We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for seniors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
1 review
“Great hotel for seniors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Just had a long week-end at the Son Matias, very good quality food but catering for senior British people so very few Spanish traditional dishes. Rooms were very clean and modern, pool area was kept tidy and clean as were the public rooms. Caberet very "Hi de Hi" but if you like Bingo and Line Dancing then this is the place for you, free tea and biscuits every afternoon with the tea dance. Go with an open mind and you will enjoy the experience no matter what your age.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    201
    70
    19
    8
See reviews for
92
851
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We arrived at the Hotel and check in was so easy. We were located rooms on the first floor and found that we had very large balconies overlooking the whole bay of Palma Nova. The food was first class offering many specialaties. We found all the staff very pleasant and pristine in their uniforms. We were very impressed with the chair located by the pool that could accommodate lowering a disabled person into the swimming pool, very thoughtful. Can't wait for a return visit.

D. BESTFORD, DURHAM

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We have just returned from our first visit to this wonderful hotel, no complaints at all in the week we had (well apart from the weather, rain rain and more rain). We had Suite(ending in a 7) which had a lovely views across the bay, and a very spacious room. Staff, were brilliant, nothing was a trouble to them. Food , very good (has anyone else noticed how their clothes shrink in the wardrobes whilst on holiday) Enertainment, very good too, Claire, was a gem, don't know she did it all on her own too, we will certainly be returning to this hotel. All in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lessa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Having read the reviews before we booked we did get what we expected, good service, clean and friendly. We are 44/41 and I'd say the average age is nearer 60, there were a few older teens at the hotel but other than these we were the youngest.

Most guests have been (many) times before and the hotel encourages this with incentives and discounts based on number of stays. One lady told us she books her room a year in advance and stays for 4 weeks.

In terms of location the hotel is excellent, Palmo Nova is a bit more up market than Magaluf but you can easily walk to Magaluf in a few minutes where brandy and coffee is cheaper but you do run the risk of meeting groups of lads on cheap beer - "you takes your chance"

Bus stops are right outside, turn left out of the hotel and to get to Santa Ponsa cross the road, for Palma follow the path for a few yards. Buses are excellent and only 2.80 euros for the 40 minute trip to Palma. However they can be packed and sometimes don't stop, my advice for Palma is to get off at the under ground terminal and get back on there too and we saw huge queues by the Cathedral who were not allowed to get on our bus as it was jammed full already.

I have seen some poor comments about the hotel food, but we found it to be very good with no complaints. I have to admit the dish of kidneys was not something I would try but salads, breads and plenty of fish and meat dishes are available. All is of the standard you expect from a buffet. House wine is very good and was 7.70 euro, the hotel will store open bottles for the next day - a concept I personally find strange but that is because I lack any sort of self control.

There was plenty of entertainment available throught the day but we were generally out walking. My darling wife did sign us up for "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" when my back was turned! I wsa somewhat horrified to be seat up front but we managed to steer a clear path to £250,000 and won lunch for two in the hotel.

There was ballroom dancing for an hour each night at 7:30 and as we are just starting out on this we would have liked to try - except one couple were clearly experts and didn't miss the chance to display their skills **every** night so we were not brave enough to try.

The rooms was clean and serviced each day, the hotel is built as a V shape and only has rooms on the side that face the sea so every room has a sea view - The sun rises out to sea and so sets behind the hotel so you don't get to see it set. This is probably a good thing as in previous hotels we have been baked by the sun all day.

Would I go back? No, but that is because we never do as we like to see new places (and people, ha ha). If you want a quiet, friendly, clean and all together pleasant holiday then you won't go wrong. However be warned - you could be going for the next 15 years and be on first name terms with the staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

First impressions were good, friendly staff, easy check in, light, clean pleasant room, with air con, tea and coffee facilities, TV with english channels namely BBC 1, BBC2, ITV 1, channel 4 & 5, SKY sport. Hairdrier and plenty of towels in bathroom.
Fridge and safety deposit box for a charge.
The standard room is not over large but quite adequate and all have sea views.
We found the beds a little firm for us.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, fresh fruit etc, we like a good fry up and found most things to our liking ( sunday was back bacon day).
Staff very effiecient, sometimes too good, they could clear your plate when you pause to look at the lovely view of the beach whilst you eat.
Evening meals were equally good, buffet style, mostly english based.
The entertainment is tailored towards the more senior clientele, who make up the majority of the guests, so its as it should be and Claire is a real asset to the hotel.
The area around the Hotel is very clean with mostly easy walking on good sufaces ( a few steep kerbs watch those) with lots of bars and resturants all very close with various prices. we liked the lady di's piano bar, the three brothers bar ( nice pint of john smiths and stella on draught) also the El Mecca bar does a nice lunch and has evening entertainment.
We found the other guests considerate, very friendly to us first timers ( if you need to know anything during your stay the other guests always help out).
Hope to see you all soon Andrew & Wendy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAndyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

just returned from another great stay at son matias.staff,entertainment,hotel ,superb,special thanks to dining room staff for finding us a special table in the quiet room for our evening meal.ps clair was brilliant.will be back soon.PAUL&JANET DANVERS

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldanvers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Lovely location right out onto the beach, all rooms have a fantastic sea view. Local area not too busy at this time. The staff and entertainment in the hotel were very good. The food and levels of cleanliness were very good. Travel was easy with bus stops in both directions outside the hotel. We travelled with Thomson from Manchester with no problems and short transfers. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and Claire ran the entertainment and activities very professionally throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia Hotel
Globales Santa Lucia Hotel
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing