We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time.”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel and area were really good. I went in August with my 19 year old son and 12 year old daughter for a week. We arrived late at night and they had laid on a meal for us in our room. The restaurants were spotless and the menus were excellent. We went all inclusive and it was money well spent. Not a huge hotel so never felt that it was over busy in the restaurants at all. There was only mild hogging of the sun beds and we went down to the pool at around 11am each day and never had a problem getting three sunbeds. Aerobics at 3pm each day in the pool, mini golf and lots of other activities. The evening entertainment was a little cheesy but very enjoyable with a wide variety of shows.The air conditioning was excellent. The staff were extremely professional, yet friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There are 70 steps to the beach, but these are not too steep. Plenty of shops along the prom for shopping. Definitely recommend and will go again.

Room Tip: Make sure room and balcony door are firmly shut otherwise air conditioning doesn't come on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 776 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Viva Palmanova on a room only basis for 14 nights in August 2011.

Let me correct that. We stayed for 13 nights as on arrival at the hotel (early in the morning on check in day) we were informed that they did not have a room available for the first night of our stay. As you can imagine this came as a quite a shock, especially as we had booked and paid for the room 8 months previously!

We were then told that they had booked us into the hotel next door for the night. I explained that we had booked our room over 8 months ago and today was a special occasion as it was our first wedding anniversary. My wife was extremely upset about this, and they then offered us a voucher for the restaurant and said there was no chance of us having a room today. We were then taken around to the hotel next door the standard of the hotel was poor with lots of groups of young people. The room was in poor condition and not very clean and my wife sat there crying and not wanting to stay. We had very little sleep that night due to the noise and rowdiness from the other guests. This hotel was very much geared towards the young Magaluf party crowd, a far cry from the 4* family hotel that we should have been staying in. One of the reviews for this hotel is titled "Bugs, Drugs and Thugs", which says it all.

We finally received our room key for the Viva at 2.30pm the following day, which we were assured would be one of the best pool view rooms. Sadly this was not the case. The room was at the far end of the hotel overlooking the bar/ amusement area with a wonderful view of a large tree directly outside our balcony. The room itself was ok but not to 4* standard – the furniture was scratched or chipped and lounge area seating was insufficient with only one sofa (for 3-4 people). The choice of TV channels was poor with BBC World news being the only available English language channel.

The only positive aspects of the room were that storage was good and the cleaning staff did an excellent job (although as we were at the end of a corridor this was not until late afternoon on most days).

At night noise levels were bad with teenagers shouting and screaming around the pool until well after midnight on many days. Other reviewers on tripadvisor have suggested requesting a pool view room as outside facing rooms at this hotel are very noisy. Sadly, we can confirm that a pool facing room is no guarantee of a good nights sleep. Many of the pool view rooms directly overlook the entertainment stage and bar areas which are open until midnight but with noise until much later.

The entertainment staff seemed to do a good job of keeping younger children amused with different activities throughout the day (though see later for night time problems). The pool area itself is good with plenty of beds and umbrellas. The kid’s pool was excellent with lots of slides and other water features.

The night time entertainment was at best average, but many nights were quite poor. This was not helped by some members of the entertainment staff encouraging kids to constantly run around screaming in front of the stage. This was disrespectful to the act trying to perform and distracting for the audience trying to enjoy the show.

We tried the hotel restaurant and buffet a couple of times the food was ok but nothing special – not as good as other hotels of a similar standard that we have stayed in. It was okay for a couple of nights but we were thankful that we stayed on a room only basis so could eat out at local restaurants. Drink prices were very high – 4 euros for a soft drink.

Some of the staff at the hotel were good, including the drinks waiters and some of the reception and entertainment staff.

Overall this hotel was a huge disappointment. Even without the double booking fiasco we would have graded the hotel as average. It was okay but very overpriced, not 4 star standard, and did not live up to our expectations. However, even the good points are irrelevant when the hotel refuses to honour bookings despite having reserved and paid for a room 8 months in advance. Hotel management have since been very unhelpful in refusing to even refund the amount we had already paid them for the nights booking that they did not honour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyPotter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moises_Barbero, Hotel Manager at Zafiro Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

First of all we want to say thank you for taking your time in writing your review about your stay it is very important for us to improve our service level. answering your review:
Due to a technical problem in one of our rooms we were one room short on the day of your arrival.
We had no other options than to find you an alternative hotel for the first night of your stay.

Since there are no hotels in the area of the same level as Viva Palmanova, we thought it would be best to find you a room in the hotel next door, so you could still use all the facilities of the hotel you booked and only had to use the other hotel for one night to sleep. Finding you a hotel of the same standard would have involved moving you to another area, losing more of your valuable holiday time.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the room that you were offered when you came back, but of course we would have been happy to have changed you to another room, more of your likings, if you would have informed us.
We even called to your room to know if everything was on your satisfaction on which you answered that everything was fine.
As you might understand the rooms on the “outside” of the hotel are more quiet, since the pool area and the entertainment is all taking place on the poolside.
Most people prefer the rooms overlooking the pool because they like the views better and they can enjoy the entertainment from their balconies.

Keeping in mind that we are a family orientated hotel we always start our evening entertainment early, in order to finish the main show around 10 pm. After that we only play some quiet music until 11pm, then we turn of the music completely. Of course sometimes people decide to stay at the terrace a bit longer, but if our guests complain about other guests being too noisy we kindly ask them to keep it down a bit in respect for the people who want to sleep.

On the other hand our prices for soft drinks are 2,00€, and a large beer cost 3,70€. you can check it in our web.

Again, please accept our apologies for the issues you found during your holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we have previously stayed at the viva mallorca hotel (2 yrs ago). That was excellent although the staff were not particularly friendly. We stayed at the Viva palma nova for a few nights last year (with our youngest child) and found it to be of the highest standards but also with friendly staff (a great combo).

This is not a British dominated hotel which is what we look for when booking. We have been to a First Choice Holiday Village in egypt and it was like going to a hot Butlins. Yes I know how that sounds but if you like that kind of thing that's fine (the reviews suggest a lot of people do).

The Viva palma nova is a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport (c35 euros). The food is fantastic (especially the lunch menu). The dinner buffet is high quality although as with most all inclusives eating buffet style gets a bit boring no mater how much they try and change themes.

We went as a party of 5 (10, 8 and 2 year olds). We stayed in a privilege room with its own garden. This was great for easy access to the pools, pool cafe and restaurant. It was however on the shady side of the hotel and we would request a different location if we were to go again.

The aparts are not huge but they are very clean and the beds are comfy. There was no UK TV channels in our room which was okay for us. When we stayed in 2010 there was BBC World which was okay for keeping up with what's going on in the UK.

The pools are brilliant. The kiddy pool is particularly good with a pirate ship base for several slides. It is tucked away so it does not dominate the pool area which is very attractive. There is an adults only pool area which is nice (why you would come to this hotel if you didn't have kids is beyond me!).

There is a small play park with a bouncy castle, trampoline, swings and playhouses. This was lovely although the heat meant that it was best in the early morning or evening.

The evening entertainment is pretty normal for euro holiday hotels. Pretty rubbish but what you expect. But it is made all the more pleasant by the quality of the alcohol which is available to all inclusive customers. Bottles of Estrella Damm, Smirnoff or Absolute Vodka, Bottles of good wine etc. Bottled Guinness was available for 1.25 euros and Glenfiddich (Malt) was available for 1 euro. having kids means you can't make to much of a dent in their reserves but the quality of drink makes a change from, for example, the ropey stuff they serve up in the holiday village in egypt.

The things that could be improved are i) the meal times. dinner is from 6.30 to 8.30pm. It was still very hot at 7-7.30 and we were often still in the pool which meant getting everyone ready and down to the restaurant by 8.30 was a rush ii) the adult entertainment (the Michael Jackson Tribute was especially poor...ironically to the point of being entertaining..nearly.

If you are after an all inclusive hotel that will be good fun for the kids and pleasant for you too then this is pretty much as good as it gets in our experience

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side of the hotel that gets the sun n the morning. A pool view is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miskin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed there for two weeks. We loved the activities and entertainment programme each night. We had a 6-year old girl with us and she loved what the MINI club offered. We recommend!

Room Tip: Pool view and not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaSlava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I really cant complain about anything at this hotel, the rooms are massive with everthing u'd need. The grounds and pool are clean and the gym and indoor pool are brilliant!
Everywhere is within walking distance, Palmanova is good for food and eating out.
Magaluf is only a short walk and is well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornishkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our second stay here nothing changed a lot since last year except for the pirate ship in the kids pool. Last year we boked a privelege room but could not get one this time but i would have thought i would still be allocated a nice room seeing as we were returning but alas no such luck.
We were A/I which is great if you have kids it is without doubt a place for kids i would not recommend it for couples, again the room service could be improved 2 days you do not get the room cleaned in the week which i think is not very good when you have kids with you.
Meals are very good for all the family but entertainment is only poor, they seem to have a group who go around the viva hotels on different nights .
Will we be returning, i don't think so it is expensive and you could get better value for your money elsewhere. For a family give it a go for a couple don't !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickymintCumbriauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very nice place with young children, went there in May with my 6 year old son and 10 year old daughter. My son really loved kids club and the team there was very nice and helpful. AI rather axpensive but easy if you're staying with children. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby, so you don't really need to eat in Viva Palmanova. Supermarket very convenient nearby but far too long trip to beach with children :( Stairs went on and on.. The apartment was roomy, but cleaning very poor (like in many places in Spain). They just brush the floor in the middle, they do not wipe with damp or vacuum at all.
The best time we had in Pirates show in Magaluf - I highly recommend you go there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piabella68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
1,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $68 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing