We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This has been my second visit to the sol lunamar since June well what can I say it never fails to please, the hotel remains so clean and friendly with excellent views, if you are looking for a nice family orientated hotel then this is the place to be the staff by the pool and in the bar are great with kids and the receptionists are very welcoming, rooms are always cleaned to a high standard.
lots of nice places to eat and very reasonable prices, we ate every night at the cafeteria Scandia which is about a five minute walk from the hotel but very polite and friendly and food is beautiful,
already got our holiday booked for next may for two weeks at the lunamar and really looking forward to it don't think I would stay any where else now, thanks guys for a superb holiday and fab service.

Room Tip: pool view is stunning as you can see onto the beach from some rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny-julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Jenny-julie H,

Thank you very much for your nice words to us and our staff!

We hope to see you again next summer.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Sol Lunamar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was our first stay at Sol Luna Mar and we were pleasantly surprised. We did not have a pool view but the room was adequate , quiet and clean. There were no electric points in kitchen area, the kettle and toaster had to be plugged in and put on the table which was not very good for health & safety especially for anyone with children. The pool area was lovely and staff friendly. Beach was only 100 metres away via bottom gate which was very useful. Plenty shops and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello Jackie T,

Thank you for taking your time to write some words about your experience and us. We take note down of your comments about electricity points to do something about if someday we make any big hardworks in rooms.

Hope to see you again with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Bit disappointing for this to be a Sol Melia property. Hotel rooms converted to studios. We were in room 306 and supposed to be overlooking pool. Not the case the pool view was obstructed therefore leaving you with a view off approx 6ft of the right hand corner of the pool! On arrival the shower was broken, and the bathroom sink plug didn't fit. This was repaired once we reported it. Had to buy an extension lead so that we could plug the kettle or toaster in without having to leave them on the floor! No sockets at the work tops or beside the cooker. Very clean and friendly staff. The bar, pool bar and restaurant was a private contractor. Brilliant service and very friendly staff. Very quiet at night. No entertainment at all. Back exit an absolute godsend. Out the back gate and into the centre of Palma Nova with bars and shops etc. All in all it was ok but much too quiet and quite dear for the standard and size of room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 306. Pool facing with no pool view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello Harry S,

We are sorry to hear that our place did not cover your expectation but we thank you for write down your feedback.

First of all we would like to thank your nice words to our staff, we think they and cleaniness are the top things to make people feel more comfortable on their holidays.

We also want to let you know that we are not hotel place, our category rate is Apartment/studio place so we do not have star, keys instead, we are one of the very little members of Meliá Hotels International on this kind of properties that probably you are less used to stay in.

If you have any doubt about us or you like to come back do not hesitate to contact us on private message or email us and we kindly answer all your questions.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

2nd time at this hotel in the space of 1 year, requested quiet room with pool view when we booked as celebrateing a birthday. when we arrived they told us oh yes we have met all your request.
We got to the room and had been given a room right next door to reception with no pool view (there was a concreate wall blocking the view) We came straight out and back to reception and told them the room isnt good enough and that we are not happy and want to be moved straight away. we had a look at 4 different rooms that were available and finally got a room that we thought was acceptable but at 64 euro extra (16 euro extra a night) so basically we were ripped off because we had to pay extra just to have the view with out a concrete wall obstructing it. the rooms are nice but the views from some of them are very dissapointing and the hotel will rip you off over it. While we was there there was another couple complaining about the same thing and saying you are just trying to get more and more money out of us.
The rooms are basic but clean and what you need for your stay - however the beds are so uncomfortable we hardly slept while we were there plus you have to pay 15 euro just to get the air con remote as it is set on a low setting and the rooms are boiling hot - had to sleep with the patio wide open - our cooker rings did not work but we didnt use or need them anyway.
this is a nice hotel but they are getting greedy and overchargeing people for the little things and takeing advantage.
Had a english breakfast while at the hotel - avoid it. the bacon was full of white bits which i thought was just fat until i bit into it and cracked my tooth.
The hotel is in a great location and its a nice friendly hotel with nice bar and pool but if you want a great stay and to be comfortable you need to pay the extras to get what you want and at the end of it you may of just as well payed the same to stay in a 4 star hotel somewhere else.

Room Tip: rooms with pool views are the best
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear ashley f,

Thank you very much for your second stay this year and your second review.

We are sorry to disapoint your expectation but as you know for before stays pool views has an extra cost.

We tryed to provide you on room with a little view on the pool side for free (sorry once again if it do not cover your expectation), but our occupancy and being people who wants to pay for views make us that we need to have these kind of rooms as most available as possible for those who paid for it. Also let you know that prices are online and in travel agencies, (in addition you said in previous review that info it is on site in lifts) so we do not cover our intentions, there are 3 differents kind of rooms with differents prices.

Maybe there were a missunderstanding from our side but remotes are free as air-con or tv use, our guest only need to leave a 15€ deposit that get back as soon as the remote ir returned to the front desk.

We hope to see you again with us and get to your expectations now you know how our place is.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just recently returned from 'sol luna mar' had a brilliant time. Arrived late at night and accommodated quickly, asked for ' the honeymoon suite' as had just got married, hoping to be upgraded but was told nothing else available! Went to allocated room and found we had 2 single beds, found this quite funny! Room was clean and had everything we needed, except overlooked car park which was disappointing, would have liked a pool view but had to pay for that privalige! Pool was fab and had no trouble getting a sunbed, enjoyed the peace and quiet around the poolside area, very relaxing! Lots of bars, resturaunts etc just outside back of hotel, brilliant location and just across the road from the gorgeous beach. Would definately return here again, good value for money, majority of guest were pleased with accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and preferably on 4th floor up
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Came back yesterday from these fantastic apartments. Third year we have been there. Clean, good customer service and very good value for money. For good cheap food come out back gate turn right and about 100 mts up the road is The Florida bar. Great food at cheap prices. Going back next year

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sue H,

GRACIAS for your nice and fast review, it make us really happy to know that every year we have more and more happy and former guests.

See you next year!

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at Sol Lunamar 1st-6th Oct. I will be brutally honest in my assesment of the hotel apartments with positives and negatives. However what I will say is that if you are after a cheap relaxing holiday then look no further than the Sol Lunamar!!

We arrived late at night and entered the spacious accomadating reception, fisrt impressions last and this reception area was spotless and well decorated. A young man booked us in very speadily and set us on our way to our room. We entered our room which looked great, again spotlessly clean, spacious and well decorated.

The bathroom was again spotless, and the blacony was a decent size, we had a great view over the pool and sea.

The staff at the bar and pool area all seemed very friendly, the pool was great and enough sunbeds to go round. The food was excellent, the service was speedy and friendly and all in all this hotel accomodated everything we needed.............but the positives do not end there.

There is a back gate behind the pool, use that to get to the beech, literally 30 seconds over the road, enough bars and restaurants within spitting distance and only 5 minutes from Magaluf if you decide on a bender, however you are far enough away so that in the early hours you dont hear any noise traffic from the party goers.

The few very minor negatives I will put are not enough to put anyone off but it is always better to be forwarned.

The lifts on the front of the hotel are painfully slow, the settee's in the room double up as your beds (didnt bother us in the slightest but may do others) and last but not least the bath is a shower bath only, very small and designed for midgets, again didnt bother us as we tend to have showers anyway but if you want a relaxing bath you will be dissapointed. (Those 3 minor things are the only reason i didnt rate it excellent)

The one further thing of note is that the air conditioning has to be paid for, as does the saftey deposit box, although we realise this is the norm if the Sol Lunamar made a stance and did these for free this would really set these apartments away from the rest!

All in all this hotel is an absolute gem, you seriously will have to look a long way to find a better hotel at this price, book here and you will not be dissapointed. Clean, tidy and well decorated to give an outstanding impression which filters through to everyone who works there. Thoroughly impresses with our decision to book the Sol Lunamar and would deffinately return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Nev K,

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your nice words to us and our staff.

Just want to clarify you that our air-con its free, you only need to give some cash as deposit that you get back as soon as you return us the remote. Instead safe it is true that we rent it. So maybe a little missunderstanding at front desk when we were telling you the info about this.

Hope to see you again next season.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
10.0 mi away
THB El Cid
THB El Cid
#5 of 78 in Playa de Palma
526 reviews
2.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Portals Nous
21.4 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.2 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#4 of 15 in Canyamel
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,308 reviews
36.7 mi away
Garden Holiday Village
Garden Holiday Village
#16 of 30 in Playa de Muro
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lunamar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lunamar Apartments

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners 8 | Calvia, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $48 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Lunamar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Lunamar aparthotel is located in Palmanova, on the southwestern coast of Majorca. Privileged sea-side location less than 50 m from the Mediterranean sea and right in the city centre of Palmanova. 4 km from reknown Puerto Portals and the Casino Paladium, and very close to the sports facilities in Magalluf. Surrounded by various golf courses within 2 to 20 km distance, in an area ideal for R + R. 13 km from Palma and 24 km from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Lunamar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lunamar Apartments Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing