We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Yet another good stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have just returned from another good holiday at this hotel. Same friendly staff, all doing an excellent job, and all go out of their way to make you welcome.The food was plentiful and very varied, evening entertainment was mostly good and had something to suit all tastes..We agree with other comments regarding putting towels on sunbeds and not using them for hours,Even the weather was good. we will be back.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAKEDISTRICTTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    236
    78
    21
    8
See reviews for
114
1,034
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel, the staff were lovely, the food great, unfortunately a stomach bug was going strong in the hotel when we arrived and two days later I was hit by it, which left me feeling awful for 3 days, the hotel didn't have air conditioning on in rooms, I surmise so that bug wasn't spread, but they had it on in restaurant and lounge, and as people who were ill didn't stay in their rooms it of course spread. We will be having another holiday at this hotel, in fact would return tomorrow, I miss my bread and butter pudding. I do hope they do not change all the rooms into shower only as some of us like a bath.

Room Tip: Go for a room with example 101 to 106, don't choose 111 as that's nearer to a KAREOKE BAR so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmamoo676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just arrived back from a first visit to the Son Matias Beach very impressed. The fact we had a special deal made it all the better.We had a suite 407 which was superb could not believe it had a double aspect view with double balcony. Tea making facility was definitely a bonus. I also hired a mobility scooter from Lower Hire which was delivered and collected direct to the hotel - another big bonus as the frontage around Palma Nova is very scooter friendly - some curbs could have been lower!!! The choice and quality of food was astounding, the soup could have been thicker!!This was our 4th visit to Majorca and can definitely say it was the best area and hotel of the 4. Thank you to all the staff especially the housekeeping staff who are a silent minority for all the work they do.

Room Tip: A suite on 4th floor if the price is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia28_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel. Still as good as ever. Our room this time had a newly updated bathroom with a walk in shower, the bath having been removed. New modern wash basin area but this seemed smaller with not as much room for your bits and pieces. I understand only a few bathrooms have been changed to this style at the moment. This is the first time we have had a room at the end of the building, overlooking the pool, and found the road traffic noise a little disturbing and noise from the karaoke bar across the road. Not experienced this before in rooms overlooking the promenade. Nevertheless we did not let this bother us too much. Most of the staff are the same, they are very friendly and seem to be enjoying their job, which says it all. The hotel is lovely and clean, modern and comfortable. The pool area is fairly small but more of the very comfortable day beds have appeared since our visit last year. Unfortunately though there was far too much of the towels on sunbeds routine, and no one on the sunbeds. Towels were left for hours and hours before their owners returned, very selfish. The food was very good and the majority of the evening entertainment acts were too. Highly recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we were in room 316. half board for a fortnight. excellent view of sea front only a few rather minor complaints overall - soup always watery at dinner without any real substance. at breakfast wife would have liked grapefruit segments. she also would have preferred tea bags - yellow label - rather than machine tea.

Room Tip: we had room 316 excellent viewsea front fortnight half board only minor complaints re breakfast wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glaswegiantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great spot and its cleanliness cannot be faulted. Improvements every year. We have been 7 or 8 times but 1 couple we met have been there 30 times! We stayed in 307 a nice suite with dual aspect balcony. Only 1 thing I would say is if you stay in a higher number room you may get woke by people coming in from magaluf at 4/5 in the morning. Also there is a largely older clientele who stay here who do tend to get up very early

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned after 8 days stay. We were in a junior suite (room 107) which was excellent, large balcony and was spotlessly clean. The food and dining room service were both excellent and probably the best food we have had in a spanish hotel. The evening entertainment was good but we thought it wasnt as good as our previous visit in 2009 when the then entertainment staff were excellent. We had bad weather at the start of holiday but this didnt spoil our enjoyment and we would return again. One very minor point as upon leaving early ( as many guests do for morning flights) the early breakfast offering was quite poor. In every other hotel there has been facilities to make toast and the lack of this was commented upon by several departing guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing