We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fussy Mum”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fussy Mum”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Firstly this is a family hotel that despite having a spa and adult area is very much geared towards those with children! you have been warned... they have thought of everything - ikea style plastic cutlery etc if you want it for those with younger children, lifeguard, splash pools etc.

The hotel is very clean, we upgraded our room to a roof terrace with hot tub, we had an issue with the hot tub being a little cool and were reimbursed fully the cost of the upgrade - they could not offer us an alternative as they were all booked. That said the rooms were adequate, a super king bed with a sofa style bed and pull out bed in the lounge area. If we could have asked for one thing in the room it would have been an english speaking tv channel.

We also went for the AI option as this has proven more convenient in the past with having two children aged 8 and 9 years, it affords a degree of freedom for them when ordering drinks and ice creams etc. The food was of a good standard and catered for all appetites. The alcoholic cocktails were made with named brands and very strong!

The whole hotel and facilities is set in a fenced area and we felt able to let our children decide where they were going to play - the ship style water pool, football pitch, mini golf, park area or the main outdoor pool area, this was the least favourite of their choice as it was cold! The indoor pool however was heated it just lacked atmosphere!

Palma Nova has some great beaches, unfortunately it lacks any culture or atmosphere whatsoever - we knew this and used the hotel for what it offered and really didn't venture out. If you like English style bars with 'Only Fools and Horses' being screened then put it to the top of your list!

The staff work hard to please and the management are very much involved in the day to day running of the place, everyone we encountered were friendly and receptive to children. Would I go back? No, however I would recommend this hotel if you want a family holiday with a short transfer.. I would however visit one of the other Viva hotels in the north of the Island.

Top tip - book your return transfers with Gulitrans (info@galitransmallorca.com)

Room Tip: Either book a room on the ground floor which is pool facing - this will give you a small garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    198
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
420
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to the Viva Palmanova Hotel (myself, my mum & my 7 yr old daughter) and have had a really great time. We had a self catering apartment, which was quite well equipped. It had a microwave, 2 hobs, cutlery, bottle opener, washing up liquid and they even left a bottle of water in the fridge for our arrival! The reception staff are lovely, as are the restaurant and cleaning staff, very polite and helpful. The entertainment was good and the kids club didn't start too early, 8pm. The pool area is stunning, and has great equipment for children of all ages. I would definitely like to go again and will be trying all inclusive next time. I can't think of anything negative only the man with the noisy leaf-blowing machine going past outside at 6am! There weren't even any leaves on the pavement! Apart from that, a fabulous week was had by all!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road can be noisy with bin collections etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 836LHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice apartments with space enough for 2 adults and 2 children. Clean and nice hotel and friendly staff. Nice outside area with several pools and facilitis7activities for the children.
The beach was only 3 minutes walk away and plenty of restaurants in walking distance. October was nice and quite and the weather was still sunny and warm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T_I_Stavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me,my partner and our 1 year old stayed here for a week in September. I would highly recommend this hotel.
From the moment we walked into reception we were greeted by the friendly staff who were also happily greeted my son.
We booked the royal terrace room and it is amazing!good size living room with kitchen and small dining table.We were welcomed by complementary champagne and fruit. Up on the terrace area was sofas and dining table with a louger bed with a jacuzzi tub.
The hotel is brilliant for kids with a kids pool & slides,a play area with slide,trampoline & bouncy castle.
The location is close to the beach,shops,restaraunts etc.
We were all inclusive & the food was gorgeous with a brilliant choice for kids (also kids plastic bowls & cutlery etc)
Overall I would suggest you book this hotel and pay that little extra for the terrace room which needs to be booked direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bailey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

just spent one week here , the best hotel we have been in ,my 4 year old son loved it great for kids the staff were top class,rooms very clean,food very good ,the kids club and entertainment were excellent,nice friendly people,will go back next year .......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have spent a week at Viva Palma Nova from 4.9.2012 and absolutley loved it. The apartment was lovely, clean, very spacious and just all in all perfect for our weeks stay. We ate a few times in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed each meal there. (we were self catering) Cocktails really nice too :-) - plenty vodka in them (very strong) ha ha.

Due to not having any children with us we spent every day by the adult pool which is amazing, very quiet and relaxing, the pool wasn't cold either which was nice. Due to it being a very 'family' hotel the adult pool was usually quiet. Even though we didn't have kids with us we did watch the entertainment from our balcony a few nights as it looked over the stage and pool which was nice.

Around the area recommended bars are amigos - the owner is called rafael and loves to give you the pint of the finest!, the sports bar next to amigos, el mecca (nice foods and drinks) and last but not least katmandu. Katmandu is an attraction that a lot of people visit. It's great and has gorgeous food (we ate there 5 nights out of the 7 as its that nice)

All in all an amazing hotel with a lovely, clean and very friendly atmosphere. Staff are all really nice and speak better english than me!!!!!! We didn't visit the spa as it was so hot we wanted to sunbathe but had a little look in and it looked amazing!!!! Will definatly have a massage next year there!!

Will defiantly return - probably next year at the same time and we will be trying the terrace rooms I think next time (they look great as have a hot tub on the roof - amazing)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We, me and my nease had room 4006. It was really good have room backside, because it was evening sun there. Days was very hot, over 35 celcius in shadows and moister was 80 to 95%. Aircondition was really good to have, you have just keep doors and windows closed! Stuff are really friendly and serving was fast, allways with smiling in they face. They was working really long days and long weekdays! Room was always clene when we came back from poolarea in afternoon. Hallways were clean and allover hole hotel area was shining. There was lot of actives to everybody as to children as adults! I have been in Mallorca sience 1970, were many different hotels, but this one is BEST! Even it is more expencive, but you get worth to your money! It is near of everything, beach, evening activities, restaurants, farmacy, banks, waterparks etc... Spanish people are there so friendly and they will serving you in restaurants whit smil on face!
But, there is but, chinese restaurant and chinese shop, they are not friendly! Bad aditur and hig prices, even in restaurants you don't get service, avoid them. Rice was paid 6 euros/person, in my country,Finland, it is FREE!
Mallorca is beautyfull island, if you stay more than one week, rent a car and go to rownd trip of this island! There are so much to see, beautyfull landskape and mountins, gaves and more fun in differents waterparks and safari! And nature looks different in mountins and in country side. But anyway stay your hollyday in Hotel Viva Palma Nova, Best Hotel in hole Island. This hotel are for everybody, familys whit babys and youngsters, teenages,adults etc. To everybody and best of all
there are peoples from many countrys! I reseved allready new trip for next year,2013, for two weeks whit my grandson! He has been living in Mallorca one year in 4 monhts. He just like a lot that place, Mallorca and Viva Palma Nova hotel. So, I hope my story are helpfull to everybody who still watching different hotels and differents hollyday places! See you in Mallorca and hotel Viva Palma Nova! Hve a nice hollyday, where ever you deside to go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank palmalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Property: Zafiro Palmanova
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viva Palmanova & Spa hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing