We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is lovely, we stayed on the 5th floor and the view was outstanding, overlooking the pool and the beach, we had complimentary drinks in the room which was gratefully received, entertainment throughout the day and we thoroughly enjoyed the 9.30 show in the evening, the staff was welcoming, friendly and polite, although it was a little frustrating at times as the Spanish entertainer Liz muddles her English which makes it hard to understand her, all in all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    218
    77
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
955
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice before 3 and 4 yrs ago. Decided to return this March.The hotel is still excellent good food VG staff all in all we had a very good 10 day break. We were lucky to have pool view room which was I think warmer than the other side, sun up at 7 am and off balcony around 1 pm. Not that we were in much anyway. P Nova quiet at this time of year. We are in our 70s but found that some residents seemed to think that because they have been coming for anything up to 22 years some twice a year, they owned the place. Shame really they need more of a mix of ages, certain areas of the entertainment area was filled before most people had finished dinner. We did not stay in at night preferring a local tavern where we could sit more or less where we liked and enjoy a quiet coffee and brandy.it was very refreshing to have some 20 uni students staying whilst we were there. They were great and all very well behaved. So would we return? maybe but not for another couple of years or so.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

A week in a hotel with no children about seemed like a nice idea and it was, although at times it did seem like there to were only older people about (I'm 55). The hotel was what you would expect from a 4* hotel; professional attentive staff and very good buffet meals. I agree with most of what I've read in previous reviews...a great hotel.
I would have liked to see more hotel information in the room so that I knew more about the facilities though.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea/pool facing, fourth floor standard room was more than sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome our room was great with a fantastic view we have been before a few times so we were hoping nothing would have changed and it had not, we chose two weeks because one was not enough the food cannot be faulted we enjoyed every meal all the staff are friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed the entertainment and really found the new entertainments manager Elizabeth was really good she made us laugh and could not do enough for everyone, she was helpful and freindly she took the time to get to know peoples names to make them feel part of everything, a lot of people go back time and time and time again and we can see why, hoping to return again next year for another fabulous time!

John and Linda Birmingham

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnblade131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel 4 times now and it never disappoints. The room we stayed in was on the 8th floor which gave us fantastic views of the ocean and mountains and with the hotel having 2 lifts there is no problem.The room was absolutely fine and having the fridge with the free milk and water was very welcome.
The staff as always are very friendly and hospitable. The entertainment is excellent as well. I am sure we will be going back there in the near future.

Room Tip: A high floor room gives better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I always said I'd never go to Palma Nova due to various reports, well, hard luck on me for many years. We've just returned from 11 days in Palma Nova and would like to say, it's a really lovely resort to stay, ok it's March not July or August where it might be different but I'm not bothered, March is fine. The coastal views are beautiful, scenic, the sea was so clear, the mountains as a backcloth, so picturesque, the three bays, it's lovely. As it's March not very much open in way of bars and shops but what was open looked ok to us.
The hotel, Son Matias, loads have been said about this hotel, it's all true. Picture this, 9.30am getting ready to sit on balcony overlooking the pool on the 7th floor waiting for the siun to appear and it did, about 10.45am cup of tea time, made on the complimentary tea/coffee facility, add some complimentary milk from the free fridge facility, dunt get much better, also provided was 2 bottles of water. The hotel is a very well run Majorcan hotel which caters for the UK clientele. The reception is very professionally run, the lounge is comfortable to sit in, we did use it occasionally at night and the acts we saw were very good, we're also glad we eat to live as the food was absolutely delicious, lots of choices and very well cooked, the rooms, very well presented, kept clean, however, (sorry) we would have preferred it slightly bigger, we found it abit pinchy, so, when we go again we'll try a book a suite, preference sorted.
Didn't use the pool area, only viewed it from the balcony so can't comment, it looks nice enough. Bus stops for both ways just outside the hotel.
Would we go again, as long as we can get in next year, yes we would.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel 7th-14th March. our 4th time at this hotel over 20 years. We are both 66 years young.

GOOD POINTS

The hotel is located right in the beach front. The rooms are a little on the small side but very clean. The fridges are free and when you arrive there is a complimentary litre of long life milk and 2 small bottles of water which is very thoughtful. There is also a kettle and 14 sachets of coffee and tea bags. They are not replaced once used. There is an airer on the balcony but take pegs. The beds are 2 singles pushed together made separately, bed linen very white. There is no hanging space in the wardrobes for long dresses etc. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

There was always hot water and clean towels in the bathroom although the bathrooms were a little dated. There is a package containing shampoo, gel, shower hat, shoe cleaner and comb ,
These are not replaced.

Pool towels can be hired for 24 euros deposit for 2 and 1 euro if you want to change them.

The food was very good, always hot plates for main course the dining room never felt crowded and a great choice and always hot. Drink prices were reasonable.

Cat & Phil the Thomson reps were the best reps we have ever experienced and we have been on a lot of Thomson holidays. Cat was always there and nothing was too much trouble for her it is such a shame for the hotel she is moving to another area. Thanks for making our holiday.

Liz is now the Entertainer a young Spanish girl who is very friendly and does a good job. People found the evening acts far too loud but when we spoke to her about it she sorted it immediately. Cannot comment on daytime games as we did not participate. Overall the evening entertainment was very good. Liz has a great future ahead of her.

BAD POINTS

When we booked last October we asked for a High room, We were allocated 801 which is the room right on the end and with 2 outside walls. The sun has gone by 11am and as the weather was cold with a very strong easterly wind the room was freezing even with the air con at 25, the bathroom steamed up so much it was like thick fog once again freezing any time of the day. We asked for extra blankets as we froze at night these were supplied. They have a lot of return visitors who e mail in advance to make sure they have rooms on high floors overlooking the pool which are the best sunny rooms.

We asked at the Reception for a room change but was told hotel was full. Other people we were speaking to said there were vacant rooms near them but the Receptionist denied this. He said we should have e mailed a few days before if we wanted a Sunny room. He said we could move to 112 the next day. We agreed to this as it was sunny. When we moved there was no water coming through the sink tap, also the plastic soap dish in the shower was broken as was the shower head. The plumber came twice to give us a useable bathroom. We were the only guests on the floor other than a load of Uni students who had a cheap deal but were very polite and quiet. Beware if you are on the floor everyone round the pool looks in your room there is absolutely no privacy at all and in the height of the season you get the youngsters at 4am in the morning screaming and shouting and swearing every day also their beach activities on their way back to Magaluf which is just round the corner. would not recommend this floor at all. Asked to upgrade to a suite and pay extra but the off hand English Receptionist said people travelling with Thomsons are not allowed to upgrade. Also beware they had a loyalty card system and these people think they have priority even to seats in the entertainment lounge. We have been 4 times and never offered one. Also the key safe in the bedroom is 20 euros per week plus 6 euros deposit which we thought was far too much for a 4 star hotel.

To conclude we would not return to this hotel as we felt second class citizens and when we said this to the Receptionist his reply was "that's up to you." Please make sure you email to ask for a sunny room. The air con varies from room to room.

If this review was helpful please give us a tick. Happy holidays.





.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool for sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank 194748Sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing