We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curry Lounge

Curry Lounge
Ranked #14 of 137 Restaurants in Palmanova
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Fusion, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Andraitx, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was really lovely, great food, very clean, staff clean and helpful, good price. Will eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaTBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    47
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co. durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saw in tripadviser, agree a very good curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Saw in tripadviser so thought would try as staying in an all inclusive n wanted a nice meal for a change. Would recommend as a curry house in Palma nova.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, give this one a try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went early on a Saturday evening and we were glad we were as it got got quite busy a little while after we arrived. We were offered a 3 course menu including alcoholic/soft drink for around 15 euros, we could choose any starter and main and we also got poppadoms.

All I can say is the food was very tasty, best Peshwari Naan i've tasted! We also had 3 Indian people eating with us and they all gave it the thumbs up.

Service was great at first but slowed down when it got busier and the phones seemed to ring a lot for orders, again a good sign.

There are other places to eat Indian food, but if you're looking for somewhere decent give this place a try, we'd definately go back and we are pretty hard to please.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klh_110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must while in Palmanova!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had found a wonderful Indian food restaurant in Palma and we were headed there when we checked reviews on this site and decided to try Curry Lounge instead. Wow! We were blown away by the amazing food and tremendous service! We would eat here three meals a day, every day, for the rest of our stay! Wish we could give it 10 stars! You will not be disappointed! Amazing flavors, beautiful presentation and the staff was awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food better than the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Being regular visitors to this part of the island we are always keen to seek out new eateries. What is significantly obvious this August is that the area is much quieter than previous months.

The Curry Lounge is new this season. And judging by the positive TA reviews it has proved popular thus far. We tend to dine early evening. A couple of reasons, one being we know we are more likely to get a table straight away and generally one gets a more attentive service.

We were greeted with a smile and offered a table in the air-conditioned interior or outside. Opting for the latter, the menus were offered. This place has a couple of current offers ranging from €10 to €16. The latter includes a starter, main, rice, nan and a drink.

We opted ala carte. This took some explaining and a lot of pointing but my Spanish is very rough and the waiter gave the impression he was new. We ordered water and a bottle of wine, both of which took some time to be served. We were the only couple in the place. Although our presence encouraged some fellow early diners. Am no restaurant snob, but I do prefer my beverages to be opened and poured at my table. The rose was already opened and housed in an ice bucket. The water plonked on the table.

We also ordered popadoms. We love them, and while the pickle tray was presented nice the popadoms were very poor. Out of the four, two were barely edible. One so soft it folded double before is 'snapped'.

We left them and highlighted the poor quality to our waiter. He didn't respond. Oh well. The main course generally fared better. The chicken rogan josh was nice enough, but the prawn dhansak while not unpleasant wasn't what I have tasted before. i love this dish, but if I ate here again (and i probably would), i will steer clear of this one. Surprise dish was the aubergine curry side dish. This was really nice and really recommended. We were then waited by another man who more attentive not only to us but the other diners.

I know we are in another country, and also realise that chefs and waiters have different methods of service, but if the Curry Lounge is to exploit the massive ex-pat community (not my claim, but the second waiter's assertion) it needs more than 'free delivery' to attract all year business. One of the reasons we visit the island is that we know many Brits living here, and they are always asking if we have heard of any new places to eat.

This place is a little further back from the main strip. It's two minutes walk from another Indian restaurant, Taste of India. It might be near this place but its leagues ahead in terms of food. There is also Saffron on the front. This is comparatively smaller and a little more expensive, but some dishes are more like you would get in the UK.

You pays your money...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Lounge also viewed

 
Palmanova, Calvia
Palmanova, Calvia
 

Been to Curry Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing