We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabau Aquasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabau Aquasol
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

We found this hotel to be very clean and well looked after. During our stay we found the balcony door lock was not working and reported it to reception it was fixed the same afternoon . the only problem we found was the stairs to our apartment (41 of them).The usual problem with sun loungers and towels even at 8 in the morning they had towels on them. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the beach and local bars. If you come out of the hotel and turn left there is an eroski supermarket 100 yards up the hill ,but we found the spar supermarket along the sea front to be as good.If you turn right outside the hotel its a 5-10 min walk to magaluf and the wilder side. For a decent meall try the florida café on the way to magaluf.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor . The hotel is set up with different blocks of apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    364
    143
    60
    47
See reviews for
401
135
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home today after a 10 day holiday with family, age ranges 64yrs-1yr old 14 of us in total
The hotel & staff were friendly, we had 4 rooms in total all to a good standard( rooms cleaned regularly etc)
we stayed half board and the food was fine but I would recommend self catering as the choice was limited & repeated ( eating out probably cheaper) you have to be up quite early to get a lounger round the pool & 1 side has shade almost all day ( massage lady side) so don't go that side if u love the sun.
It had the usual day time activities, aqua bingo etc & evening entertainment was in my opinion poor, your better off going out for it as the drinks at the bar are expensive too (€4.25 for a bottle of wkd blue)
Would I stay here again, yes only self catering, but I would recommend it as everyone's taste is different.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cathjane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Mysef and my partner (28 and 34) stayed here for a 2 week holiday form 26th July 2014. I always give honest reviews about things that I want to know about the hotel.

First things first which is a reallt handy bit of info:

DO NOT BUY WIFI FROM RECEPTION - EVERYTIME YOU BUY A DRINK FROM THE POOL BAR YOU GET AN HOUR FREE WIFI :) :)

Food: Food was lovely - We only ate at the pool bar because were self catering. Reasonably priced and very nice. Did speak to some guests that were half board and they said the restaurant was also good.

Drink: Lots of variety on the menu from cocktails to beers and wines. Local beers reasonably priced but imports such as Strongbow 3.80 euros (not so bad really).

Reception/check in: Had no issues whatsoever. Booked all the holiday myself and booked seperatly so was panicking about this before the trip. Were no problems at all. Check in was smooth (we arrived at around 10.30pm so were no issues with the rooms not being ready).

Rooms: The rooms were more than adequate and were very well kept in my opinion. As there were only 2 of us a one bedroom apartment was ample room for the 2 weeks. There was a charge for the safe (If I remeber rightly 37 euros - the 7 euros was a deposit that you would get back at the end). Maids were around every 2/3 days which was fine. Flat screen TV which was free (seen some say there was a charge but there isnt).

Pool Area: The pool is a fair size and we always managed to get a lounger. You do have the people that hogg the loungers from early in the morning with towells which is a bit annoying but we never struggled and were usuallt not around the pool until 11ish. Would reccoment loungers on the grass as the sun is there all day. Took us a few days to realise that some of the pool area can be covered in shade for long periods of time.

Staff/entertainment: Entertainment staff work really hard. We have no childeren but could see that they kept all the other guests who did have kids entertained. They work all day and also into the night with daily kids discos before the shows start..............onto the shows. We would have a drink in the Hotel before venturing out into Palma Nova or Magaluf each night and the one night we did actually manage to catch some of the outside entertainment in the form of "teto" the mime act. I have never laughed so much!!! He was absolutly dreadfull!!!!!!!! It was like watching an hour long episode of Britains got talent without the buzzers! Hilarious!

Location: Fantastic location - 2 mins walk from the beach - 5 mins walk into Palma Nova and to the right of the hotel a 10 min walk into Magaluf.

THE DOWNSIDE!
People have complained about the amount of steps - no problem for us as we are relatively fit and healthy but can see it being an issue if someone had mobility issues.

The main probolem.....and the reason that we would NOT stay here again is the NOISE!!! We are not old farts that sit in the room while on holidays. We like to go out and have a skin full as much as the next person. The problem is that this hotel will accept any bookings by the seems. We chose it because it was a middle of the road hotel that wasnt too cheap but not overly expensive hoping that it wouldnt attract young groups looking for Magaluff night life.....how wrong were we.

Our appartment was surrounded by 3 groups of lads.....the worst thing is that below us were also a family (if we thought it was bad - they must have been even more annoyed).

As we were on the pop ourselved from about 8pm each night you would think this isnt that much of a big deal - when they dont go out until 3am and have their music blasting until this time then it can be a pain. Not only that - when the groups of lads came home each morning (anything from 4.30am - 6:30am) they thought it ammusing to ring all the doorbells on the way back to their room.

This hotel would be IDEAL if it were just kept to families and couples. I have probably been a pain in the neck myself when being on a girls holiday before - but I have always stayed in 18-30 resorts which this is NOT. For this reason only we would not return to the Aquasol which is a real shame because other than that there are no negatives!

Sorry to have rambled on but I like to be thorough :) :)

Room Tip: You would probably get a quieter room if they are overlooking the pool and entertainment - that way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Blaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

rooms are nice, clean, modern and spacious. theres a flat screen tv and air con. rooms were cleaned regularly and fresh towels often. love the area of palma nova hence our return here as a third visit. it has nice resturants. loads of shops, entertainment as much nightlife as you want to take or leave. amazing pirate show, marine land is great and so is their dolphin show.boat trip was beautifull and the beach is lovely.....BUT...do not stay at aquasol if you have anyone with mobility problems......we requested a low floor as a condition of booking as the 7 year old in our party wears a splint on her leg due to mobility issues through cerebal palsy. on arrivall we discovered we were 6 flights of stairs up with no record on our booking from the agent (thomas cook) or the private e- mail which was sent and replied to by the hotel. we arrived on a tues and were told that maybe there was a chance of being moved on the sat but we couldnt as hotel remained fully booked. we were staying for 2 weeks. I have to say even as a fully able average person i really struggled dragging the cases up the stairs hurting my back in the process. there are no lifts and no one to help with baggage.
i did also notice that even if you had a ground or low floor a person with mobility issues would still struggle with the spiral staircase which is only way up and down to the resturant (if you were half board,which we didnt chose to be).
as so many people were asking to be moved i think that this hotel is not clear that there are no lifts or how unsuitable it is if you cannot do stairs....theres even steps eveywere around the pool areas and reception which i saw people struggling with.....if you had a wheel chair i dont even know how you would get in the reception.
sounds really negative now but we had great time regardless of stairs.
the reception staff came across as very rude but really i think its just because of all the stair complaints and i bet they wish it was made clear when people book because they must be sick of it by now.

Room Tip: there are no guarentees of a low floor and no lifts so be aware if mobility problems are an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We just got back from a lovely weeks holiday, a very clean hotel. Not the friendliest of staff but this is mainly due to them not all knowing much English . Charlie was great at keeping everyone occupied during the day into the night. Aqua bingo,water polo,water volleyball etc.We also had entertainment every night ,one thing we were in happy with when arrived they gave us a3 bedroom apartment this was fab but we then had to move into two one bedroom apartments and.this was after 12 the next day which messed the start of our holiday up but we did all then get a free drink because of the inconvenience. I do think that we should have been given a drink with our evening meal tho!!!! We went half board and there was hot and cold drinks at breakfast but no drinks with evening meal not even water didn't agree with that but the food was good something different every day. I would recommend this hotel !!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms a great!!! As mentioned this hotel,offers a 3bedroom apartment which sleeps8 that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family including a new born baby and 4 year old boy recently visited this hotel for a 7 night family break half board.
When we arrived at the hotel we were met by vast amounts of stairs to get to our room. As we had a push chair it was very difficult to get around.
We found the food OK, nothing special. It would of been handy to know in advance what the evening buffet would contain as sometimes the selection was poor. The pool bar food was excellent and drinks reasonably priced.
The hotel was cleaned to a high standard daily but sometimes created slip hazards as the majority of the floors are marble or tiles. The cleaners were always polite.
Charlie the entertainment host was extremely helpful and the kids loved his evening activities.
Apart from that I got shouted at For putting towels out on the sun loungers before 7.30. This rule was only enforced by the senior staff.
I think this hotel could improve access to cater for a wider mixture of customers..
It was also annoying that they didn't do a discounted rate for the BBq for customers staying on a half board basis.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulmhammill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

came here for a first lads holiday, 10 of us but to be fair the receptionist didn't care about how many of us there was but they welcomed us unlike some other places which might of frowned upon! check in was already done by around 1ish so straight in unpacked hit the pool and the booze!

rooms were relatively clean, they seem to put groups of younger people together which helped us with the girls upstairs if you know what I mean! rooms was clean when arrived but maids could of done better and we found loads of ants in the shower but we just sprayed them with the shower.

staff was friendly, one bartender was a proper laugh and one bair maid was decent! the food was kind of a hit and miss! we only used the buffet once and to be fair it wasn't nothing special just basic food. the poolside bar is nice, the desserts was even better! but as a group we kept going down to the restaurant 'el mecca' down the road.

literally a 5/10 minuite walk to the beach and a 5/10 minuite walk to the strip! we always began the night off at Eastenders bar which was always a laugh but as the saying goes 'it depends'

the only low-point was the fact that one of my friends stepped outside his taxi on the way home and got punched *he don't know who buy and what for* and the other was my mate got jumped when walking home at about half 10 so its best to be in a group of at least 2/3 at all times

stayed Late June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Aquasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Aquasol

Property: Cabau Aquasol
Address: Calle Pinzons 61, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Aquasol 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabau Aquasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Aquasol Palma Nova
Aparthotel Aquasol Hotel Palma Nova
Cabau Aquasol Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing