We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As the title says, this hotel is a good one and over all we had a nice holiday. A great many of the guest we spoke to had stayed at this hotel 10, 15, 17 times and more. their reviews were excellent but perhaps they did not have much to compare with as I cannot say that anything was exceptional or fantastic.
Many have said that the location is great but the sunbathing area is too small for the number of beds it contains. The pool is a little on the small side with a small space for non/poor swimmers to enjoy. The beach opposite is excellent but be prepared to pay 13 euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol. We stayed pool side a few days but enjoyed the beach more.
The food was good in general, breakfast very good, the evening meal good but unvaried. The show cooking was too basic and nothing shone out to excite the would be diner. The wine was good and fairly priced.
Drinks were basic and a little pricey. I think they have missed out here as when you are away on holiday you want to be more inventive on what you drink. Cocktails seemed to be an afterthought, they did try to promote a different drink each night but without much effort.
It may seem that this is a negative review, but it is not, it is based on fact and observation and overall we both enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, bright and modern. the room we had was ideal for our needs and I would recommend anyone to stay in a room with pool and sea view providing you are closer to the sea rather than the road. We stayed in room 708, had fantastic views, did not hear any noise in the early hours.
Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful, they all seemed to enjoy working there.
The evening entertainment ranged from excellent, special mention to Four Tops, Neil Diamond and Westlife singers to naff , Tom Jones and a girl trio. We would have enjoyed the Micheal Jackson group if they had turned the music down as guests were being driven out with fingers in their ears. We made it to half time then made our escape.
I hope this is of help, it is a good hotel, rate No.1. The problem with being the best is trying to stay there, I hope the hotel manages to make it more 'special' there by deserving the title of No.1.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view but nearer the sea/corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baloobear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hotel was placed in a marvelous position right on the beach with all front bedrooms having a panoramic sea view. The only downside of being on the front was that you were woken each morning from about 5am by drunken revellers on their way back home from Magalluf .
From this point things went downhill regarding the hotel. Although the description mentioned facilities for the disabled, on arrival we were told to carry our own bags up to our rooms. We were charged almost a 100 euros immediately for safe, fridge and towels. If you wanted clean sunbed towels there was a charge of 1 euro a towel per change.
Our room was small, it had tea & coffee facilities provided as advertised but when asking for refills of supplies I was told that only 2 sachets of each were allowed per day and if you left anything out from the day before you would not get a further replacement. This also applied to the toiletries. To shower you had to climb into the bath with no anti slip mat.
The food at dinner was very basic and on one day was cold we mentioned it to the waiter & were thanked for pointing it out as apparently their heaters had gone wrong, however I think that the chef should be checking himself rather than waiting for a guests comment.
To get to the pool you had to go into a holding bay and queue until 09.00 in order to get a sunbed, there were not enough beds for all. This queue started at 07.30. Once on a bed if you moved out of the hotel to get lunch you had one hour to return, the hotel staff would come round and any empty beds had a sticker put on them and if no return by the hour your towels were removed.
The advertised entertainment was poor. Bingo was played most nights with the prizes being items like bars of chocolate , oven gloves, hotel mugs, thermos flasks or vouchers for free meals( only in the hotel of course). A lot of money was taken but not given back in the prizes.
Once the show started this was also of a poor standard, very amateur with some
people walking out most nights.

We could not recommend this hotel. For many years we have used Thomson for our holidays usually Gold. We have stayed in the Picafort Park, Can Picafort, Majorca 10 times and have always been pleased, however we thought we would like to try the other side of the island. Son Matias had the same star rating as Can Picafort so has been our comparison.
To conclude we feel that this hotel has a very poor standard and is scrimping and saving to the detriment of its Customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Margaretuk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

After staying for the 2 nd time , we were again very pleased with our choice. Staff do an excellent job and are very friendly. Hotel is well kept and very clean,In a great location overlooking the beach. My only gripe would be having to pay to hire the room safe , this practice seems to be a bit outdated and greedy ! The hotel has been refurbished over the years but the bathrooms ,although very clean , should be next on list to be refurbished - look dated. All things aside , this hotel makes you feel very welcome and is positioned in a great location. Enjoy. !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clubtropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Like a lot of the reviews can only echo that it is probably one of the better hotels in palma nova
We stayed here after a first week on the ship thomson dream
Slightly perturbed that our room wasn't ready when we arrived from the ship and feel 18 e for the safe for a week is expensive
Room was cleann and ok furnished nice selection of toiletries with clean towels every day
Main niggle for a 4 star the staff left enough coffee for 1 drink a day - ridiculous that you have to go out and buy if u wanted any more
Sunbed stampede at 9 but were always beds available
Food was a good selection from Steaks n carvery every night to paella n curries good selection of desserts breakfasts what u needed
Didn't stay in for the entertainment but looked a good mix for those that did
Megan n jacinta the entertainment girls did various day things to keep those that wanted it occupied
Good position straight on beach
Selection of shops directly outside

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Slightly more expensive but well worth it.
Its adults only but has a mixture of all ages.
Every room overlooks the sea, slightly on the small side but comfortable.
Everything you need in room, hairdryer, safe, kettle, fridge and air con. Disappointed that there was a charge for the fridge as I thought it should of been included in the price.
All hallways and stairs are carpeted so very quiet.
Food absolutely fabulous, we couldn't fault it.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms very good with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel on tues and found it to be an excellent hotel well run clean ,we had a suite and it was fantastic,but our balcony was never cleaned the whole week we was there,otherwis ok.If I had to complain about this hotel it would be the queing for the pool every morn ing like cattel they did not open pool until 09.00,this was stupid and I have never known it any were else iv been .Would go back loved it and use the beach all time.

Room Tip: Always go for one of the suites 407 fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denbo890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the son matias beach hotel, the hotel location is perfect the hotel in general is clean and well maintained and modern, the staff are very friendly and helpful, but the food! The breakfasts are good with a decent variety but the evening meals are mostly the previous nights food with a new identity. For example pork one night becomes battered pork the next same with the prawns. Most of the food had this treatment which when you are paying high season prices and as this hotel is not cheap you expect better. My advice would be just pay bed and breakfast and eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 38 in Palmanova
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fergus Style Palmanova
Fergus Style Palmanova
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $82 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing