pool, they were so helpful. We had a brilliant time would go back tomorrow.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SusanP1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Do not be deceived! This hotel is shabby and in need of renovation and feels dirty. Most areas are poorly lit, especially the dining room where the tables are squeezed in and there is no room to move. The meals appeared OK to be begin with but deteriorated as the week progressed to 'bones in sauce'.

The all inclusive includes a poor quality selection of drinks that are self-serve in PLASTIC beakers and 'snacks' are basically cured sliced meat, sweaty cheese and soft crisps.

The kids club catered mainly for French children and when it rained they had to use buckets in the 'Kids club' to catch the drips. After a huge downpour we also found cockroaches in our room which was very disturbing. We also were unlucky enough to have a room next to some of the hotel residential clients who basically kept their balcony like a hovel, with the occupants smoking in the corridor outside our room.

We didn't use the pool area but would agree that it appeared small. We paid a huge price for this holiday and it simply did not live up to expectations or the price. There is no service as such - everything is self serve apart from reception!

However ... maid service good, and the hotel reacted well and quickly when the ground floor flooded!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nic0_la_la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

spent two weeks of hell bed to small for two so i slept on the old sofa nightmare bar under room music loud untill 3am no sleep complained 6 times.Very shabby all round the hotel needs pulling down more like a hostel .. than a hotel no where to sit and relax pool area dirty and no beds spent all day at the beach cost 140 euros for beds .Restaurant poor too small queing for 40 minutes people in beach gear nobody gets changed for dinner paper cloths pizza burgers cold pasta rice pudding not worth 2700 pounds feel cheated .70 % french 20% kids the entertainment was all in french really rubbish could not stop in and relax the allinclusive drinks were in little plastic cups no glasses to be had even at night .The hotels on the beach were cheaper than the ola club go for one not this a bad holiday not to be forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was put into this hotel for one night as the hotel I had booked was full. I thought it was awful. The pool is tiny and the sun loungers are in very short supply. The bar is self service and certainly does not feel like a treat to be there. The pool is used till very late into the night so it is noisy and if you are unlucky enough to get a room which has an adjoining door then you may as well be in the same room as your neighbours. I could hear every word of the conversation next door at 2 in the morning! I really hated it and was glad I only had to spend a night there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie19656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just come back from a week at the Panama must admit I was a bit apprehensive having read some of the reviews but we were all pleasantly surprised!

I went with my husband and 2 children aged 3 & 12, first I'll get the negatives out of the way! We arrived the early hours of the morning to find there was nowhere to buy a drink or have any refreshments, the hotel is not entirely all inclusive having to pay for air-con and WIFI which to me for an all-inclusive should come as standard. Yes the place could do with a lick of paint but it is far from the dump some of the reviews have made it out to be. Also the lifts are tiny!

The hotel is in an excellent location close enough to everything but in a quieter area. the rooms were cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis except Sunday and the staff on the whole were helpful and pleasant although I didn't have that much to do with them.

The self service bar is excellent! It has everything you could wish for and more and surprisingly wasn't abused by people, there were also plenty of things for the kids, ice creams, slush puppies, soft drinks and crisps.

Food was good, could always find something to eat and I am a pretty fussy eater! Don't know what other people were expecting and I didn't encounter any long queues suppose it depends when you went to eat!

Entertainers work tirelessly through out the day from the kids club to adult activities such as water polo, aerobics, ping pong, darts. They then did the night entertainment which I must admit was so bad it was truly hilarious!!

There are a lot of French and other nationalities at the hotel but we didn't see this as a problem and everyone was friendly, was a bit much though when 1 French guy won a line of bingo and went on to sing the French national anthem!!

The pool is a decent size, very good sized kids pool, there is a problem getting a sunlounger but that didn't bother me so not an issue but imagine it would be to a lot of people.

All in all we enjoyed our week and if someone was looking for a cheap all-inclusive for a week away I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as long as they were realistic, at the end of the day you get what you pay for and if you want 5* luxury you have to pay for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lizyg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

the pictures on the web of this hotel were very innacurate, did not get to hotel until 11.30pm. bars were closed so had nothing to eat or drink. deposits for safe, t.v and air con had to be paid, satelite t.v???? 5 channels only could watch cnn. dining room way too small for the size of hotel, long queues and single file, rooms very basic, not like the pics, i went with my two children who at 13 and 16 tower over me at 6ft 2 and 5ft 10 but there was 1 double bed and what i would call a bench which was supposed to be 1 bed with a pullout bed which when we arrived had no bedding, the beds were tatally innadequate for anyone taller than 4ft!!!!! food wasnt the best and definately did not have options for kids. hotel pool, again not as it looks on web, way too small for size of hotel, ive never been to a hotel that had so few sunbeds or room to have any in the first place, UNTIL this hotel, seriously needs an upgrade, very shabby and needed lots of repairs etc, did not come into contact with hardly any staff, left to own devices mainly, although the staff at front desk did try and help with anything as best as they could. all inclusive??? snack bar was available from 11am until 11pm would have been much better iff it was open until midnight as we had to spend every day on the beach so couldnt make use of the all inclusive side of holiday, dinner was 7pm until 9pm so unless you stayed in the hotel all evening with the not so good entertainment you were spending a lot of extra money to snack and drink when you were out which was always the best option anyway. all i can say is hugely dissapointed with this hotel and the way it has been portrayed by the web and owners, very misleading, this holiday has cost me way more than it should have done, cost of sunloungers on beach, extra food and drinks and finding decent entertainment outside the hotel etc, and also wifi you have to pay for, 10 euros for 3 days but you can only use it in the lobby or round the pool (that you cant get round). iff you go here be prepared to be disapointed.





9

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#24 of 39 in Palmanova
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
1,845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Panama

Property: OLA Hotel Panama
Address: Calle Paris 4, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Ola Club Panama)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ola Club Panama is an All Inclusive hotel, located in Palmanova, not faraway from a beautiful Beach, where you can rest by the sea and play nautical sports..Palmanova is a tourist resort with lots of leisure facilities, like a water park, the dolphins show at Marineland, tennis clubs, go-carting and much more. At night, a wide choice of restaurants, shops, bars and discos let you to enjoy a lively atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your OLA Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Panama Hotel Palma Nova
Ola Hotel Palma Nova
OLA Hotel Panama Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing