We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son Matias”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I will be staying at the Son Matias for the third time following our cruise this coming June. We are in our early fifties but are still up for a good night out.
I can sympathise with peoples comments regarding the attitude of some of the regular clients at the hotel they do think the own the place but having stayed at quite a few hotels in Palma Nova I must say that if you want a hotel that is clean in a good location with reasonable food and not full of drunken idiots than stay at the Son Matias.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnboyBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the best Hotel we have ever stayed in. Every one is so helpful. The entertainment every evening is like a family party every one joins in.The food is such a treat every thing you can wish for is there. Will be back there in April.

Room Tip: They all have sea view what more do you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Devonjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have recently returned from staying at the Son Matias Beach,what a fantastic hotel.The staff are all so friendly and can't do enough for you.Every room has a sea view and it is right on the beach.The food is excellent,fantastic choice,could not find fault.Entertainment in the evening was varied and also very good.There was a different act each night,something for everyone.This is adults only hotel and really enjoyed it.We will be returning again Spring 2013,can't wait.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones as all have balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank ameriphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the Son Matias after a Thomson Cruise.

I was concerned that the Hotel was up to the standard of the cruise!

My fears were unfounded!! The rooms, food,pool and the entainment was first class. The staff were a credit to the Son Matias.
In conclusion I would highly recommend this hotel. .

Room Tip: High up overlooking beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chillicchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed four nights April 2012,weather was good,hotel very nice rooms,lounge,restaurant etc,food was good and plenty of choice breakfast and dinner,had lunch outside as there are lots of good places for food and drink reasonably priced,central location on beach and nice walk to palmanova or magaluf,take a bus trip to Palma city,for marina,cathedral,shopping and good tapas bars,would return to son matias

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

'The best hotel in Palma Nova....superb food...'

We stayed at this hotel in October towards the end of its season, hoping for some late sun. Having stayed at many other 4* hotels in Europe and knowing it was an adult only on a lovely beach, we had high hopes for a lovely break.

Bu...no way is this hotel 4*. How on earth do hotels get their grades? The 4* we stayed in earlier in the year, and others of the same grade, had an indoor pool and spa, edible, hot food and decent indoor and outdoor spaces. The Son Matias has none of these. We lost count of the number of times we heard or were told that the Son Matias is 'the best hotel in Palma Nova' and that the food is 'superb/amazing/fabulous'. I can't comment on the best in Palma Nova part as we've never stayed there before but I can certainly comment on the food and other aspects of this hotel.

Positives

Beach location. Lovely views across the bay & all rooms with sea and/or pool views.
Staff, especially Keith (draws amazingly helpful little maps. Thanks, Keith) on the desk and Denny (they certainly saw poor Denny coming when they sent him there. They almost ate you up, didn't they, Denny? You were such good fun. Have a great time in Austria. We never did find out why the Entertainment Manager left before the end of the season and Denny had to get on with it. We're sure she must have had a good reason.) but all staff were lovely - friendly and helpful.

Negatives

Geared almost exclusively to its returning guests, some of whom have been coming 'for 15 years'. Good for them. They get points towards a celebratory lunch every time they come back. The hotel does this very well- namely giving these guests the holiday they want, in the order they want, in the seats they want, with the food they want... you get the picture.

Whilst staff didn't appear to discriminate (not that we saw or experienced anyway), there's absolutely no room for newbies - literally or metaphorically from these guests. Examples included 'saving' seats in the (only) inside room for non existent people, thereby denying anyone else somewhere to sit; glaring at any unfortunate that dared to speak in that room - no, not during the bingo, that was sacrosanct, but during the rest of the evening. We witnessed a horrible man literally drag his wife out of the room because he had spat the dummy at the couple, next to him, having a normal conversation. This amused us but ruined our breakfast the next morning as he was sitting opposite us and was STILL going on about it. His wife, sensibly, was ignoring him.

Another example was when several of us mentioned to Reception that the rooms had become unbearably hot towards the end of the week. We discovered that this was because 'a few', yes, 'a few' guests among the( full) hotel had complained they were cold so, the air con in the hotel was all switched off!

The food. Where do I start? Back to the nursing home/nursery. The 'superb' food consists of a roast every night, dried up fish, 'show cooking' - an example of which was sausages , frozen veg and crumbles with custard. Absolutely nothing to suggest you were abroad, leave alone a Spanish hotel. None of that 'foreign muck'. Honestly, why do certain people even go abroad?

Indoor space.

There is only the one room, with the bar. Here all evening entertainment is held, including bingo, prize awarding, line and other dancing (not for newbies). There are probably enough seats for all but you have no chance of getting one unless you're prepared to queue up at 5.45 (yes!) for your dinner then 'bags' a seat. You can't do that in the front row though because they're for the 'dancers'.

To sum up (apologies for long review), I would recommend this hotel if you recognise yourself in the above. If not, don't even think about it or waste Internet time looking. But don't worry because, apparently, it has 100% occupancy all year because it's 'the best hotel in Palma Nova'.

PS - we had a great time despite this because we met some fellow newbies and discovered that it 'wasn't us'. Thanks, N & G.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the afternnon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

my partner and myself love this hotel it is like going home, the staff are like family too us nothing is too much for them especially asking for help and assistance, we have been going for a few years now and try too go twice a year, the food is brilliant and very varied, we try too meet up with friends we have made over the years the only downfall is you have too book a holiday a very long time in advance or you can,t get in i have never experienced any problem,s in this hotel and the entertainment is brilliant even disabled people are catered for.

Room Tip: the rooms are comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank helena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fergus Style Palmanova
Fergus Style Palmanova
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $82 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing