We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice aparthotel in good location”
Review of Ponent Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ponent Mar
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice aparthotel in good location”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights this April while visiting Majorca and found this aparthotel convenient and pleasant. It has a good location just a short walk from the nearest beach, shops and local restaurants. There is a lovely walk along the seafront, all the way to Magaluf if you have the stamina, but our kids couldn't face it! The hotel itself has pleasant rooms, although they are rather basic. We had rooms on level 1 and we had interconnecting doors which was ideal for a family as you could open them up into a large suite! The rooms are fairly spacious with two single beds and a double pull out sofabed. I found the beds comfortable - not too hard. There is a microwave, hob, toaster, kettle, sink and fridge so you can prepare your own food if you choose to do so. We only made snacks and ate out but it could easily be done as the kitchen is reasonably well equipped. The bathroom is really nice with an excellent powerful shower and free shampoo/conditioner/body milk and soap. The only downside to the room was that the fridge was very noisy during the night and it woke me up a few times. There is a fairly large outdoor pool with sunbeds around it, although it was a little early in the season for us to use it. We did use the indoor pool though, which was still pretty cold and had an unpleasant smell on the day we used it - a kind of drains smell. There is a small supermarket, a beauty salon and a nice bar area where they have entertainment on. You must see the Flamenco dancers, they were amazing. There is free wifi in the lobby area and you can get it in parts of the bar too. I think if you want to use the wifi in your room you have to buy credit but we didn't look into that. The staff were friendly and courteous and allowed us to check in early as well as granting our request for interconnecting rooms. This hotel is obviously popular with a range of nationalities as we heard several languages being spoken. It seems particular popular with cyclists - we saw lots of them heading out and about in their cycling gear. The hotel also has a reasonable sized car park so ideal if you're hiring a car. For local shops there is a small Eroski a few streets away just off the seafront or for better choice, there is a large Mercadona just off the main road a few streets behind the property. It is up a bit of a hill and it is quite steep to get up and down to the seafront so be aware if you are less mobile. We visited a couple of restaurants on the seafront nearby and they were good but a bit expensive for me - 10 Euros for a pizza or a salad. If you want a cheaper meal, take the long walk along the seafront towards Torrenova where you can pick up the same meal for about 7 Euros.

Room Tip: If you get a room on floor 1 you have a large grassy area outside your balcony that the kids can run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvlyluvvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    193
    55
    22
    4
See reviews for
218
149
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manhattan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a stephen Roche cycling training camp available. Bikes all carbon fiber and superb organization of rides to cater to road cycling in a beautiful part of the world. Food at the hotel buffet was super fresh for huge buffet breakfasts and dinners. The rooms are basic, and you could cook if you liked. Rooms also have balconies. Highly recommend for an active holiday. There are also washing facilities. Fellow cyclists also recommended the massages.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank judManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Rooms are basic and a throw back from the 70s. Very disappointed as hotel was supposed to be 4*. Not enough plug sockets and the ones you could find were down the back of the tv which you had to pull out from wall. Toilet was right next to bath which made it awkward to get in and out. Views were great and the pool area was lovely. Would not call it 4* unless in a refurbished room, which were lovely.

Room Tip: Unless you upgrade to a refurbished room you will be disappointed. The rooms are a throw back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sljr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is great. Apartment clean and modern with a wonderful sea view. Lovely pool area, with good choice of lunch menu.

Staff apart from Manuel, who was v funny, were rather grumpy and offered no information unless asked. We ended up with a list of questions, such as where do we have our meals? what time is dinner served? etc. Not tricky stuff at all, but there was no manual in the apartment, so how were we supposed to know?

Breakfast was ok. Lovely cappuccino and a decent choice of hot and cold food. Dinner was at best mediocre and at worst inedible! Luke warm and unappetising and when we told the head waiter that the food was cold, he said that he knew and it was a problem! He told us there was a microwave if we wanted to use it....er no thanks!!!

The hotel was closing two days after we left and our biggest gripe was that they started dismantling the hotel two days before we left. Pool tables and tables and chairs were being dragged noisily into store as we were trying to relax by the pool. The lunch restaurant closed the day before we left and the morning we left, they were dragging sun loungers as we were sitting there. We did joke that we didn't dare go to the loo in case they took our snubbed whilst we were gone, but actually it wasn't funny! We paid £450 for a four night stay and we ended up staying in a shell of a hotel!

That said, we refused to let it spoil an otherwise lovely relaxing few days. And the sun shone every day!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jcm9763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester,uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is beautifully located with great views. A lovely pool area with lots of sun beds. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and well maintained ( the beds were a little hard, but good for the back eh?). It was a very happy experience and one I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: lots of the rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at beginning of Oct 13. Hotel reception very clean and spacious as were all public areas including pool. Rooms not fancy but cleaned daily, fresh towels daily and bed linen changed every 4 days. Buffet breakfast was fantastic. Such a choice! Our balcony overlooked the pool and on towards the sea. Hotel within easy walking distance from lots of restaurants and bars in Palma Nova. Nearby beaches well kept. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my sixth visit to the Ponent Mar with a group of friends. As always rooms were comfortable and clean. We had a superior sea view apartment with stunning views over the bay. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful as always. Great pool area and well managed. The poolside restaurant is well priced for lunch and must have some of the best views in Palmanova. This hotel is at the quieter end of Palmanova with easy access to some really good restaurants. I would highly recommend the Ponent Mar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Property: Ponent Mar
Address: Calle Marques de La Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing