We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed four nights April 2012,weather was good,hotel very nice rooms,lounge,restaurant etc,food was good and plenty of choice breakfast and dinner,had lunch outside as there are lots of good places for food and drink reasonably priced,central location on beach and nice walk to palmanova or magaluf,take a bus trip to Palma city,for marina,cathedral,shopping and good tapas bars,would return to son matias

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

'The best hotel in Palma Nova....superb food...'

We stayed at this hotel in October towards the end of its season, hoping for some late sun. Having stayed at many other 4* hotels in Europe and knowing it was an adult only on a lovely beach, we had high hopes for a lovely break.

Bu...no way is this hotel 4*. How on earth do hotels get their grades? The 4* we stayed in earlier in the year, and others of the same grade, had an indoor pool and spa, edible, hot food and decent indoor and outdoor spaces. The Son Matias has none of these. We lost count of the number of times we heard or were told that the Son Matias is 'the best hotel in Palma Nova' and that the food is 'superb/amazing/fabulous'. I can't comment on the best in Palma Nova part as we've never stayed there before but I can certainly comment on the food and other aspects of this hotel.

Positives

Beach location. Lovely views across the bay & all rooms with sea and/or pool views.
Staff, especially Keith (draws amazingly helpful little maps. Thanks, Keith) on the desk and Denny (they certainly saw poor Denny coming when they sent him there. They almost ate you up, didn't they, Denny? You were such good fun. Have a great time in Austria. We never did find out why the Entertainment Manager left before the end of the season and Denny had to get on with it. We're sure she must have had a good reason.) but all staff were lovely - friendly and helpful.

Negatives

Geared almost exclusively to its returning guests, some of whom have been coming 'for 15 years'. Good for them. They get points towards a celebratory lunch every time they come back. The hotel does this very well- namely giving these guests the holiday they want, in the order they want, in the seats they want, with the food they want... you get the picture.

Whilst staff didn't appear to discriminate (not that we saw or experienced anyway), there's absolutely no room for newbies - literally or metaphorically from these guests. Examples included 'saving' seats in the (only) inside room for non existent people, thereby denying anyone else somewhere to sit; glaring at any unfortunate that dared to speak in that room - no, not during the bingo, that was sacrosanct, but during the rest of the evening. We witnessed a horrible man literally drag his wife out of the room because he had spat the dummy at the couple, next to him, having a normal conversation. This amused us but ruined our breakfast the next morning as he was sitting opposite us and was STILL going on about it. His wife, sensibly, was ignoring him.

Another example was when several of us mentioned to Reception that the rooms had become unbearably hot towards the end of the week. We discovered that this was because 'a few', yes, 'a few' guests among the( full) hotel had complained they were cold so, the air con in the hotel was all switched off!

The food. Where do I start? Back to the nursing home/nursery. The 'superb' food consists of a roast every night, dried up fish, 'show cooking' - an example of which was sausages , frozen veg and crumbles with custard. Absolutely nothing to suggest you were abroad, leave alone a Spanish hotel. None of that 'foreign muck'. Honestly, why do certain people even go abroad?

Indoor space.

There is only the one room, with the bar. Here all evening entertainment is held, including bingo, prize awarding, line and other dancing (not for newbies). There are probably enough seats for all but you have no chance of getting one unless you're prepared to queue up at 5.45 (yes!) for your dinner then 'bags' a seat. You can't do that in the front row though because they're for the 'dancers'.

To sum up (apologies for long review), I would recommend this hotel if you recognise yourself in the above. If not, don't even think about it or waste Internet time looking. But don't worry because, apparently, it has 100% occupancy all year because it's 'the best hotel in Palma Nova'.

PS - we had a great time despite this because we met some fellow newbies and discovered that it 'wasn't us'. Thanks, N & G.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the afternnon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

my partner and myself love this hotel it is like going home, the staff are like family too us nothing is too much for them especially asking for help and assistance, we have been going for a few years now and try too go twice a year, the food is brilliant and very varied, we try too meet up with friends we have made over the years the only downfall is you have too book a holiday a very long time in advance or you can,t get in i have never experienced any problem,s in this hotel and the entertainment is brilliant even disabled people are catered for.

Room Tip: the rooms are comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank helena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed in many 4 star hotels over the last few years and the Son Matius is certainly not a 4 star. The rooms are small and the walls are thin - be warned take earplugs. The restaurant is like a motorway cafeteria with small tables and no side plates (they wouldn't fit on the table anyway). The food was appalling - frozen vegetables, grey undistinguishable puddings and scrambled eggs for breakfast that resembled egg custard. The 'show' cooking while we were there was sausages on one night and chicken breasts on another. I don't really think you can call it 'show' cooking when all the chef did was turn them over!! The entertainment officer told us that the show cooking was better earlier in the season so obviously it was our fault!
The entertainment was often just for the 'regulars' with bingo, line dancing and quizzes. Dancing was the same tunes night after night... and now for a rumba..arghh!
Such a shame as this was our first time in Majorca and we were so looking froward to the holiday. There are some positives the hotel is right on the beach, the pool area was very clean and most of the staff were very helpful and friendly but we will not be returning and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
This was advertised as an adults only hotel but perhaps it would be better to say that the age of most guests is well beyond retirement.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cornwall123186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been four times now to the Son Matias Beech Hotel and have never been dissapointed we also take my sister and brother in law and they have become fans of the hotel. We love the friendly family atmospher, the evening first class entertainment, the meals are excellent too and cater for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Son Matias overlook the beach, we have been on different floors and all are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great holiday fantasic all the way. Can't fault this hotel from management down to cleaners very pleasant and welcoming. We have been going to this hotel for 12 years and love it. Food great fab views. Spotless rooms. Great entertainment. Nothing too much of an effort for them to make your holiday a great one!!!!!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool that way you get both views as all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 30th October 2012 for 4 nights. The hotel reception is clean and modern and the staff are very helpful. Especially Ernest who was very helpful in giving us directions to a particular part of Palma we wanted to visit. The rooms are very well appointed and beds are comfortable. The bar area has just been refurbished and this was nice. Evening entertainment was geared towards the older guest. My partner and I were the youngest people in this hotel by some considerable margin but this didn't put us off joining in and having a good time. The food was very British and my only complaint would be that when in Spain I would like to try some local dishes. Overall a good 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossNewcastle1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
916 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $196 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing