We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hell!!”
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabarda
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I booked a four night stay in Majorca as a present for my Fiance's birthday, with the idea of trying out the clubs and getting some sun. Again like others after reading reviews on here this hotel seemed ok. Don't get me wrong, we fully expected basic and noisy accomodation due to where it was but this hotel was well below standards. Our room felt more like a sleazy hostel room than a hotel! On first impressions it was ok, the recieption staff were lovely but when we were showed to our room, i nearly cried! the beds were minging, mine felt damp and the headboards were full of grease and god knows what! The bathroom wasn't filthy but the shower was nothing but a trickle of water, the door didnt lock. The fan was useless so really hot at night, and nowhere to keep water cool so when thirsty in the night we had to drink warm water. The breakfast looked repulsive, it smelt foul and they had even watered down the beans. On departure we discovered that at some point our door had been kicked in and the frame repaired with a few wood screws and as we couldnt get a late check out room had to shower in the hotel shower which was full of other peoples hair and dirty plasters. If you have any standards at all dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sar123Liss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabarda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 507 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! I went this July with 3 of my friends (lads) and we saw this hotel read the reviews and we thought oh it seems just right so we thought we would book it as the reviews were mainly good. Who ever has put this hotel above terrible must have only ever stayed in ditches or sewer tunnels! Its disgusting, it should be closed down! Staff are VERY rude Rooms are like rabbit hutches and our room wasn't even cleaned all week, we had 4 single beds stuffed in to a very small room all 4 of use couldn't be in the room at the same time as we couldn't fit! Granted it is cheap but its not that cheap for what your getting! I have stayed in hostels that that seem like 5* hotels compared to this place! the pool is about 6ft square and full of sweat, sun cream and urine I didn't go in it all week! Trust me if you can spend abit more money to find a better hotel DO!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LukeDonald88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

great place to meet people i went with my two daughters for my birthday and we did party hotel staff always helped cook was lovely defo go back next year just shame about the weather the barnsley girls

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolbarraclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

.........as the title say's,

we went to the Gabarda last weeked for a 4 day'er,
We had heard that it was very basic - and it was!
BUT!
as the saying goes, you get what you pay for -
it was clean, good, tidy, and above all friendly!
the staff could'nt have been more helpfull!

we are in the 40 - 50 age bracket,
and although it was full of youngsters having a ball,
the only noise we really heard was the locals going about their buisiness,
Very Loudly!

Will we use the hotel again?
yes for definate!
Thanx for a nice wee break Gabarda. A+1

Room Tip: Our room was just that - A Room! tho' I'm sure you can get upgraded if you want a longer s...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavieThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

How anyone can give this hotel a bad review i dont no! its a 1 star but ive stayed in worse 4 stars. Me and two friends went for a few nights, we payed 100 quid for all of us with breakfast! ive paid more in a hostel! arrived at half 10 in morning and our room was ready! at half 10! The room is basic but we didnt expect it to be amazing, the fan is useless, would suggest to the owners to start hiring out fans, theyd make a fortune! Tanya and adele at reception cant do enough for you. even when we asked for towels 11 o clock at night! The cook christine is a bit grumpy but im not surprised shes worked like a dog! 24 hour bar and snacks, dont no anywhere else you could stagger in at 5am and get a pint and a pot noodle!! yes theres loads of noise but you have to expect it, the hotel is full of 18-30, we had a banter with a lot of them, even took a young scottish lad under our wing one night when his mates had left him, beware of the cockneys, they annoyed us so much! the person who said palmanova is a hour away is a complete idiot, its a 5 min walk, and a 25 min walk to magaluf. Magaluf, i have to say is a complete sausagefest, stick to palmanova, reflex, banana joes are good. Natalies for food, the steak pie is a must! Also golf fantasia is a good day out, buy your tickets at the hotel. Will be coming back here again!

Room Tip: try a get a top floor room, huge balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark6584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Hiya, I never normally write reviews but just read a couple below mine and it made me angry! The hotel is brilliant! The staff are lovely and English which is always good (well the receptionists are) an the other staff are just as nice and speak good English! The food is good and the bar, the pool is a little small but you can always use the one in Martinez across the road, the rooms are basic but very clean and the fan does just a good a job as air con! Me and my friend went for a week an really loved it here, wasn't in the hustle an bustle but not far from it either! We had a view of the hotel across from us and the 2 green bins but that definitely didn't put us off.. If you don't wanna look at that then pay for the ritz, what do you expect for the price? And to whoever said it was an hour into palmanova/maga then which hotel did u stay at cos it was def not the gabarda as that's right near everything! Anyway yeah if your thinkin of booking this hotel and are not taking kids then I'd go for it :D you will say it's just as nice I'm sure xxx

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tikka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have recently returned from a romantic week-long holiday in Mallorca. We had the misfortune to book this 'hotel' as our accommodation. We like to have a good time but we don't enjoy loutish people who club all night and sleep all day.

It gave 'basic' a whole new meaning! The room managed to be miniscule but bare at the same time!!! There was one puny wardrobe and bedside table (which was full of graffiti dating back to 2001).
The pathetic excuse of a ceiling fan looked as if it were going to fall off at any moment whilst on, as it was hanging by its wires.
The bathroom door did not have a lock OR catch, and would not shut at all, resulting in supreme embarassment whilst on the toilet!
The 'bath' was about the size of a small dog, no room to swing a hamster let alone a cat! The water was cold, and splashed constantly out on to the toilet which was almost touching the shower/bath tub thing.
Hand towel rail was below the sink and unaccessible in a corner - what the hell!

The window would not shut once opened and jarred- managed to close it and suffered the heat.
No air con!
Two single beds provided even though we requested a double - unlike most 'couples' that holiday here we actually like each other and want to share a bed...!
Our delightful, welsh, ladette neighbours alerted us to their bowel problems, and hence the hallway and our room reeked of excrement for at least 3 days. We think their flush was probably broken.

Woken up every night and morning at 1am and 5am by clubbing louts returning and getting kicked out for being abusive and rowdy. To quote one such night "JAY JAY JAY!!! WAKE UP MATE!!! YOU COMIN' OUT FOR A FAG!!! GOT A BIRD IN THE TAXI FOR YER!!! JAY!!! GET UP!!! *BANGS ON DOOR* JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!"
This continued for around half and hour at 4am.

The breakfast was appalling. Since when does 2 measly slices of plastic cheese and ham count as a CONTINENTAL breakfast?!!?!?!? On what planet?!??!!?
The food was poor quality and teeny portions. The sausage was water and rusk and fat.
Given literally 5 beans in the english breakfast.
No drinks included in B&B - what a farce! It would cost them around 2 cents per head to provide some watered down 1% orange juice?

On the other hand, it was close to the beach and palma nova centre and bus routes.
Nearby to Lidl and free buses to Western Water Park and Marineland.
Will definitely NOT be returning to Gabarda/Gil/Martinez!!!!
We are hoping to enjoy much more romantic accommodation on our next trip to Mallorca :)
Carlos and Korena :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK2K11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#14 of 39 in Palmanova
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Calle Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#17 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $45 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing