We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
525
295
68
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
295
68
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal terracebouncy castleviva hotelself cateringkids pooljose mariakids clubpirate ship and slidest shirt paintingfootball pitchplay parkpool viewnext yearyoung childrenevery nightfamily holidaymini disco
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 919 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Viva this year from 21st-31st August on an All Inclusive basis. Walking into the hotel you can see immediately it is beautiful and well maintained and looks amazing. The grounds and décor are all fantastic and it is spacial with lots of lift/stair access to all the different levels. It took us about 5 minutes to get checked in and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was away from the entertainment area overlooking the car park but there were still 4 different exit routes (stairs & lifts) to get to the dining room/pool and bar all accessible within a couple of minutes depending which one you needed. The rooms are cleaned 5 days of the week and there are hotel towels available so you needn't bother taking your own which we did and took up space un necessarily! We checked in at 11.10am and were at the pool by 11.20 with loungers available. We had a 2 year old and 5 year old with us who absolutely loved the pool/play areas and it was the 1st holiday we've let our 5 year old just go off to the stage/entertainment bit/park or middle size pool (chest height for a 5 year old) without worrying as you could easily see him from most angles or know where he was depending on what the kids club were doing - the kids club entertainers were amazing, they treat all the kids equally and even let our 2 year old play the mini games etc even though the age starts from 4 - she loved being part of it! The girls absolutely earned their money working from early morning until late and keeping the kids AND adults busy. There are exercise classes, aqua aerobics and pool games for all ages.

We could not believe the variety of the food on offer from ordering fresh from the menu at lunch time or going to the buffet which also had 'show cooking' where the chef made it for you on request. We never had a bad meal and there was always a wide variety and plenty of it! The drinks come in large or small and there is no question if you want to take 5 or 6 away unlike some hotels which limit you to one or 2 per person. The alcoholic beverages were also a positive point - passionfruit cocktails in the hot weather for a little treat are a must!!

The evening entertainment starts off with the kids discos and handing out certificates/t-shirt paintings/medals and adult games medals then follows with a different show each night from about 9.15pm. When the show starts the entertainers are usually around to do things with the kids such as make bracelets, watch a movie inside or paint faces which is nice so you can relax and enjoy the show!! After the show the entertainers get the kids back up to dance the club songs and then that finishes about 10.30pm but the bar is open til midnight and they hang about chatting to the kids and parents.

We didn't really feel the need to venture out because of the standard of the hotel being so good but on a couple of days we went to he beach and just ordered take away food to take with us which they make for you and put in sealed containers, that and a few bottles of water and you needn't spend any money!

We did the glass bottom boat which coz about 40 euros for the 4 of us and lasted 2 hours. You get the chance to jump off and swim half way so take a snorkel and you'll see some lovely fish!

We went to the western water park for one day which was about a 20minute walk from the hotel, or you get free travel when you buy tickets from a ticket office. I will say don't bother hiring the rings - there are plenty available on the rides and we didn't really use ours much so wasted the money hiring them. Also TAKE YOUR OWN FOOD!! We left before the takeaway service started at he hotel so didn't get a packed lunch and it cost us 29 euros for 2 hamburgers and chips and 2 kids hot dog meals and that was without drinks! (Our fault for not making a packed lunch though).

Overall, this is the best holiday we have had together as a family. It cost a bit more than we usually spend but in hindsight was worth every penny and just goes to show you get what you pay for. Anyone who leaves a bad review for this place needs to take a closer look at what they're complaining about as every holiday will have its minor flaws but even though we didn't encounter any, I know they would have been dealt with efficiently and apologetically. They get 5 out of 5 from us and we will most definitely be returning to a Viva hotel next year :)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the entertainment will probably be the noisiest with the bar not closing until midnight but it's not a 'rowdy' type of hotel anyway so doubt it would be much of a difference!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel - my 7 year old words when entering the lobby "wow we must be rich", however on entering the room he said "oh no we aren’t". The hotel and grounds were lovely, but we had paid extra for a privilege garden room which was not worth any extra money, the room was clean but very small, the grass was all patchy, the room was dated, in my opinion an ok 3* standard.

Room - The room was 3001 and this was the problem, we were next to the hotel downstairs lobby and communal area, so everyone walking past could look into our room, moreover everyone would smoke outside this area which was not pleasant when having our breakfast or lunch outside on the patio. We complained when we arrived but there were no other garden rooms available until the last 2 days of our holiday, later we complained again and in fairness to the management they offered to change our room to a higher floor albeit this would be a downgrade, they therefore offered us half board as compensation. This was a good offer from the management but instead we decided to check out. This was not the fault of the hotel but mainly because the area was not to our liking. Instead we choose to book into a hotel in Palma City for the rest of the holiday which was beautiful.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone who likes Palmanova as it is probably a good standard hotel for the area. We did not like Palmanova, there was only one decent restaurant which we found which was called the Port O'Call.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and 15 mins to the centre of Palmanova, it is more on the boarder of Magaluf which is chav tastic !

Sorry we can't say anything better about this hotel but just didn't suit us as a family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayaholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel has a lovely swimming pool set in the middle of the grounds, along with an adults only pool and a fun pool for the children. Play area also for the children suitable for all age groups. Hotel is centrally located and a short walk to the beach, bars & restaurants. Grounds were immaculate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dont usually write reviews, but having just returned from 10 days here felt had to write that the hotel does live upto its reviews and in our opinion we were glad we had spent that little bit more than we usually would when choosing a hotel. We booked direct with the- hotel-check in was faultless , we had asked if possible for a ground floor room and that is what we got and they also let us go straight to the room even though we were arriving well before usual check in. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment-standard was good , although probably not what you would call luxurious-did maybe feel the living area was a little small for 6 people and didnt have enough seating, but we managed fine as werent in the room that much anyway.The outside terrace area was well furnished and lovely to sit out as was shaded. The one small problem we had was attended to immediately so couldnt fault that. Got a voucher for a free drink on arrival and a welcome gift of fruit, water and wine which was a nice touch. Rooms were cleaned everyday and towels changed regularly too which was good.
Where this hotel really comes into its own though is with the pool/garden areas and the fantastic kids facilities. Sun loungers were easy enough to get even in August which I have never been lucky enough to experience before. The adults only pool had those lovely comfortable double beds and you could walk in anytime during the day and there was usually at least one free. Nice if you want to sneak off and leave Dad in charge! The management policy of no reserving sunloungers before 9am works well. Our children made good use of all the facilities, which were well thought out eg big umbrella over baby pool , golf in shaded area etc. the pirate pool was fantastic. As for the childrens entertanment staff, well what can I say? They were absolutely brilliant with the children, so friendly and such good fun. They work so hard but were always smiling and remembered all the childrens names. My boys loved being able to take part in all the sports, especially the evening football games.
The shows on a night were fun although not particularly professional but that was fine. Was something to watch and have a drink whilst the children took part in the organised football.
match.
We stayed self catering as like to eat out at different restaurants on a night so cant comment on the food. Did consider upgrading to all inclusive for a few days but felt we wouldnt get our monies worth really (53 euro a day) as we dont drink much and dont usually have breakfast. The drinks and icecreams at the hotel that we bought werent cheap and did think them a little pricey and more than we have paid in other hotels in majorca. 2 euros 80 for a magnum is a bit steep I feel! The cocktails were nice though and the waiting staff very friendly.
The supermarket next door was handy and there is a bigger bip one nearby too. Hotel well placed for restaurants,shops, beach etc
We definitely hope to return here and do not say that about many places. The children said it was the best hotel they had ever been to and I do agree that they had the most fantastic holiday-never heard those dreaded words "im bored"!! So overall yes, I was most happy we had chosen this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boudica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday here and iv already been looking at dates and prices for august 2014!!! If I were to use one word to describe this hotel and our experience it would be 'CLASS' The communal areas of the hotel were beautifully arranged and very clean with stunning decor. Our room was lovely plenty of space for a family of 4 and we had a room on the 3rd floor with a rooftop terrace which had a bed lounger and table and chairs and a jaquzzi! !!! This appatment is more expensive but worth it as it just adds to your holiday experience... every day we would leave the sofa bed out and beds unmade, and every day we returned to our room to find everything had been tidied away and the bed made and floors washed and ash trays on the balcony emptied and cleaned, we were amazed... the food and service was second to none, and I would defy anyone who said there wasnt sonething to their taste! The staff were wonderful and iv never known anyone work so hard, these people are there from 10 in the morning till 12 at night and their smile and helpfulness does not change from begining to end. The pools were amazing, perfect for young and old. A little tip for you, you do not need to pack any towels, the hotel will give you towels for the poolside upon request at reception and you can then refresh for new ones every monday, wednesday and friday in the pool area, and there were also plenty of bath towels supplied and changed in your appartment. The staff that entertained the children were fantastic, especially sophia, my god that women has more energy than all of my family put together and her enthusiasm was infectious!!! We will 100% be returning next year and probably each year after that

Room Tip: Royal appartment with roof top terrace, more expensive but worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clairetrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews