We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our holiday at son Maria's beach hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our holiday at son Maria's beach hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is in a superb position we were on the 9th floor so the view overlooking the pool beach and surrounding area we could not have had better the down side for us was the sun bed scramble the queue started about 7.30 until they were let in at 9 o'clock people all week who were limping or walking with sticks were running to get their preferred sun bed fighting over umbrellas it was truly unbelievable in a ten day holiday we were only able to get a bed when people had gone home when the sun beds had been secured by their towels it was off for breakfast. If you wanted a fridge it cost 35 euros safe was about the same this hotel caters for for mainly older people who go more than once a year it is very much like a private club although we are in our 60s it made us feel old. Now for the food not the best cold most nights when dishes were empty they were not replaced one night the salmon was just bones it looked like vultures had been there the times in the dining room changed so you had to have your meal by 8.45 and then the food was cleared away one night we had just got our main course and we were told to get our sweets as it was all being cleared this was out of order as we had only just ordered a bottle of wine. Staff were not friendly or helpful in the dining room The entertainment was bingo or a quiz until 10 o'clock for things like oven gloves or other low value prizes the other tribute acts some were very good the comedienne was awful all in all hire a car the island has some beautiful places to see would we return to this hotel no way holiday good not this retirement home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pemaChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    214
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
103
925
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

With only arriving home on 10th Sept 13 we continued to talk about what a fantastic hotel this was. We did have a couple niggles 1 being there mini bar in the room, it didn't really keep anything cold unless you buy it cold first. But we got around this by buying frozen water and keeping it in the fridge and it cooled everything then. The age range of everyone is of an older age but to be honest we loved it as everyone was so nice

The rooms were cleaned every day and and the air con was fantastic. You also have a TV in the rooms which is great if you have bad weather or having a bit of a quieter night in.

All in all cant fault the hotel at all. Even public areas were spotless.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mecud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel. This was our 2nd visit & we didn't enjoy it as much as last year infact we were pleased to be going home, maybe 10days would have been better. Breakfastwas good but improvemant needed for the evening meals. Lamb everynight in some shape or form. One night all I had was a jacket potato and cheese. The entertainment crew would do better at a holiday camp I was expecting to hear " hi de hi" at some point. Cabaret didin't start until 10pm so there was a long gap from dinner to the cabaret. Last years entertainment crew did paper quizes that you could do amongst yourselves. They did have "cash" bingo my husband won a house for €60's BUT it was paid out in hotel vouchers NOT cash. A lot of cash was taken that night so what happened to the cash. Cabaret was mostly tribute acts Neil Diamond and Abba being the best, the rest I wouldn't want to see again. 9pm start would have been much better. Special rooms are reserved for returning guests of many years, I was even told by some woman that it was HER spot around the pool as she has been coming there for 10years, WHAT! ! The hotel & rooms are spotless & staff friendly. There is a need for an anti-slip mat int he bath also a step for stepping out of the batg, which also holds the shower. My husband slipped one night getting out and had to visit the doctor, no bones broken but badly bruised is leg which cause some discomfort. Lovely rooms all with a sea view. There is back gate that you can go out and you are on the walkway to the beacn, you need your card to get back in the gate so only hotel guest can enter. Some noise was heard from groups returning from Magaluf. Not sure if we will return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor are supposed to be the best ' but those returning many times usual get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diamondoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

we just returned home from a great holiday in the Son Matias beach hotel. the food was good and varied. The hotel was kept very clean, I would like to thank the cleaners who cleaned our room 915 after I smashed and spilled the contents of a bottle all over the floor, I reported it to the reception staff and within the half hour our room was cleaned. we were very impressed. the only complaint we have got is the day of departure our cold breakfast, the room allocated was cramped and the toaster was not working properly and not a lot of selection.

Room Tip: I would recommend to book higher floor and looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having reviewed trip advisor prior to our holiday, we were pleasantly surprised that neither the age range nor the queue for the sunbeds were dampners. Yes the age range is wide so just go with it. Most had been returning year on year and we could see why. The sunbed queue starts at 09:00am, I would have breakfast after getting your sunbed!!
The hotel staff were extremely polite and very heplful. The hotel is spotless throughout. The food was excellent and there was a good variety to cater for all palates.
The drinks are a little more expensive but you would expect that from any hotel around the world and are not overly so. We never stayed in for the entertainment as we preferred to go out.
I am struggling to fault this hotel, so I wont!

Room Tip: Pool side is noisier than sea view. But all rooms look out to sea. If you want more space and doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was great. food was excellent with good variety. Hotel was kept very clean and the rooms done every day. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable. In house entertainment was good. Could not fault our experience in this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.

Kay

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and hotel is quiet most of the time. If you don't like heights avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

As the title says, this hotel is a good one and over all we had a nice holiday. A great many of the guest we spoke to had stayed at this hotel 10, 15, 17 times and more. their reviews were excellent but perhaps they did not have much to compare with as I cannot say that anything was exceptional or fantastic.
Many have said that the location is great but the sunbathing area is too small for the number of beds it contains. The pool is a little on the small side with a small space for non/poor swimmers to enjoy. The beach opposite is excellent but be prepared to pay 13 euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol. We stayed pool side a few days but enjoyed the beach more.
The food was good in general, breakfast very good, the evening meal good but unvaried. The show cooking was too basic and nothing shone out to excite the would be diner. The wine was good and fairly priced.
Drinks were basic and a little pricey. I think they have missed out here as when you are away on holiday you want to be more inventive on what you drink. Cocktails seemed to be an afterthought, they did try to promote a different drink each night but without much effort.
It may seem that this is a negative review, but it is not, it is based on fact and observation and overall we both enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, bright and modern. the room we had was ideal for our needs and I would recommend anyone to stay in a room with pool and sea view providing you are closer to the sea rather than the road. We stayed in room 708, had fantastic views, did not hear any noise in the early hours.
Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful, they all seemed to enjoy working there.
The evening entertainment ranged from excellent, special mention to Four Tops, Neil Diamond and Westlife singers to naff , Tom Jones and a girl trio. We would have enjoyed the Micheal Jackson group if they had turned the music down as guests were being driven out with fingers in their ears. We made it to half time then made our escape.
I hope this is of help, it is a good hotel, rate No.1. The problem with being the best is trying to stay there, I hope the hotel manages to make it more 'special' there by deserving the title of No.1.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view but nearer the sea/corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baloobear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia Hotel
Globales Santa Lucia Hotel
#13 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing