We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
county durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Son Matais Beach. Really good food with plenty of choice and meals varied every day well done!. View from the room was beautiful and very little noise, housekeeping kept the room spotless and staff in general were very good. Pool area was well set out with plenty of sunbeds but you still got your usual people waiting at the gate to rush to “their sunbed every morning”. Entertainment was varied but rather slow between 8pm and 10pm. Would say this hotel is more for people over the age of 40. One change that could be made is that I had a lot of maxi dresses with me and the wardrobe space did not accommodate these as the drop was not long enough If you want good value for money, excellent food and a well presented hotel then this one is for you. Hope enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view. Rooms with 01-08 numbers get morning sun 09-16 afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    235
    78
    20
    8
See reviews for
111
1,017
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just back from another great holiday at Hotel Son Matias Beach.
Staff from cleaners to management lovely and looking forward to
another week at the end of August. Top class hotel and would
not go anywhere else in Palmanova.

Room Tip: Corner suites are brilliant. Just like everything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are looking forward to our fourteenth (14th!) visit to Son Matias Beach next month. The staff are great and the location second to none - right on the beach. We chose bed & breakfast accommodation which means we are free to chose eating out locally or in the hotel if we like. The entertainment is good most evenings. The hotel is very relaxed and the housekeeping staff keep the rooms spotless -great job. It's true that the hotel age group is on the older side but as this is an adults only hotel this is to be expected. During the summer months there are some younger clientele but many are repeat customers like myself & my husband - both in our mid-fifties. One thing to note, it can be a bit noisy with the return of late night revellers from clubs in Magalluf - no biggy. To anyone considering SMB, you will to be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after a cruise and stay. We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it.

This year we think the standard has slipped slighty. On the Monday we didn,t get our room cleaned despite removing the do not disturb sign at 9 30am and returning at 4 45pm to find it the way we left it was most annonying.

The night before departure myself and other guests were told that the dining room would be opened at 7 15 so we could have breakfast before getting picked up at 8 55am. There was a cold breakfast in what they call the quiet room which consisted of white bread and cereal no hot drinks. The receptionist said that's all we could have making out that he was doing everyone a favour? We were actually entitled to a full breakfast that morning. I went to reception and asked if I could have a brown roll as i cant eat white bread as I am type 1 diabetic and the cereal was to sweet he was very rude and grumpy and said yes yes yes. I had to ask him again if someone could get me one he got up and stormed into the dining room and said help yourself. On entering the dining room I found everything was ready for guests to have breakfast. Everyone that was departing that morning was really disappointed at the way we were treated by the receptionist it made a horrible ending to a good holiday.

Having said all that I think we would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellers0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed our first visit at this hotel and we are looking forwards to enjoying another holiday there as it suited our needs, and we have made some lovely memories. The hotel staff are friendly and work very hard to keep customers happy. The hotel and the rooms are clean and every room has a balcony with sea view. Tea and coffee making facilities are supplied, as are toiletries in the bathroom. There was a safe and a refrigerator in the room, we paid a small charge for the keys on both of these items. Food was very good, plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner. The restaurant is light and airy with the option of sitting outside to eat whilst enjoying the magnificent vista. As well as lazing by the pool and Jacuzzi between cooling down in them, we participated in the outdoor games the entertainment team arranged. Megan and Jacinta work hard to keep everyone entertained, quite a feat as the age range of customers was from 30 upwards. Evening entertainment included different artists, usually tribute bands, plus Mark Ritchie who is a country/western singer and guitarist who impressed us so much that we purchased c.d.'s from him. Considering we aren't fans of country/western music that was quite an achievement on his part! I have asked the hotel to make an announcement if there are to be flashing or strobe lighting with the shows, as I was badly affected with the lighting display in 1 of the shows. I was very grateful to Sue who is 1 of the hard working bar staff, as she came to my rescue and got the lights turned off until I left the room. The hotel is well situated with being a hop and a skip from the white sandy beach and dazzling deep blue, turquoise sea. On the front side of the hotel there many shops, supermarkets, and bars of different kinds. Walking into Palma centre is a fairly level walk without any steps to climb, as I am partially sighted this is a big consideration for me. We have already recommended this hotel to friends. Wonderful.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel along with a weeks cruise. We have stayed in many Spanish hotels but I have to say this is the best one we have ever been in. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from and the decor of the rooms were lovely with everything that you need, Entertainment was varied. I do admit the age group of the guests were elderly but it did not spoil our time there and would have no hesitation in going back to son matias hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea we were on the second floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from two week stay at the SMB. From reading previous reviews, most stated it was an over 50's age group. My husband and I are in our 50's and we were the youngest guests there for the first week and felt like teenagers. On the first night all we could see was white hair, walking sticks and zimmer frames. As the majority of the guests are repeat customers we felt like outsiders and felt unwelcome and that there was an atmosphere. I personally do not think the repeat customers are doing this hotel any favours.

Aside from the age group, the hotel is immaculate and in a stunning location, we had a suite on the third floor and the view was amazing. The breakfast was good, but unfortunately I cant really say the same about dinner. The soup was obviously out of a packet and was like dishwater and pretty tasteless. Only one fish choice and this was usually overcooked and full of bones. If you like steak and kidney pie and apple crumble (not what I want when on holiday, or at home) then you will enjoy. Overall I think the food is geared to the elderly guests.

I would certainly not return to this hotel early or late in the season because of the age group of the clientele, who apparently all go back again in September!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frnkyby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing