We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was more hot-HELL than hotel”
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabarda
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have recently returned from a romantic week-long holiday in Mallorca. We had the misfortune to book this 'hotel' as our accommodation. We like to have a good time but we don't enjoy loutish people who club all night and sleep all day.

It gave 'basic' a whole new meaning! The room managed to be miniscule but bare at the same time!!! There was one puny wardrobe and bedside table (which was full of graffiti dating back to 2001).
The pathetic excuse of a ceiling fan looked as if it were going to fall off at any moment whilst on, as it was hanging by its wires.
The bathroom door did not have a lock OR catch, and would not shut at all, resulting in supreme embarassment whilst on the toilet!
The 'bath' was about the size of a small dog, no room to swing a hamster let alone a cat! The water was cold, and splashed constantly out on to the toilet which was almost touching the shower/bath tub thing.
Hand towel rail was below the sink and unaccessible in a corner - what the hell!

The window would not shut once opened and jarred- managed to close it and suffered the heat.
No air con!
Two single beds provided even though we requested a double - unlike most 'couples' that holiday here we actually like each other and want to share a bed...!
Our delightful, welsh, ladette neighbours alerted us to their bowel problems, and hence the hallway and our room reeked of excrement for at least 3 days. We think their flush was probably broken.

Woken up every night and morning at 1am and 5am by clubbing louts returning and getting kicked out for being abusive and rowdy. To quote one such night "JAY JAY JAY!!! WAKE UP MATE!!! YOU COMIN' OUT FOR A FAG!!! GOT A BIRD IN THE TAXI FOR YER!!! JAY!!! GET UP!!! *BANGS ON DOOR* JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!"
This continued for around half and hour at 4am.

The breakfast was appalling. Since when does 2 measly slices of plastic cheese and ham count as a CONTINENTAL breakfast?!!?!?!? On what planet?!??!!?
The food was poor quality and teeny portions. The sausage was water and rusk and fat.
Given literally 5 beans in the english breakfast.
No drinks included in B&B - what a farce! It would cost them around 2 cents per head to provide some watered down 1% orange juice?

On the other hand, it was close to the beach and palma nova centre and bus routes.
Nearby to Lidl and free buses to Western Water Park and Marineland.
Will definitely NOT be returning to Gabarda/Gil/Martinez!!!!
We are hoping to enjoy much more romantic accommodation on our next trip to Mallorca :)
Carlos and Korena :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK2K11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It was back of beyond out of the way. Me and my friend went to Palma Nova for a girly holiday, girly being an operative word as we are middle aged, so when we realised it was a 18 to 30s hotel well you can imagine how delighted we was. The room was very tiny, no air-conditioning just a fan which didn't work, we had a fridge which we rented which held just a couple of bottles of water and not much else. The headboards where filthy and full of oil, they where stuck to the wall, the bathroom you couldn't swing a cat round. We requested a room with a view, which consisted of a view of another run down hotel, with two great big overflowing green bins staring at us, Quite noisy at night,playing music, shouting etc The swimming pool, if you could call it that would fit about 6 people at the most, then it would look crowded. They do cook English breakfast, don't know what thats like, as we didn't try it. A ten/fifteen min to shops depending how fast you walked, would not recommend to anyone unless you are desperate, still in the 70's era. All in all would never stay here again. This was booked for us by a Travel Agents, from now on we book our own, wouldn't trust them again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aurmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a friendly hotel, the staff are fantastic, it's NOT a family hotel in the season. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are small and the toilets are too close to the basin, the rooms have a ceiling fan which will not cool you down but will allow you to sleep.

One criticism, and I stress this is one thing I was unhappy about was the lack of any type of soap or handwash in the hotel's public toilets, this really is asking for trouble in a hotel with common areas and food and drink!

I'm 51 and went with my son as a last min replacement for his mate who dropped out. I really enjoyed the hotel, the food was basic and the fare was aimed at the 18 to 30 year old palate, but well cooked and presented, bar prices were comparable with the other bars, the staff are just great, helpful and fun. 5euro in a cab from Magaluf or a 20 mins walk, the staff do try to keep the noise of returning party people who get in at between 5:00 and 6:00 in the morning; don't complain, join them. The pool is small but enough space to cool down.
I would recommend this hotel if you are under 45 and like to party.

Room Tip: No lift so rooms starting with 3 are a lot of stairs in the heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dave-dare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

i dont advise anybody to goto this hotel at all, false advertisement saying its 5 mins walk to palma, its an hours walk spend so much money in taxis, & they parp 17 year old girls out for having wet sheets because wouldnt give them 150 euros for it, what a joke the staff are vert cheeky and they take ages to clean your rooms! if your young i strongly dont recommend, the rooms have noo air conditioning. DO NOT GOTO THIS HOTEL IF YOUR GOING ON HOILDAY TO HAVE FUN!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni_x33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

stayed here as it was cheap. was skeptical as expected it to be an absolute dive as it is officially a one star hotel - but it was actually more or less on par with a 4star hotel i stayed in in greece to be honest! obviously the rooms were standard, but there was two pools available and a bar by the poolside aswell as a fantastic reception. There was a 24h bar for drinks, food - basically anything. Plasma tvs by the pool and by the bar - and a lounge area aswell. In the Martinez hotel across the road (owned by the same company) you can watch movies on sky at night etc if you cant sleep say - absolutely loved this place. It's a one star - but after staying there guarantee you'll think of it as a 3 star. Best value for money - however be weary of the wee irish cook, shes got a chip on her shoulder of some sort although i heard she was meant to be nice. Nevertheless - great fricking hotel, i absolutely recommend it x

Also - no bugs whatsoever in the rooms, a balcony with table and chairs for each room, aswell as a bathtub in the bathroom and a great shower - and u get cleaners everyday which change ur towels and clean and mop ur room, great? i know

also, downfall is there is no wifi - and the pcs in the hotel charge you 50cent for 5min on the internet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katy20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is superb, friendly staff especially Salvador (try the salvador special cocktail). Rooms basic but are clean and maid comes in everday. Breakfast second to none cant fault it at and Christine the Chef is great.. 5 min walk to beach, 10 min walk to the palmanova nightlife and 5 min taxi ride to Magaluf. 24hr bar and snacks.

Some of the girls have already booked to go back in september - FAB

Lisa (karen's hen do)
Wigan

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lpicton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

when we arrived at the gabarda we thought we were in the middle of know where, but as soon as we walked in we got a warm welcome and a big smile from the woman who worked there. honestly one of the friendliest places i have ever stayed, the women at the desk helped us so much, telling us where to go, how to get into magaluf, how much taxis cost ect. the breakfast was so lovely in the morning, very good hangover cure. the pool was quite small and not very many sunbeds but lots of seats to sit round that are in the sun too. our room was basic, but perfect for our type of holiday as we slept there or just chilled out. would definitly recommend this hotel, would definitly go back there, all the staff are so nice, breakfast was yum and was really close to the beach. only thing is, if your going on a party holiday like we did, then it is about a fifteen minute walk from magaluf, its a nice walk however, following the beaches, but hungover and tired its not that fun. would still go back, its a great budget hotel :D

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hannah190740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Palmanova
FERGUS Style Palmanova
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Calle Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#17 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $43 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing